We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact business hotel in the heart of Beijing's financial district”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Ranked #114 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Traveled to Beijing for a business trip and held a function on-site at the hotel in early October 2011. For travelers that want a compact (when I mean compact, no lift rides up to a 50+ floor lobby then changing to another lift to get to your rooms), functional and conveniently located hotel room this is an ideal property.

Small in many regards, the rooms are very spacious. Located next to Winland Building (houses many international companies and surrounded by other commercial buildings in its radius) you have all you need in the room. Internet access, big rooms with the essential international cable news channels, a very well-appointed and full breakfast buffet (which is well-advised as it's a bit of a walk to somewhere else - or if you're happy with a Starbucks you don't need the breakfast) this is just right.

There's a steakhouse, a Cantonese banquet restaurant and a nice bar with a nightly live pianist.

Their ballroom is quite small (seats 250 - 270 pax depending on configuration) and so is the ballroom foyer (cocktail capacity around 100 - 120 pax max), but they have a selection of meeting rooms. Mind you, the decor overall is nice, well-kept but not what I would stay stunning or cutting-edge, but the service is efficient and you're in and out of the hotel without any hassle.

Price is reasonable and great value-for-money.

You're about a 15-minute taxi (in decent traffic) ride to the Summer Palace from here so if you've got a few hours to spare that's a good place to head to. An interesting place for dinner nearby (10 mins taxi) is in the 5 pagoda temple, a Buddhist temple that serves so-called avant-garde northern imperial cuisine in a very unique setting. Beware of the price however - but the venue is indeed exceptional.

Again, best if you try to get a non-smoking floor for better chance of cleaner air.

Room Tip: All rooms actually face the city so there's not much in terms of view but you may wish to take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardBedVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear HardBedVeteran,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a comprehensive feedback and your review is greatly appreciated. We are very happy to know that our service and facilities were to your liking. We are also glad to see that you were able to enjoy - and explore our neighborhood.We particularly value your comments on the breakfast as it is indeed an experience many of our customers share as an postive experience. Our team tries very hard to please all guests and it is great to know we have achieved this.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in Beijing very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 729 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Intercontinental in Financial Street, Beijing, is a very good business hotel. It is well-located, has very friendly and competent staff and a good spread for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johan_roets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear Johan,

Thank you for recently staying at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street. We appreciate you selecting our property and taking the time to share your recent fantastic experience with us. We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Pos:
The rooms are clean with great lightings, it was very comfortable.
Very kind rooms services, always with a smiles.
The equipments in the fitness center are clean, new, and with quality.
There are large variety of choices, it can fulfill most of the customer. Personally, I would be even happier if there are more dim sum. Not much choices during breakfast neither dinner.

Cons:
For my king size bed, it was a combine single bed, thus, I was not able to sleep at the center of the bed. Not happy... (I was sleeping alone)
I paid USD300/night to get this bed, it was not nice... (Oct21~25, 2011)

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone, make sure that you ask for a single large bed, and avoid the 2single com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear Danny,

Thank you for recently staying at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street. We are delighted to learn of your pleasure with the spacious accommodations and service received from our team.

We are sorry to hear that the bed did not live up to your expectations, usually hotels all have zip beds, some of guests especially prefer zip beds due to it’s flexibility and wider than the other beds, we’ve noted your preference of the king size bed to better serve you in the next time.

At the same time, we have taken the liberty of sharing suggestion of add more dim sum with our culinary department for advisement as an opportunity to better serve our guests.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Beijing!


Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

As we had to catch an early flight on 17Oct, we had to have breakfast in the Monsoon Restaurant instead of the Club Floor Lounge at 6am. As there weren't many people at that time, I wanted to take some pictures on the food on the buffet table and can also let my friends know the big variety of food the hotel is offering. At that time, the restaurant supervisor came to me and rudely said, "hey, you cannot take photos in the restaurant, please put your phone away". Me and my friend were shocked to hear about this rule as we have always been taking pictures with our iPhone whenever we stay in the Hyatt chain or Starwood chain hotels and no one had ever said anything about the restriction of taking photos. We then asked him why and he said, "this is the order given by the Head Chef". When we asked for the name of the Head Chef, he kept silent and walked away.

10 minutes later, the Assistant Manager - Grace Li came to our table and tried to resolve the issue in a polite manner. She confirmed that there is really this rule in their hotel. Guests may only take pictures on person in the restaurant and the even in the lobby. Guests are not allow to take pictures on just the buffet food or the surrounding environment. Can someone tell me whether you have heard of any similar rule in other hotels or not?

My stay in this hotel was originally very much impressed by the helpful staff in the Club Lounge. Mr. Eamon Liu, the Duty Manager managed to offer us a free ride to the Airport but unfortunately the last breakfast we had in the Monsoon Restaurant was unforgettable and also shows that the not every hotel staff are well trained.

Will recommend to stay in this hotel only if you are staying on the Club Floor. The Club Floor staff are more well trained.

Mr. Lee & Mr. Law

Room Tip: Stay on the Club Floor only please
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoojhooj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear Mr. Law,

Sincerely apologize for all those experience you’ve encountered.

It’s not the right experience that we would like to provide to our guests. This issue has brought to our management attention.

We certainly welcome any of our guests to take photos of our Buffet, and share their experience with others, and it’s not our policy to prohibit guests from taking photos.

Furthermore, our management will contact with you privately for further communication.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you again and serve you better in your next trip to Beijing!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed from 01 to 05 October 2011. Overall, I was very pleased with the room, amenities, and level of service provided by the hotel. Due to the National Day holiday week, the hotel was empty and rates were very reasonable. Our club room which included access to their club room and free internet was only $108/night.

The hotel is on located on the edge of Beijing’s financial district as its name implies. GPS coordinates are N39 55.112, E116 21.056. It’s a 5 minute walk due south of the Fuchenmen subway station on Line 2 (exit C). The subway ride to Tiananmen Square area (Qianmen station) was 5 stops away via Line 2 (blue) and only cost 2 RMB. Qianmen station was closed during our visit, so we had to walk from the station just before or just after Qianmen—again probably due to the holiday.

Hotel is surrounded by high rise office buildings and a couple of blocks away from a couple of small Chinese, Japanese and Western restaurants—TGI Fridays, KFC, Baskin and Robbins, Starbucks, etc. Mixed in with the Western restaurants there is a 24 hour convenience store located in a basement. That is where I bought 1.5 liters of water for 3.5 RMB. Located across the street from the restaurants is the Seasons Place mall which contains high end shops. The bottom floor of the mall has Ole market with an assortment of import food / drinks.

Room was large and well decorated. In a couple of the corners on the ceiling, there were obvious signs of cracks that had been repaired and repainted. Nice large bathtub and separate shower. Bed, pillows, and towels were all very large and what would be expected at an Intercontinental. There was a stocked mini bar and small refrigerator. Hotel provides four 500ml bottles of water per day—2 during the day and 2 at turndown service.

There were at least 8 English language TV channels to include CNN, CNBC, BBC, HBO, and Discovery. In-room internet was available via LAN cable or WiFi. Speedtest showed an average download speed of 2.5Mps, and it was reliable during our trip.

The club room on the 6th floor served a small buffet breakfast from 0630 to 1130. Happy hour was from 1700 to 2000. Breakfast included pastries, fruit juices (excluding orange juice), fresh fruits, cereals, fried rice, soups, 2 kinds of bacon, 2 kinds of sausage, 2 kinds of dim sum, assorted cooked vegetables. Happy hour included 2 kinds of dim sum, pizza, French fries, chicken fingers, etc. On the 6th floor, there is a lap pool and gym, which both appeared to be very nice.

Attempted to visit Great Wall at Badaling via North Railway station, but tickets were sold out, apparently due to the holiday. I will post more details about our attempted train ride and other taxi experiences on a forum. Luckily, we were able to visit the following morning with the aid of the concierge and bellman. They helped negotiate a round trip taxi ride for 700RMB ($100) for 2 people, but it would have been the same for 3 or 4 people. It included the tolls and waiting for us at a parking lot. The ride to and from the wall was just over 1 hour. Left at 0830, stayed at the wall for 2+ hours, and returned to the hotel by 1300. An organized bus tour was 450RMB per person and included stops at “factory shops”—pick up time was 0730 and returned at about 1700.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TokyoBob1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Dear TokyoBob1975,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great and detailed feedback. We are very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations in every way and your great wall trip was that fantastic.

We will pass on your feedback and thanks to Concierge desk and the rest of the team. We truly appreciate your kind support as our guest, and look forward to welcoming you back to the oasis in Beijing again soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stay three nights there (2 night bed only and 1 night breakfast package). From hotel to subway station is only 5 minutes walk. My wife and I are very satisfied with the sleeping quality, the cleanness of the room, and the price we paid (around $110 bed only). The only thing I wanted to complain is its breakfast. The breakfast buffet was just OK-- less variety when compared to the several 5 stars hotel in other Asia cities. The breakfast package I bough in my last night made me upgraded to club level. I can access to club longue in my last night stay and have several benefits including free pressing for 3 pieces and free shoeshinning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odd855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Dear odd855,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your great compliment. However, we are dismayed that we did not live up to your expectation of the breakfast. In our effort to continually improve the overall quality of our service we are going to share your comments with our F&B team and adopt survey first and then to improve.

As mentioned above, it is our hope you will be back with us on a future visit to Beijing. Thanks again for your comments, greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Concierge team and bell boys are very helpful for our request. But hotel has many problem. (1)Nobody knows package details: my package include "cooktail for 2". Therfore I ask club lounge "Where can I enjoy it?". But she did not know. She asked front desk, but they did not know too. She said "Please go to bar.". I went bar. But they did not know too. Why hotel staff do not know package details? (2)Dust & Hair: did not wipe the dust off door of closet(up to 170cm). Door edge was coverd with dust. Hair on the bathroom floor.(I found it just after check-in.) (3)Broken Shower head (4)A chip on the edge of a coffee cup at restaurant (5)Sleeping staff at lobby chair in the eary morning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOTORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennyisterrific, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Dear KOTORI,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your current stay at InterContinental Beijing Financial Street. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We understand your disappointment and appreciate the inconvenience this must have caused you.

There is no question that the service we provided did not meet the very high standards our customers have come to expect and should continue to demand. In our effort to continually improve the overall quality of our service and facilities we are going to share your comments with our team to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. All staff is to treat our guests with extreme courtesy and professionalism to make certain that the guests experience is exceptional.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back in an effort to provide you with the level of service you expect from us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Olympic Village
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#36 of 6,568 in Beijing
884 reviews
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#115 of 6,568 in Beijing
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Beijing Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Beijing Financial Street

Address: No.11 Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100033, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#61 Business Hotel in Beijing
#100 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#157 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $131 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Beijing Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MULTI-AWARDING WINNING HOTEL, InterContinental Beijing Financial Street is situated in the center of Beijing's prestigious financial and business district. The hotel is recognized by Earth Check as Silver Company and awarded by 《Travel + Leisure》as top 100 Best Hotels in Greater China.A contemporary, 18-storey building of modern design and traditional Chinese art set it apart, as does its ideal location. Just minutes away are Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing Shopping area, the Central Government Administration, and several International shopping centers. It's also easy for leisure guests to reach famous historic heritage sites such as the Summer Palace, the Forbidden City, the White Pagoda Temple, and the Lama Temple. An ideal choice for both leisure and business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Beijing Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing