We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for light hiking, and a relaxed day away from the city”
Review of Cuandixia Village

Cuandixia Village
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Cuandixia Village from Beijing
Ranked #111 of 1,608 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Originally known as Cuan Di Xia, this is a hillside village of well-preserved Ming dynasty houses.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place for light hiking, and a relaxed day away from the city”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you want to go beyond the 'must-go' Beijing attractions and have a relaxed day away from the city, Chuandixia is the perfect place. We went in the beginning of December while it was relatively colder (sub zero temperature).

The place looked pretty deserted and eerie, but charming. You can see quite a few houses that sell food. Just walk into one of those. We had a very sumptuous meal at a very god price, and some local liquor.

You could hike around the village and click a few pictures. It would take close to two hours for you to reach the place. It is easy to spend around three or four hours around the village. En route to the village, we saw a frozen waterfall (small one), frozen lakes, beautiful mountain and other landscape.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    24
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“just went there. some tips!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Various websites said to take the bus "929 zhi" there, but we couldn't find that one-I asked over 20 people (including people working at the subway station and the bus station nearby) but nobody could tell me where "929 zhi" was. We only found the "929" bus stop a few minutes down the road from line 1's last stop (PingGuoYuan station). 929 goes the same direction for a while, but on the bus stop sign, it doesn't seem to actually go to Cuandixia. From the same bus stop, the bus 892 seems go to CuanDiXia CunKou (village entrance).

There are private taxis (well, they are people with their own car harassing you and shouting at you to get in) that can take you there. They will try to get 300 RMB from you, but will take you for 100 RMB (but they might continue to get money from you or try to pick up more people along the way, charging them 10 RMB each). The private minivan taxi we got was not in the best condition to be going up the mountain road (no seat belt, air conditioning, suspension...). It was only around an hour an a half drive from PingGuoYuan station.

The driver will try to get extra money from you to "get you tickets" for the village instead of buying it at the official entrance (35 RMB per person for entering the area of scenic historic villages). Basically it seemed like local people can just enter without paying so if you give the driver money to "get you tickets", it's just extra money for him so it depends on what you want to do. We bought official tickets but nobody checked them.

It's a beautiful old village. There were almost no tourists on a weekday in early November-a lot of the guesthouses/restaurants weren't even open. I asked around many places and it was about 60-100 RMB for a room (ones with those heatable brick beds [kang4] can sleep up to 5 people). Some have an ensuite bathroom/shower, but most have bathrooms outside (some are public ones with no individual stall doors). Most places will ask for 100 RMB for the room (either normal beds or kang4) and they all seemed to have some sort of heating anyway-our guesthouse guy said actually burning fire for kang4 will make the room smoky and uncomfortable. One place that looked very nice was asking for 780 RMB for a room. The rooms are very basic (it's essentially a room in someone's home) and keep in mind this is a farm village so don't expect too much. I thought it was nice to stay there for the night. Bring snacks and something to do.

We had 4 meals there. Food there was nice home cooking. Most menus have similar dishes from 15-128 RMB. To give an idea of prices, most places were charging 55 RMB for the mountain mushrooms and chicken dish (soup). Cold vegetable dishes are around 20 RMB and are pretty good. Breakfast with cabbage, porridge, and man2tou2 (steamed Chinese bun) was 10 RMB.

You can walk another 20 minutes down the road to see the YiXianTian gorge where they filmed some movies or another 40 minutes more to the next village BaiYu (about 4 km up the mountain from CuanDiXia). It was very scenic and not a difficult walk along the road. BaiYu village was very quiet. At first it didn't seem as nice, but if you walk up the steps and around, there are many cool unrestored old courtyards, some just in rubbles.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Cuandixia is a day trip out from Beijing. It is up in the mountains and a pleasant place to wander round and see how a traditional Ming village was built etc. We did not sample the 'home' cooking in the village but did find some excellent reasonable crafts. Caucasian tourists are notable for their rarity however there are significant numbers of Chinese tourists and lots of people painting and drawing the sights. The clear mountain air is notably different from the dusty and polluted air in Beijing and plenty of local paths to enjoy the views. Others have been critical of the food quality but I am sure it would be unreasonable to expect Michelin starred cooking particularly at the prices charged. Do go.

Helpful?
6 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
541 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“Perfect for Hiking”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visiting Chuandixia is like taking a step back in time. We spent an entire day hiking and exploring the picturesque village and its well-preserved courtyard houses. And if you do make it up the hills around the village, you'll be rewarded with postcard-perfect views of Chuandixia. There are several hiking routes available around the village, including loop tours of an abandoned village and a small Chinese temple. Most offer great views and a good workout. Many of the residents here offer home-cooked lunch for a small fee. Some offer accommodation if you choose to stay the night.

Public transport to the village is almost non-existent. A number of tour operators will make day trips out to the village. Beijing Hikers (www.beijinghikers.com) occasionally organizes day or overnight hikes to Chuandixia. Transport and a hiking guide are included, so this makes it the most convenient option to visit the village.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This little village was undergoing a major upgrade when we visited in May 2012. A pleasant 30 minute walk gets you to the shrine on the hill, where you can enjoy a panoramic view of Chuandixia. We bought some delicious honey and watched the locals paint. We combined our trip with a visit to the Tanzhe Temple.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevenjenkins7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuandixia Village also viewed

 

Been to Cuandixia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing