We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth a visit”

Tsinghua University
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Private Tour: Beijing University Campus and Culture Tour
Ranked #40 of 1,605 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you are in the area, Tsinghua University is definitely worth visiting. With a lovely campus, based on Harvard University initially, and then with a Russian influence, it is fully of history and great to see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    106
    27
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A truly revered place in China”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was lucky to have spent some time in the Fine Arts and the architecture departments, and was most impressed by the work of the students which is exhibited on the ground floors and open to public, very creative and original.

Some of the buildings and the overall atmosphere has to be experienced, but extremely inspiring

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarvdeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best University in China”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's one of the best universities in China. It has great impact on China's recent history. If you want to feel the life of Chinese smartest youth, you must go there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SSLOVEKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California, United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“While the Campus is beautiful don't put it on your itinerary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Sure it's right near the old summer palace. And it's easy to get to if you want to visit wu dao kou, Bei Da, old summer palace and to see some shadow puppets but only do this if you have time.

If you are only spending 3-4 days in Beijing I wouldn't recommend you going all the way out there just to walk on their campus and take pictures at the gate.

Inside it really has beautiful architecture and history. The outside is quite beautiful to look at and you could spend an hour walking around enjoying the scenery.

Summary-
Don't go out of your way to see this unless you have a friend there you want to visit.
It's a beautiful campus with a lot of history.
A lot of students from all over the world come here. Mostly Korean and Japanese.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alienandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go out the way for it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I visited the University because a friend had a lecture. I spent a good four hours walking around the park and the lakes. I didn't realise they were there until I took a wrong turn! I sat and watched a lot of dancers who seemes to be doing a strange mix of ballroom, lindy-hop and disco dancing. Very interesting and made for a nice day.
I wouldn't recommend it if you're not in Beijing for long but it is a nice university campus.

Helpful?
1 Thank lydpod
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Tsinghua University also viewed

 

Been to Tsinghua University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing