We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to good, depending which room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beijing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dong Si Fu Yuan Hotel
Ranked #2,728 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average to good, depending which room”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I made a reservation for one of the family rooms (2 bedrooms with a living room) for a family of four. The room is nice and clean. They must have overbooked this type of rooms, because twice during my stay, they want to switch me to two standard bedrooms, saying that way we would have two bathrooms. Each time I turned them down, because it was slightly cheaper to have two double rooms compared to the family room, so I would be at the short end of the exchange they proposed. I did stay an extra night which they only have a 3 person room without bathroom available (similar to a dorm room with 3 beds). There is a communal restroom (one toilet for each sex and a couple wash sinks) on each floor. One communal bathroom on the 1st floor only. I would not recommend this type of living arrangement for any westeners, as the arrangement is comparable to that of a night train in China (passable but substandard). Also the wait to take a shower in the communal bathroom maybe quite long. So I would give a good rating for their family room, but an average rating for their dorm room. The hotel has 5 stories and no elevator, so beware of the stairs! Also, wireless internet is limited to the lobby area or lower floors. We stayed on the 4th and 5th, neither had any signal. There were plenty of food for breakfast (chinese breakfast only). Breakfast was included in our family room, but not the dorm room. Hotel is quite centrally located in Beijing, with a 5-10 min walk to the nearest metro stop or the Art Museum (Meia Shu Guan).

Room Tip: reserve early, and preferrably with elong or ctrip. Go with the more expensive family room if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_and_Learn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    39
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
7
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denmark, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had read so many negative things about this hotel, so we were a bit nervous, but it was a very good hotel, and we also know that most negative people write to give comments, therefore we have decided to tell about all the good things we experienced. The room and bathroom were nice and clean, there was hot water on the thermo all day, and we could just go to the reception for more. There were always 2-3 pots of tea and hot water at the reception area, it was nice for my husband to sit outside the reception area in the chairs to smoke his pipe, you could use the computer at the reception area whenever you wanted. The breakfat was very nice and there was plenty of food also ten minutes before breakfast was over. We got soap, shampoo, foam bath and toilet paper every day. And teabags we also got every day. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed it all. We took some photoes that we'll send along this text as well. We enjoyed the evenings finding nice local restaurants near the hotel where we could eat, looking at all the small shops that were open till late at night.The have a small shop at the reception where you can buy things you might need. The hotel is very close to the metro, it takes about 10 min. to walk there if you take the shortest way. If you like MC Donalds you can find one 10. min. walk from the hotel. It is true that the streets just around the hotel are narrow, but they really have got a life of their own and are very cosy with street kitchens and market stalls. Our taxidriver from the airport had no problems with finding the street, but he could not drive in there, so we just walked with our suitcase. A good place for taxis to stop is at Wahaha Hotel close to the big beautiful Chinese Arch at the beginning of Longfusi Street .
Kirsten Mouritsen

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is an older hotel in an older area. The taxi driver almost didn't find the hotel, and we had to walk down an little street to get to the front door. The staff is friendly and professional, but does not speak English (we were traveling with a Chinese friend who helped us). The hotel has 5 floors, but no elevator. They have a free traditional Chinese breakfast every morning.
Originally the bathrooms were down the hall, but the hotel has added bathrooms in the rooms. They are small with a toilet, sink, and just a drain and a shower head in the bathroom, but they were clean. There was a sewer smell that sometimes came up through the drains when we ran water, but it did not linger after we stopped running the water.
The sheets and towels looked a little grey, but they smelled clean. The room was serviced everyday and fresh soap and other supplies were left each time.
We had trouble with our air conditioner, but someone from the staff came immediately and helped us get it running. It actually ran better than the air conditioners we experienced in much nicer hotels in China. Our friend also had trouble with his air conditioner, but they moved him to a different (larger) room where the air conditioner worked.
The hotel is located next to a hutong that we walked through everyday to get to the metro, restaurants, and a grocery store. The streets in the hutong are narrow and it is easy to feel lost, but we did not feel unsafe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarkvilleRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

The location is the best part of this hostel, because its within walking distance of Tiannamen Square and still quite cheap. Taxi drivers will have no idea of how to get there from the airport, so print out some maps IN CHINESE before you go there. Alternatively, you can buy a Chinese SIM card for your cell phone at the airport, and then call the hotel when you step into your taxi; the hotel can tell the driver where to go. The neighborhood is residential. I wouldn't walk around drunk at 3am with a bunch of valuables or money, but otherwise it seems pretty safe. This is like a hostel with private rooms, so plan to bring the things you'd bring to a hostel, like soap and toilet paper. They do have free flip-flops so you can walk to the shower, and they give you a big jug of boiled water with two coffee mugs, that you can use for brushing your teeth or drinking. You can choose private or shared shower/toilets. They do arrange tours to the Great Wall for you, that cost about $25 U.S. (subject to change due to the season.) Only one employee speaks good English (a young guy), and another employee speaks so-so English. So, you will be using your Chinese dictionary a lot (then again, you will need one just to get around China.) There is a reliable lock-up room for your baggage. There is also a restaurant, but judging from the lack of soap, I don't recommend eating there!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We checked in the hotel and were a little disappointed with the room as it look a little old and wear out. The hotel even look from it's from prewar and is very old. The road/alley towards the hotel is dark. The price per night is CNY180. It seems to get good feedback from the trip advisor but not very good for us.

First the breakfast seems always seems finishing anytime from 7.30-9.00am. Lack of food to eat. Mostly only vegetable and hard bun etc. When ask them to add some fried rice, they told no more left over. I asked them what can i eat as there is nothing anymore except porridge but there is no rice in the porridge. Only water! Even somtime there is no more boiled egg. Very very bad breakfast. Seriously a room without breakfast is CNY10 cheaper but they didnt let us to excluded it. I can eat a lot of thing with CNY10 per person just outside the wet market in the morning or shops near there.

Then, they never clean the cup in our room, never sweep floor etc. They only change the towel, tea etc.

The last day we stayed the water heater spoiled and could not manage to repair it. Offered us to change to another room but we have no more mood and quickly check out the hotel.

They even nearly walk into our room at 6.30am in one of a morning and luckily we put the door chain lock. Then they apologize as they thought nobody is in the room. Then while we thought to forget about it, they rang us up after the incident and again apologise. It seems to be a kind gesture but it's a turn off as we need to sleep! Hey it's only 6 am sumthing in the morning.

There is no kettle but they only thermo. They fill the thermo everyday in the morning and expect the water to be hot until night. What’s more, you pour the water out and there is water dripping on the other end of the thermo!

I think I can go on many things but I will put a full stop here. We stayed here 5 days as we have not much time to look for other hotel. The only thing I like is the location of this hotel. There seems to be a good hotel a few steps from Dong Si Fu Yuan but it was fully book until next month according to the hotel receptionist.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Urbana, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I really liked this hotel and I highly recommend the food. The staff was always helpful even if few of them knew any English. We spent two full weeks in the hotel during a difficult time as health officials were watching for symptoms of AH1N1. The staff was accomodating even if the had to take our temperatures every morning for a week. The hotel is quiet and if you are into vegetables the market is active nearby from 6am to 9am every morning. Situated in the Hutong this hotel is great for the adventure seeker trying to see the real Beijing. If you want to know China, stay here. Our teenagers loved the food here and the helpful staff. Cold beverages were always available.
On my next trip to Beijing I will be staying here. Initially finding the hotel can be difficult so get the name and address in Chinese for the taxi. I also liked the proximity to the Metro (DongSi) and the local grocery (WuMart).

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zaruka53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

We stayed at Dong Si Fu Yuan Hotel for over a week and we were extremely satisfied with the experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful with any problem or question one might have. They sell a tourist map of Beijing which has names of popular destinations and sights written in both English letters and mandarin. But the staff would write it in Mandarin other things for us, like addresses or names of dishes which is a useful thing to have if you do not know any Chinese. The rooms were nice and clean, though just a bit smaller than we expected. There was always hot water in the room to make tea. The restaurant is small but is very convinient and cheap for breakfast. Their English menu is not extensive but the food is simple and decent. It is worth considering the tours that this hotel offers. The tours are relatively cheap and can be ordered at the last minute. But one of the less pleasant experiences was the information about the walking distance to the subway station. It is a good 30 minute walk from the hotel. The Wangfujing shopping mall and the center of the city is about 20 minutes of walking so sometimes it is easier just to take a 5min taxi ride. Overall, it was a great and very satisfying experience.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KryskaTNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,522 in Beijing
1,433 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#70 of 6,522 in Beijing
2,609 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,522 in Beijing
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,522 in Beijing
2,441 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,522 in Beijing
2,853 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Si Fu Yuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Si Fu Yuan Hotel

Property: Dong Si Fu Yuan Hotel
Address: No.95 Long Fu Si Street, Dong Cheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,728 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Dong Si Fu Yuan Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing