We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Chinese Restaurant in Beijing”

Hani Gejiu Restaurant
Ranked #525 of 12,715 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Yunnan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“My Favorite Chinese Restaurant in Beijing”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The best way to describe the fare at Hani Gejiu is ethnic Yunnan minority. Run by culinary expert, Sue Zhou, who also caters and teaches at The Hutong, Hani Gejiu is not your typical Chinese restaurant. Expect fresh, high-quality ingredients and dishes that are light and refreshing (without the usual heaviness and over-seasoning found in many Chinese-run restaurants).

We've taken different groups of friends to Hani Gejiu, all of whom rave over the food and vow to come back. Star highlights include the beancurd skin with mint, fried Yunnan cheese, spicy chicken wings, chickpea jelly and the zhajiangmian (Yunnan, not Beijing style). But honestly, we haven't had a bad dish at Hani Gejiu. The staff here will also tailor the dishes to suit any dietary restrictions you have.

Service is great here, a far cry from what you normally find in Beijing. If this is your first time heading to Hani Gejiu, call for directions. The staff will stand outside the hutong street to wait for you.

Tip: Call ahead and reserve the hotpot (serves 4-6), a steaming pot of delicious broth with a heap of ingredients.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Yunnan food”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Beijing has quite a few Yunnan restaurants but Hani Gejiu is my new favourite. The food and service feels of a higher quality than other restaurants. I'm a big fan of the mint salad and their homemade rice wine. A great place to come with friends to relax, especially upstairs, which is a little bit more private. Highly highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandviken, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly delicious Yunnan food!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant got me a new favourite among chinese food: Yunnan style! Very fresh, spicy but not numbingly spicy, but with lots of fresh herbs, garlic, and chili. The "chef's choice" menu (130 yuan) was great value. We were served many types of dishes, many vegetarian, also noodles, chicken wings, pancake, tofu salad, deep fried mushrooms. All tasted great. The place itself is quite small and cosily decorated. I will absolutely, definitely come here again when (if) i return to Beijing and would recommend anyone else to do the same!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morrcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, value for money guaranteed”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have been in the restaurant couple of times. The owner is a cooking teacher, no wonder the food is good. We always enjoyed our dinners there the only downside, the choice of food is limited. This is not an problem if you come once better would be if the menu would change e.g. every month.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away down a small alley off the bell tower is this gem - don't be put off by the outside because inside its a charming place vino lets with a real fire in the entrance
Travelling alone it's always difficult in china because you have to limit to a couple of dishes rather than being able to share lots - I opted for the noodles with pork and deep fries crispy mushrooms - the noodles were quite spicy but not overpowering and the mushrooms an absolute revalation - oh yes and the Dali beer is well worth a try
Take the time to hunt this place out - you won't be disappointed
F

Helpful?
1 Thank gpd34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hani Gejiu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hani Gejiu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing