We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
pentahotel Beijing
Nearby Hotels
$185
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$91
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$243
$204
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$195
$162
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$244
$161
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$254
$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$241
$183
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveler rating
320
600
187
68
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
600
187
68
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoodle barsubway stationshopping mallglory mallnoodlespizza hutforbidden cityconvenient locationroom keydepartment storeexcellent locationmodern hotelbreakfast buffettourist attractionsheavensupermarketenglish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2006

Bitterly disappointed with the Courtyard by Marriott - the level of service offered during my stay was attrocious - the toilet was leaking, stinking up the whole room and the front desk staff were unresponsive and showed no understanding for my discomfort until I raised my voice - something I should not have to do. Giggling smirking staff who repeat "Sorry" and then just look down and pretend to be busy is NOT the level of customer service I expect from an international hotel chain such as the Marriott.
If you choose to stay here, be prepared for the stench of cigarette smoke everytime you enter the lobby and fitness club, being demanded to pay for swimming caps that you knew nothing about at check-in, stale and limp hotel breakfasts, the 40RMB/hr cost for internet access, taxi drivers not knowing the hotel by name (I speak fluent Chinese so it was not a pronounciation problem), old smelly carpet and occasional foul smells wafting through the air conditioner among other things.
Clearly, management is incapable of what is required to operate and provide what is expected from a hotel of the Marriott's calibre.
Do not stay here if you are used to the usual standard of the Marriott - you will be bitterly disappointed.

Stayed: June 2006
10  Thank AJTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

I was under the impression this was to be a 4 star hotel. I see now its rated 3, but I wouldn't even give it that. More like a 2 star. The only thing going for it was the location, which was excellent, close to Pearl Market (Hung Qiao), subway and other shopping. Carpeting throughout was filthy, the lobby and elevators wreaked of smoke. Furniture in the rooms was old and worn. I concurr with the other post, watch out for the taxis. I foolishly assumed that the concierge in a Marriot hotel would not hail us a rip off taxi not using a meter, but was wrong. We jumped in at 6:30 in the morning heading to the airport half awake only to realize we got ripped off for the ride. Our previous hotel in Beijing would not use a driver without a meter, so I was off guard. Never, ever assume anything in China, even from the door step of Marriot. This is not up to Marriot standards. If you just want a clean bed to rest your head in a great location this is the place for you. But I'd try to find a true 3 or 4 star hotel near by if that's what your looking for, and pass on this one.

D. Davis

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Huntington Beach, CA
12
Reviewed June 27, 2006

This was simply an abomination of a hotel. From the first impression of not being greeted, dirty entrance, rude doorman, terrible front desk staff. Avoid the taxi que at the fron of this hotel - or risk being ripped off. Many visitors were complaining during our stay. Also, if you enjoy the fact the the lobby seating is taken by smoking taxi drivers on break and other assorted riff-raff - this is your place. Marriott should be ashamed!!!!!! Friviolous charges on check out - and surly and confrontational service during stay. I have never encountered any Marriott brand in which customers were so worried (not just us but many others too). Unsafe - particularly at night - unsupervised entry - inattentive staff - non-existent doorman and bellcaps. A very ugly experience. Avoid this trap and stay at other hotels (both the Marriott West and Renaissance are exceptionel).

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Nice big hotel, with good location. Walking distance to "the pearl marked". The hotel is connected to a big shopping centre. Several resturants in the building.
Lived there for 1 week, and had a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2006

The location of the hotel is perfect where it takes only one minute to the subway station. The hotel is just behind a shopping mall. Inside the mall, there are Starbucks and KFC so that we can eat at reasonable price. The room is clean although there is no Internet connection. The breakfast is up to 4-star standard.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mayau1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews