We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redwall Hotel Beijing
Ranked #1,882 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had to go on a pop-up business trip to Beijing and did not have a lot of time to research my hotel options. I stumbled upon the Red Wall online and decided to give it a shot. While it is certainly not comparable to a Western-style high-end boutique hotel, the fantastic location and friendly staff made up for teh lack of some of the amenities in the rooms.
Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for Linda at the reception - speaks perfect English :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 418 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one week. The rooms are average. They are very small, have hard beds, and the water temperature constantly changes while showering. I recommend that you do not eat or buy drinks in either of the restaurants on site as it is extremely expensive and low quality. The bellhops are very friendly, but constantly ask you to take tours. My boyfriend and I went to see the Acrobatics Show that we booked through a bellhop and it was fantastic! The staff at the front desk are not very friendly and tried to charge us extra money for a towel that "went missing." The location is convenient and it is about a 10-minute walk to the nearest metro. I would not stay here in the winter, though, as the heater did not work. Also the spa is very overpriced and also not great quality.

Room Tip: The Chinese-style rooms have a bit more decoration and I think they're more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have spended at this hotel 4 nights and I can say it is placed in a good location very near of the forbidden city. Rooms are ok and bed is confortable. I have found the staff friendly .Taxi from airport is arround 100RMB that meens 17USD. The bad point of the hotel is the breakfast wich is oufull in my opinion. Never had such a bad breakfast in my life. Anyway You can eat in another place not such a big problem. 50m away is the street food and some shops.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for four night visit to Beijing in Feb 2013. This is a clean and cheap base for staying centrally at a reasonable price. The room that we had was tidy, warm ( in winter this is really important in Beijing!!) and cleaned every day, The main thing that this place has going for it is its location, close to the forbidden city and within walking distance of much of central Beijing. Breakfast here was cheap and basic, but filling. The staff at the hotel were friendly and most of them spoke a reasonable level of English. Free Wi Fi in Lobby worked well. Dont pay anything like the advertised rack rate though!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my 1st trip to China & I noticed that almost everyone doesn't speak a word of English. You would think if you're a vendor selling in a "Tourist Area" you would know at least a little bit, but that's not the case in Beijing. But this hotel has such friendly & helpfull staff that it just makes your day. There English is the best but they know enough to get by & help you. (Especially the manager) As far as the hotel goes... It's good, clean, great location & clean neighbourhood. The location is what makes this hoter great, walking distance from Forbidden City & Tianamen Square (20 mins), Wangfuging Street (25 mins), Jingshan Park(5 mins), Behai Park (10 Mins), about 10 mins bus ride to the Bell & Drum tower (Take the 124, cost 1 Yuen) also you can take a direct bus to the zoo (Take the 103) The key thing is they keep my room clean everyday & they are available everytime I need help on anything. If I had to nit pick to say anything negative about this place, the only thing I would say is the rooms are small, but who cares if your here in Beijing you spend very little time in your room anyways...

Also... This hotel has a GREAT PRICE

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeBISL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice enough hotel with all the facilities you’ll need, Very large hotel that would have been great when it was first built but the rooms today are a little run down, pleasant English speaking staff, not sure why be it took an age to check in when we first got there. Bar service was pretty bad staff had a cocktail list on display but had no idea how to make them mixed drinks and cocktails took about 15min to make?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad_Axela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

So I used a tour group called Contiki for my time in China. This is the start of the tour, we stayed 2 nights here and I wasn't sure what to expect. The good news is that there was a transfer fro the airport and I didn't have to explain to a cab where to go.

If you never been ti China and is from the US, Canada or any Western country be ready for a culture shock. Since all the writing is in characters and the language is Tone based - meaning that a word can have up to 4 meanings depending on how you say the word - it will be very tough for you to get around China without a tour guide or translator.

The lobby of this hotel is nice and spacious, the front desk is helpful and speaks a small bit of English... with enough effort you will be able to communicate. There is a restaurant as well as lobby bar available for your convenience. There is a small gift shop as well. Immediately outside is a convenience store for water, drinks, beer, etc...

This hotel is within walking distance to Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City, expect a 15 - 20 minute walk. You can also to go the Temple of Heaven within 10 - 15 minutes.

The rooms are pretty average, nothing very fancy but it is clean. The bathrooms are pretty decent as well. You probably won't be spending much time in your room, but at least it is clean and safe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hue95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,371 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,694 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwall Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwall Hotel Beijing

Address: No.31 Shatan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,882 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $67 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwall Hotel Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The buildings of the hotel are arranged like a court which is similar to European hotel and is different from the normal hotel of high buildings. The construction area of the hotel is 14000 square meters. The hotel has about 200 rooms of modern decoration or Chinese court style. The soft tone of the hotel, the elegant and bright lobby, the classic and exquisite decoration and natural & romantic de ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redwall Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wall Beijing
Hotel Red Wall
Red Wall Hotel Beijing
Beijing Red Wall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing