We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be less than 5 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Ranked #112 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed June 26, 2012

In my last review half an year ago, I gave it a four-star rating, because I thought it was not welcoming enough as a five-star hotel. The hospitality I felt was not up to my expectation.
However, I have stayed several times there afterwards, and I should say the more I get to know this hotel and this brand, the more I love this amazing hotel. The tone of the hotel, based on its decoration, is indeed dark and sophisticated, not like holiday inn or something. But it is far from intimidating. The front desk staff is intelligent enough to counter the darkness of the lobby.
There is nothing more to say about the rooms, top notch! If you have the lounge access, you can enjoy this hotel to another extend. Breakfast buffet just can't be better. The parking is free for hotel guests, hooray! You have this special feeling that everything is taken care of when you are staying here.
Just make sure to obtain a Intercontinental Embassador status. You'll know how much that $200 enrollment fee can bring you in a IC like this one.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to the same (literally) suite twice. The suite is a combination of two corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zyxlsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Michael C,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments and in particular highlighting the service our staff provided, found the amenities we offer in our hotel of great value to you compare with your last stay with us. We will certainly share your comments with our team.

As you mentioned, as an honored Ambassador member of our Priority Club, there are certainly benefits while staying at any of our hotels worldwide, and by booking well in advance, certain discounts apply etc, you may find more benefits and checking your points on PCR official website.
Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us. Our team will keep working hard to continuously improve our services by offering you a truly great customer experience. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 725 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

It was a family vacation with our two kids and we really enjoyed our 6 nights stay.
The service at check-in was warm and thoughtful, and this remained throughout the rest of our stay. It maybe an unusual thing to notice but there's a particularly pleasant scent that greets guests in the hotel lobby that my daughter and I took to. Rooms were large, functional and elegant; beds and sheets were very comfortable.
In terms of amenities, the highlight for the kids was the indoor pool - it's of a good size and certainly sufficient for lap swimming. The Steak Exchange must offer one of the best steaks in town and the Chinese restaurant, Zen, served great Hong Kong cuisine.
I found the location to be convenient enough. It's right off the 2nd Ring Road and just a couple of blocks from Chang'An Ave which takes you right to the Forbidden City/Tiananmen Square, WangFuJing, etc and the heart of the city.
We took a private tour with a local guide (located through tripadvisor) on the first two days to visit the more popular attractions. The hotel Concierge was very helpful in completing our Beijing experience by offering suggestions of a more insider/local flavour which included cooking classes, cultural performances, trip to an artist village (798) and farm visit.
I'll certainly be back if in Beijing whether for business or pleasure.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Simon L,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed TripAdvisor review of your family's recent stay with us. The guest experience is something we take very seriously and we very much appreciate you being our guests. While we are delighted with your very positive comments about the design and service of our hotel, and pleased that you enjoyed your sightseeing in Beijing.

We would like to thank you once again and we can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

It is a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

There are 2 hotels in Financial Street - Westin and Intercon. Having stayed in both Westin is definitely the newer hotel but Intercon continues to provide reasonably good service and large comfortable rooms. What I enjoyed most on this trip was the indoor heated swimming pool which was about 20m and provided a decent workout.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keiragopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear keiragopi,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a great time with us and thank you as well for highlighting the service our staff provided you. As you mentioned, our indoor heated swimming pool is adjacent to the sun terrace which is a great place to practice tai-chi or yoga. The health centre is at the same floor, offers a broad range of cardio-vascular and weight machines. Why not have a try on our I·Spa which is also on the 6th floor, provide a unique, comforting urban spa in Beijing, indulge in a wide range of refreshing pampering, and healing therapies from the professional treatments next time.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed at this property for 5 nights. Nice hotel with great cleanliness. However located in the financial district. Not too convienient for tourists as major attractions were quite far away from the subway. Breakfast was okay with a reasonable variety.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear Weept,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the InterContinental Beijing Financial Street and for the positive comments about our hotel service and facilities. We were especially pleased to hear that our staff were helpful and we were able to make good recommendations during your stay.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel six times in the last five years. As noted in other reviews, the location is not great if you are a tourist but the hotel is a five minute walk from a Metro station. Cabs are also easy to secure at the hotel but, depending upon where you end up in the city, it can sometimes be difficult to get one to return you. The service is what you would expect at an InterContinental. The staff is quite good; their English excellent. The concierge team is particularly good. As for the food, the breakfast/lunch buffets are very good and recommended, but pricy. The in-house restaurants are of a high quality. One small criticism: the staff, especially the restaurant waiters and the cleaning crews, will often ask you to fill out service review cards. I understand and appreciate the reasoning behind this, but it is a bit odd to be asked six times during my last stay (three days in duration) to fill one of them out.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear PhillipA,

Thank you for using TripAdvisor and posting your experience for others to share.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good experience at the InterContinental Financial Street, and we will certainly pass on your compliments regarding your positive experience to our team.

We truly appreciate your support as our guest, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I'm sure the location is great for a business trip, right in the middle of the Financial district. It's not really bang in the tourist area, although right next to the subway station, and taxis are cheap (as long as you insist on the meter!). Our club room was large and well appointed, club privileges were okay, however not the best intercon breakfast I have experienced - room for improvement there. We had a treatment in the spa, which was great - and the complimentary late check-out was very much appreciated. All in all we were very happy with our stay.

We tried a couple of restaurants for dinner, Capital M at Tiananmen Sq - food was average, and not worth the money, views were great. However, would highly recommend Da Dong at Nan Xin Cang Plaza, a little difficult to find but worth it, Duck is the best in Beijing - but also everything else on their menu looked amazing and wish we had gone there both nights rather than Capital M!

Room Tip: As with any intercon - get a club room, there is no alternative!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_Booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear Stephen_Booth,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments and in particular highlighting the service our staff provided, found the amenities we offer in our hotel of great value to you.We will certainly share your comments with our team. Meanwhile we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Besides that the restaurants inside the hotel are also a smart choice, our signature restaurant is the Steak Exchange Restaurant & Bar, renowned as a heaven for meat lovers, while ZEN is one of Hong Kong’s most awarded culinary experience, a take on contemporary Cantonese cuisine. A view overlooking the bustling city makes Monsoon the ideal modern café for dining with friends and family over open show kitchen.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and was very well taken care of. I had the Capitol Suite which is very well appointed and it was perfect as I also had my family with me. All staff speak good English. Location wise, it is quite ideal if you work around the Financial District and there are some good restaurants just within 10 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Gunal,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments and in particular highlighting the service our staff provided, found the amenities we offer in our hotel of great value to you.We will certainly share your comments with our team. Meanwhile we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Xidan
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#115 of 6,556 in Beijing
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#18 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Beijing Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Beijing Financial Street

Address: No.11 Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100033, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#62 Business Hotel in Beijing
#97 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#157 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $136 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Beijing Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MULTI-AWARDING WINNING HOTEL, InterContinental Beijing Financial Street is situated in the center of Beijing's prestigious financial and business district. The hotel is recognized by Earth Check as Silver Company and awarded by 《Travel + Leisure》as top 100 Best Hotels in Greater China.A contemporary, 18-storey building of modern design and traditional Chinese art set it apart, as does its ideal location. Just minutes away are Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing Shopping area, the Central Government Administration, and several International shopping centers. It's also easy for leisure guests to reach famous historic heritage sites such as the Summer Palace, the Forbidden City, the White Pagoda Temple, and the Lama Temple. An ideal choice for both leisure and business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Beijing Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing