We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay and we truly enjoyed it!”
Review of pentahotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Beijing
Ranked #52 of 6,547 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I recently stayed at this location and I must say it was a very pleasant visit! This was apart of a tour package and I was not familiar with the company but the website looked nice so I hoped for the best! The rooms were a nice size and very clean and modern. The bathroom was okay it was a bit dated but the shower was hot and the flow was strong... Perfect for relaxing after a long day touring the great sites of China! The Noodle Bar closes pretty early but the PentaLounge offers some of the same food items.

They offered a free buffet every morning with traditional American breakfast food as well as Chinese items. All very good.

The elevator requires a key to access upper floors for security reasons but the neighborhood is centrally located and seemingly in a good area with a bank, grocery store, two malls, and a few restaurants.

The staff was nice but they all didn't speak English which posed a challenge at times. All in all I would stay at this hotel again either here or in another country.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor room 730 at the far end of the hallway it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CyliaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGodard, General Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Cylia

Thank you for your nice review, we are happy to know that you would stay again with a penta, most of our property are in Europe ( Germany, England, Belgium, Austria, and Cech republic). 3 in china ( Beiing/shanghai/HK) If ever you are p[lanning a trip in one of the countries mentioned above drop me an email at Yves.godard@pentahotelsasia.com. I will be happy to assist with the booking.

Again many thanks and all the best
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is very easy to access, situated in the center of the city, 2min walking from subway station Chongwengmen (line 2 & line 5). The lobby and breakfast are very nice. The only issue are the rooms which are quite old, but still very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milou1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGodard, General Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Milou 1330

Thank you for posting a review here about us, Some of our rooms have been semi refurbished which gives them a more aged look indeed.
Drop me an email at this adress yves.godard@pentahotelsasia.com and i will give you a fully refurbished room next time.
Some of our guest having tried both like the semi refurbished better, this is realy a matter of personal taste.
Warmest regards
Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Good Hotel with good services and near all the things that i want to see in beijing, forbidden city, temple of heaven and you have everything what you need near the hotel, so i recommend the people that this hotel is good

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chi078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGodard, General Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Chi078

Many thanks for this great mark of appreciation, I hop ewe can meet soon in the hotel!!

cheers

Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was supposed to be a "4 Star" hotel, according to smarTours. Don't think so. Room smelled musty, just this side of moldy. We walked in & it felt like a dry sauna it was so hot. Our tour guide informed us that having the staff unlock and open the window -on the 8th floor - was the only solution; so that's what we did. Fortunately it would only open a few inches, but that was enough since it was literally freezing outside. The bed was like sleeping on a board. The carpeted floor felt sticky the one time my foot accidentally touched it. On the positive side, the hotel did keep enough Chinese money on hand to take care of all of our money exchanging. (Unlike the next "4 Star" hotel we stayed at.) But.....

The staff was great! Accommodating, helpful, friendly, patient with our complete inability to speak the language. When I needed to purchase some hand lotion they cheerfully wrote out what I needed in Chinese characters to aide my shopping; recommended favorite restaurants; drew maps to get places. All spoke some English. The complimentary breakfast was ample and included some Chinese choices. (There were actually many Asian folks staying at this hotel.) And the location was good, within walking distance of lots of little restaurants, malls, and attractions. I'm giving this place 3 stars because of the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGodard, General Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Jean

MY apologies for the so so experience you had with us, it's not menat to be that way and i am really interested to get more details from you,therefore i give you my email yves.godard@penathotelsasia.com .
And thank you for mentioning the positive as well, I appreciate your fairness!

warmest regards

Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Good hotel,clean and affordable.Lot of places nearby .Little bit difficult with the English barrier but manageable .Good thing that you can exchange money in the hotel's reception.The breakfast has many options.

Room Tip: Choose the non smoking room .The hotel has nice and affordable restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwatidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGodard, General Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Elwatidy

Thanks for your positive review and hope to be able to meet you upon your next visit!

cheers

Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Penta hotel. The location was excellent as there is a mall next door as well as across the street. There is also a supermarket next door.

The daily breakfast was very good with lots of Chinese and western choices. The beds were very hard so I used my comforter like a sleeping bag, attempts to get another comforter were unsuccessful due to the language barrier.

The toilets were extremely low flow so it took multiple flushes to get things to go down.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank SurveyNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGodard, General Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Survey Ninja

Thank you for taking the time to drop a review here about us, trust that we will look into the flush issue that you have pointed out.
If there is anything esle you would like to share with me you can send me a note at this adress yves.godard@pentahotelsasia.com

Warmest regards

Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

4 night stay at by our group of 8 people was memorable and unforgettable. just step out and variety and good no of shopping malls are there where one can indulge in high end as well as budget shopping. Breakfast is one thing you would always like to have in the hotel you are staying and this place offers gran b/f everyday. it is so sumptuous and healthy that you don't need lunch which can be easily escaped saving your time and money. Rooms are very cosy and bathrooms refreshing particularly type of shower fitted.

Room Tip: Double bedded room on 6th floor with a view of back side of a hotel should be good guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 599anil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGodard, General Manager at pentahotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Anil

Thank you so much for your review i have shared it with the team this morning ! send me an email next time i would love to meet you and have a beer with you at the bar!

all the best

Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,547 in Beijing
2,644 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,547 in Beijing
1,508 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,547 in Beijing
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,547 in Beijing
2,948 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Beijing

Address: 3-18 Chongwenmen Wai Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100062, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#48 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#51 Family Hotel in Beijing
#52 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#77 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $82 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood lifestyle 307-room pentahotel Beijing combines comfort and efficiency and style in a contemporary environment. Nestled in the heart of Beijing, pentahotel is conveniently located two minutes from Chongwenmen Metro Station and close to most of the popular tourist attractions including Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, the Temple of Heaven. Wangfujing and the Pearl Market are only a stone’s throw away for local cuisine and shopping opportunities. Pentalounge is an all-in-one gathering place with 142 seats dedicated to café dining, a delicatessen, noodle bar, library, living room and games area. This lively spot is perfect for catching up with friends for drinks and dishes to share or a quiet, cosy getaway to relax with free WiFi and your favourite Chinese and Western comfort foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing