We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redwall Hotel Beijing
Ranked #2,117 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

For our second stay in Beijing we were there for Chinese New Year 2011 and we decided on the red wall for the price and location. I have to say that we really enjoyed our stay and the hotel was very helpful and booked our excursion to the great wall for us. The fireworks in the street were unreal and if you are lucky enough to be around for that time you will understand how big the celebration actually is. Be careful as I got hit by a firework, no injury though. As for the hotel, clean, friendly, good location, and very very cheap! Happy holidays.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanillaaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    149
    132
    54
    39
See reviews for
40
86
53
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

There is nothing good to say about this hotel ... well, except for the location ... it is located in a good spot. Everything else, the rooms, the price the service is just wretched.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Californian in India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

My parents and I found this place out of desperation because the hotel we stayed in the night before was not comfortable. If you follow the tips that other reviewers gave about this hotel, as well as a few below, you will be pleasantly surprised by its value.

1. Upgrading: The lower category rooms are tired and not very good, so before i booked a room, i contacted them by phone and asked them if i could pay for the lower category but get upgraded to a better room. This they gladly did. When we arrived, one of the rooms was ready, but the other became suddenly unavailable. They gave me a suite instead. This illustrates their customer service.

2. Like the other reviewers I would not suggest you make tourist arrangements with them. A few of the people who I met all advised me to make arrangements on my own. Extra charges galore and a bit unhelpful.

3. Some of the beds are not comfortable--but some are. We requested a room with a better bed for my father and it was like night and day for him.

The location is extremely close to the Forbidden Palace, which is an incredible plus. Also down the street from a huge internet cafe--an experience in and of itself. Taxis frequent the area. A grood location...and my room was quiet.

It is certainly not a grand hotel! Not a cultural experience in any way! But sometimes you need a hotel to serve a function so you can do everything else with comfort...and not spend too much! Nothing to write home about....but served its purpose, comfortably.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade before booking....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank blisstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

The hotel has an excellent location within walking distance of the forbidden city and the subway system.The rooms are clean and not too small. The restaurant food is very basic and the beds were like sleeping on a wooden plank with a brick for a pillow. Also the staff English is poor. Overall not bad but for the money I would rather try somewhere new next time I am in Beijing

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numberonejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Room is small and not much space to store your luggage, guess that's what you paid for. room is clean and staff are friendly. However, it's close to the North Gate to the forbidden city, so it's still a long way to go if you want to go to Forbidden city and tian an men square.
After staying there for 3 night, I changed to Citytel Inn, cheaper price, great location and a bigger room and clean sheet and bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busyfeet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Location is good and hotel offers many immenities however room is really old and needs a facelift. Big stains on carpet, brown moldy grout in bathroom. Definitely a more Western-style hotel, which is what they are marketing but you pay for it in room quality. Go around corner to Sha Tan Hotel for the same price on www.hotels.com and room is way better. We stayed 3 nights at Sha Tan and then it was sold out for 4th so went to neighboring RedWall to be disappointed and so glad we weren't there for 3 days.Bed was crazy hard and you could feel springs right through, was like sleeping on box spring. Taxis are usually around out front so that's convenienet. Good English at front desk, very limited English at travel desk. Also got locked out of my safe with valuables in it because it's an old style safe where you have to manually press a red button at back of door to reset code, which I failed to do first. Business center charges 12RMB to print one page. Wouldn't recommend, I would expect this room quality at a hostel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDC150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed at the Red Wall Hotel after leaving the horrible Garden Inn Xidan hotel, and what a relief! The staff at the reception was courteous and spoke English, and the wait-staff at the many restaurants and lounges inside the hotel will go to great lengths to accommodate your needs even if they can't speak English that well. The room was very clean, the bathroom very well equipped, and the chambermaids were very helpful if you needed anything. The location couldn't be better: about a five minute walk to the north gate of the Forbidden City, which means great proximity to Jingshan Park and Beihai Park, but also just on the border of a hutong: this means you can easily choose to merge with the locals, or do the tourist things! The National Art Gallery (which is free!) is about 10 minutes walk. If you have the time, walking to Wangfujin is also possible. As an added bonus, the hotel gave complimentary moon-cakes to those customers staying over the Mid-autumn Festival. I highly recommend this hotel for those who like a western feel to go back to at the end of the day. Special kudos to Mr. Fung, who will do anything to make sure you are happy!

Room Tip: Ask about the Chinese style rooms! They look beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OCS9204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
King Parkview Hotel
King Parkview Hotel
#972 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#16 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Guomao
Beijing Mandarin Fortuneland Business Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#85 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#133 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwall Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwall Hotel Beijing

Property: Redwall Hotel Beijing
Address: No.31 Shatan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,117 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwall Hotel Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The buildings of the hotel are arranged like a court which is similar to European hotel and is different from the normal hotel of high buildings. The construction area of the hotel is 14000 square meters. The hotel has about 200 rooms of modern decoration or Chinese court style. The soft tone of the hotel, the elegant and bright lobby, the classic and exquisite decoration and natural & romantic de ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redwall Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wall Beijing
Hotel Red Wall
Red Wall Hotel Beijing
Beijing Red Wall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing