We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redwall Hotel Beijing
Ranked #1,823 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

3 times at this Hotel for it's excellent location, close to bus stops and easily accessible from almost anywhere. The staff were mostly new and not as nice as they use to be. A couple of the bell boys were extremely helpful and nice. Forget about changing money at the hotel, it was always unavailable.
Although we had the higher range room(business) there was flooding in the bathroom when I attempted a bath. The fridge was not working properly, they change it but it was no better. The overall quality of this hotel is going down. The biggest advantage is it's location and still reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joco1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 418 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

this was not too bad but the beds were rock hard and the rooms are small and dark. Hotel staff do not speak much english which made it very hard to ask for things or to get information. Its good point was that it is extremely close to the forbidden city. On the whole I would not stay here again Im sure there are better hotels around for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19leelee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First, this is 'redwall', not 'red wall', sounds the same, but the written separatedly are the fancy ones near the Fujiwang street. We stayed mid July 2013 in this hotel redwall. The location is acceptable, near the northeast corner of the forbidden city, but a taxi in Beijing costs for a standard tour always 13 yuan always (if they don't want to cheat you), so you can search for a better location. If you should be anyway in this hotel, you can try the little Oasis Cafe at the corner to the forbidden city at about 100m. The owner is very friendly and you can have there a coffee, toast and marmelade. And the restaurant at the opposite road is also a good choice around.
Regarding the hotel, the room in which we had been, a deluxe room, was acceptable, but for the same price could be better things around. But the restaurants in the hotel had not been the cleanest ones. As wellthe service was not especially customer orientated. Even if you just arrive for breakfast, which lasts until 9:30h, at 9h the start to take things away, does not matter.

At the front desk they had very little knowledge of anything, or almost no standard tourist question they could answer (how to go, how much a taxi, etc.), maybe not even talking in Chinese was our impression.

The type 'Chinese room' is even of lower level than the others. We had tried also that and is smelled like humid.

If you are not very picky or for any other reason, you can try this hotel. Don't expect too much from the stuff. The rooms could be cleaner, but at least the beds were clean. The restaurants inside at at your own risk. Around is also nothing special, except the north wall of the forbidden city. You can take a taxi to Fujiwang street, where there are fancy shops, restaurants and hotels. Also a subway station, which is the best to move in Beijing.

All in all,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We thought it couldn't be that bad with an average mark of a 7.0 on websites like Booking.com, Zoover and TripAdvisor. But unfortunately I was wrong.

We made a reservation for a 'Chinese Traditional Style Room'. Looked well on the photo's. When we had checked in, they gave us a 'Standard Room' instead of the Chinese thing. It smelled very bad and the bathroom was dirty. After some complaining at the hoteldesk they gave us the right Chinese room what they should have done in the first place.

The Chinese room was much better than a standard room with a updated interior and bathroom. Altough, we've found some pubic hair of the hotelguest in front of us. Like, what the... Do they actually clean the rooms?

The location wasn't that bad. Forbidden city and many other places of interest are very close to the hotel, so you could walk. On the other side, almost none of the taxi drivers didn't know the hotels adress.

WiFi is only available in the hotel lobby and didn't connected well all the time.

Only thing I could do is recommend you guys to book an other hotel when travelling to Beijing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BolT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our group of 4 kids in our mid 20s booked this hotel due to its central location and cost effectiveness. If you are self-sufficient and have everything planned already, you can stay here and the rooms are fine. Tacky decor, small, average beds, but I think we would have been better off staying in a hostel, which would almost certainly have been more helpful and friendly. Staff could care less about you. When we asked to get from the hotel to the Forbidden City, they kept telling us to take a bus there, when we were no less than 6 minutes away from it. The concierge gets some sort of commission for getting you to go to a tacky Kung-Fu show, which is annoying because they ask you about it every time you come into the hotel or ask them to do something for you. Most frustrating of all, was when I was trying to coordinate getting to the Great Wall at Mutianyu, they wouldnt help me figure out the buses, tell me how to get there or anything helpful for that matter, and instead just kept telling my to go to Badaling instead. It was even a struggle to get them to explain the WIFI connection to us, so I just tapped into something illegal and researched everything on Trip Advisor instead. I'm not a high maintenance person, and consider myself polite and courteous, and this was the worst I have ever been treated in all my years of traveling .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed already twice at the Red Wall. The staff are all delightful and very helpful. They truly go out of their way to help. The location is great very close to the bus stop with many buses to many destinations. Taxi are plentiful, however beware! If raining you will not get a taxi, we had to give up once, after over one hour wait. And it is difficult to get a taxi after 6pm, rush hour.
The hotel itself has great variety of rooms. Obviously the better rooms are more expensive but spacious and comfortable. All rooms (except in the Chinese section, cheapest) are of good size, but some look a bit old fashion and drab. Beware, some rooms have no windows.
But generally it's a good hotel to stay at as long as you put the price for a business room.
You can change your money in the hotel, the same rate as the bank, excellent service.

Room Tip: Business rooms are the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joco1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I found staying at the Red Wall hotel to be a bad idea. doors to the bathroom did not close without some force.
The wash hand basin was cracked.
The Shower curtain was way too short therefore the bathroom would be flooded after a shower.
The bathroom itself was far too small for comfort.
The double bed took up two thirds of the room so no space for sitting or relaxing for a friend.
The young staff were treated like slaves.
It was a great area, near transport and shopping.
It was a wonderful price, which may be the reason fore the poor quality.
If you like a busy crowded area, you would love this situation.
I would not go back there again, but it may be OK for a very short stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little more but don't expect too much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinakid41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#68 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,046 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,556 in Beijing
511 reviews
Houhai
King Parkview Hotel
King Parkview Hotel
#977 of 6,556 in Beijing
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,335 reviews
Houhai
Jingshan Garden Hotel
Jingshan Garden Hotel
#129 of 6,556 in Beijing
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwall Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwall Hotel Beijing

Address: No.31 Shatan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,823 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $65 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwall Hotel Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The buildings of the hotel are arranged like a court which is similar to European hotel and is different from the normal hotel of high buildings. The construction area of the hotel is 14000 square meters. The hotel has about 200 rooms of modern decoration or Chinese court style. The soft tone of the hotel, the elegant and bright lobby, the classic and exquisite decoration and natural & romantic de ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redwall Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wall Beijing
Hotel Red Wall
Red Wall Hotel Beijing
Beijing Red Wall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing