We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveler rating
348
630
204
72
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
630
204
72
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noodle bar shopping mall subway station noodles pizza hut forbidden city convenient location room key modern hotel tourist attractions chinese food buffet breakfast english supermarket heaven china temple
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,301 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Normally, hotels block the room rent on your credit card when you check-in and then you are expected to settle any items over and above at the time of check out. That's the international practice everywhere.

This hotel blocked 600 RMB (about 300 RMB per day) while checking me in and it has been 12 days since I checked out but I haven't received the money back

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hsingh207082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_BJ, Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear penta guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that it took more than 12 days for you to get your money released. Please rest assured that our Front Desk cashier did the right cashiering procedure which requested by the Bank of China. We brought up this issue to the Bank of China for further improvement on the speed of releasing money.

Thank you again for your comment and look forward to welcoming you back to Beijing in the not distance future!

Thanks with Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

It is not possible to rate this any higher. The rooms smell of damp. We brought this to their attention at the front desk and were offered another room (730), even worse! It was absolutely horrendous. We have both ended up feeling unwell due to the air-con. Our room actually felt damp (918). The staff were good and the location is decent but the actual hotel needs major help. The rooms are tired and the AC units should be serviced.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank thommac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_BJ, Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2018

Dear penta guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
We are very pleased to know your feedback even inclusive of the weakness which needs us to pay more attentions in future. And we have informed concerned department about your opinion about our facilities, and we know there is always have the space to get improved.
Sincerely hope we are getting improved during your next stay with us.
Thanks with Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

The location of this hotel is very good a short walk from Tian’an Men Square and many other attractions. The hotel itself is pretty functional and the room I stayed in was very clean with furniture which had seen better days. I stayed on a half board basis and the breakfast had a good selection of foods for both the western and local palate. The dining space itself is pretty basic and at busy times, the food area was crowded. Dinner, while functional, was not something I would write home about. There was a bit of “longest reach best fed” about the place as at times the food was not being replaced in order to keep up with demand. Drinks in the bar were overpriced and so we just went across the road to a local bar and got them at a fraction of the price. Handy tip for the traveller is that there is a good ATM right across the road. Wi-Fi was quite good in the lobby and in the room I stayed in. However, the price was good and to make up for it there’s a good shopping mall right around the corner. Would I go back? If I needed a functional place to stay in the centre of Beijing, it would do the trick

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_BJ, Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear penta guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
We are very pleased to know your feedback even inclusive of the weakness which needs us to pay more attentions in future.
Hope we are getting improved during your next stay with us.
Thanks with Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Not the usual kind of Chinese hotel for foreigners, looks more like a luxury hostel in Scandinavia
Customers from all over the world, great bar and cafeteria
Rooms have ok size but will require an upgrade soon

Good price quality ratio

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Squaretxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_BJ, Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear penta guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
We are very pleased to know your feedback even inclusive of the weakness which needs us to pay more attentions in future.
Hope we are getting improved during your next stay with us.
Thanks with Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Excellent location, excellent food and very helpful staff. Good free Wi-fi managed to stream World Cup matches in HD. Downside is rooms are dated and could do with updating. Ignore previous comments about poor English (it is Beijing after all) value of food is good but price of draft beer is expensive in comparison to bottles.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dbaird690621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_BJ, Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear penta guest,
Thanks for your valued feedback. We are very pleased to know you will recommend our hotel. We know there is always have the space to get improved. Hope we are getting better during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews