We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, good location, excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lantern House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lantern House
Ranked #5 of 1,287 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great stay, good location, excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hostel is located in a traditional Chinese hutong and is easily accessible from 3 different metro stations which gives great access to Beijing where ever you're planning to go.

We arrived on the overnight train from Shanghai and found the hostel easily using the metro and the directions on the website.

We stayed here for 5 nights in a twin room with shared bathroom facilities.

The room was a little cramped with the 2 of us, 2 backpacks and 2 day packs but we managed. The room was clean, beds ok, fairly hard but that's common in China, they were by no means uncomfortable. The room was air conditioned but water from the unit dripped into a bucket by my bed constantly which was not emptied, I did it myself as I was worried it may overflow. The shared bathroom facilities were very good, clean and I never had to wait. Showers were hot and powerful.

Food was very good and as we stayed 5 nights we qualified for free breakfast which was different every day, French toast, fruit, sandwiches etc.

We went on an organised trip to the great wall with the hostel. We went to Mutianyu which they recommended as it was quieter. I really enjoyed the trip although I felt a little rushed, we only managed to hike about 14 towers then had to rush back as we were late for the lunch which was provided.

Staff were excellent here, always willing to give advice and help.

Wi-Fi signal was strong.

The only down side to this hostel was that our room was located off the communal area which could be noisy at times considering the paper thin walls. We were woken up most mornings by people having breakfast at 7am so no lie ins for us!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    139
    34
    15
    2
See reviews for
42
127
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Good food, nice an peaceful, very clean and above all great travel desk! The staff speaks great English and is very helpful. Situated in a nice little hutong to boot, so you can explore in your slack time - just walk out and get lost. Close to public transport too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bspremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My cousins stayed here on a trip to Beijing before and recommended for us to stay here. The Red Lantern is a lovely, quiet authentic B&B. what I was most impressed by we're the friendly staff. In China, the locals don't have very good English, but the staff at Red Lantern spoke English very well. They organised our trip to The Great Wall and our train journey down to Xi'an. They were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. The Red Lantern is located right beside the metro so it was very easy for us to get around Beijing. We stayed here in November so it was quite cold, and it being a relatively old establishment, the stone floors were freezing and the rooms a bit nippy at night. The showers were really hot and powerful though, so it made up for it! The rooms were very clean and had a real chinese feel to them. The only other negative thing, is that the beds weren't that comfortable. Aside from that we really enjoyed our stay here and if I was to come back I'd feel obliged to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garda_shayhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My son and I just returned from a wonderful trip to China. Stayed 4 nights at the Red Lantern House backpacker hostel at 5 zhengjue. We had a twin Room with shared bathroom. Price was awesome as was the welcoming staff, the ambience of the lobby, the other guest, the location and the tour to Great Wall they offer. We were able to get around by walking, subway and renting bikes from Red Lantern. Our last day we took there tour to the mountain you Great Wall. Amazing place and still had time for last sight seeing back in Beijing. The location feels like China, with the Hutong so quaint. For 4 nights total under $150 we had plenty of money eating out and sight seeing. Our room was small but great air conditioning and perfect get away from the heat, as it was pretty hot and humid in Beijing. Would stay again if I ever go back to Beijing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great stay at this hostel in August 2012. We had a private double room with shared bathroom. The only negative thing I can say is that we had to go downstairs and through the central courtyard area to access the bathroom, but they were clean and we never had to wait. The room opened straight out onto the shared courtyard, but we never had any problems with noise. Overall nice clean and basic place to stay but the number one thing for us was the staff - this was our first stop in China and we had a bag go missing from our flight. The reception staff were so helpful in making sure this got back to us as well as sorting out train tickets at short notice for us, etc. Location is good - Beijing is so big you need the subway to get around and there is a convenient stop 10 minutes walk. Always felt totally safe in the area. Recommended for a basic place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed in the dorm with 3 friends, so we had a room for ourself. Very clean and nice place with a good athmosphere. The court inside the hostel is inviting to have nice talk with other travelers. Perfect area around the hostel! Deffinitly a spot to recomend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enrico p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our family (including two teens) stayed here in April. Took the biggest room, the family suite, which had plenty of space. This hotel is at the higher end of the budget price range, and is spread over three locations. Our 'wing' the East Yard, was a 2 minute walk down the hutong (Chinese street) to the main part of the hotel for breakfast. (I believe the West Yard is much further away.) The room was good, the bed quite hard and not the most comfortable (but the kids' ones were fine) the bathroom adequate, the reception area at our wing had excellent customer service - very friendly and helpful. Location is about 7 minutes from 2 subway lines, and about 10 from a third, so ideal. The Number 1 reason to stay here though is the location - in a Chinese street, full of locals going about their everyday business, markets, street foods, small local shops - just fascinating. You've presumably come to China to be immersed in the culture and food, rather than sit in a sterile western hotel, so you won't regret this place. For the few faults it has, there are so many positives - we'd enthusiastically stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spidernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,287 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Courtyard 7
Courtyard 7
#19 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lantern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lantern House

Property: Red Lantern House
Address: No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing 100035, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,287 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The information service available in Red Lantern House is based on "Simon's Tourist Information Office" which is the first generation of information and tour services provider for low budget international travelers in Beijing from the beginning of 1990's . Information and tour services are available at the reception. Staying with us will reminds you of staying as a member in our family as there is no counter or glass between us. Meet the Simon's Office Team that helps make your travel and travel planning much easier, better and possible! Your questions of where to go and how much it costs will be responded as precisely as possible. Tours and Information services including: Beijing City Tour ( Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven) Tours to the wall Night Show in Beijing Ticketing Service Bicycle Rental Car Service( airport pick-up and drop offer) Laundry, Sewing & Mending Service Barbecue in the Courtyard Dumpling Making Practice Tour to the Great wall departure from Red Lantern Guest house: Great wall at : 1 Mutianyu ( recommended) We run the trip to Mutianyu section of the wall with minimum two people by our own car or van. 2.Jinshanling 3.Simatai 4.Badaling and Ming Tombs, To avoid the crowds and sometimes terrifying shopping intervals of the Great Wall at Badaling, our hostel has specially designed and organized a daily tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. It takes 1.5 hours one way to arrive to the wall with no stop over for shopping, and begins around 7:30am to get away from heavy traffic jams so that you will be the first one standing on the wall there and nobody bothers you. We guarantee you have at least 3 hours on the wall and no push throughout the whole trip. When you are back from your trip, you still have a whole evening for other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Red Lantern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lantern House Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing