We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of pentahotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Beijing
Ranked #54 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 might on a tour of China and would recommend this hotel. The breakfast has lots of variety with both Chinese and European options. The hotel is in a good location with a shopping centre about 100 yards away and also a very large supermarket. Starbucks and Costa within walking distance for coffee lovers. The bar was expensive and shut at midnight (we were told to go to the 7/11 to buy alcohol and bring it back to the bar to drink if we wanted to stay up after midnight.) but the staff were very pleasant. No issues with changing currency at reception although note they do not like torn or dirty notes. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phaze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    538
    165
    60
    33
See reviews for
184
331
100
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Late check in and informed upon reach would check out on 24th instead of 25th as tour agency has refunded money but during stay and check out, they still assume that I'm checking out on 25th even though I speak to them in mandarin. System not updated, I guess.

Requested power bar and instead of sending to my room, they ask me to go lobby to collect it. Maybe no one is working in midnight but i thought hotels should have 24hrs service.

Booked Pentaroom and it's really good enough. Very nice decoration and things are new. Very clean room as well. Shower head is strong and comfortable. As Beijing is very cold and dry now, the hotel is so nice to provide body lotion and the body lotion is really good.

Breakfast is the same everyday but suits westerners. Very nice breakfast with a chef cooking your choice of egg. Many choices of bread; fruits; juice; cakes; cereals; spread; etc.
Although the breakfast starts at 6am, the chef would only be out at 7am for the eggs.

Nice bar with pool table at night in the lobby.

Flight is midnight so left the luggage at the lobby while go out for a walk. Came back at 10pm and took my luggage to place my purchase. Wanted to place my luggage back to the lobby as I have still some time before going to the airport and the woman at the counter which I think is the manager ask me rudely in mandarin "I thought u just took your luggage? Why r u putting it back now?" I replied saying I'm still waitingfor my cab to arrive at 12am and I'm going out to get some snacks. She replied "OK then. I'll let u place your luggage here a while more then." -.-

Overall, not too bad. 7mins walk to chongwenmen mrt exit C. If you are taking cabs, say New World Shopping at ChongWenMen. Beside the hotel, there is 4 shopping malls with 1 hypermarket in one of the malls beside Pentahotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HermitO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on my whistle top tour of China. This hotel was clean, rooms were adequate and the breakfast was very good. There was a good selection of foods. Staff were friendly. The location was perfect. We were surrounded by shops, shops and more shops.
Beijing was my favourite place in China. The only drawback was the smog

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottie041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Please correct me if I am wrong, but we didnt find a pool. The Gym was great. Food amazing with a good variety. We had meals included in our price. Room service for food would be a great idea but certainly not a problem, you just have to go down & order & collect. There was a noodle bar (which we didn't use) & a Pizza shop coming soon?? An important part of staying in a foreign country would be to have an information folder in English in the room. There is no Face Book (if you have children or this is a way to stay intouch with home, but can do Instagram), No Google, I found this a bit different, but still could send emails, as we have a business a home to run, Wii Fii is FREE, but slow.
Rooms are made up daily & you get FREE water, although I had to chase up toilet rolls & water on a couple of occations but the cleaner are helpful, given we didn't quite understand each other.
DO NOT GET YOUR LAUNDRY DONE.
We had 10 items which was a couple of T's, a pair of shorts & the rest was knickers, the Cost was Aus $100, so needless to say we washed them in the room.
As we were doing tours most days it was hard to look around with limited info, the Mall next door was a Bonus, although it was pretty much the same cost in Aus $$. The sizes basically only go to a 12 in Dresses etc & shoes are mostly 8 down. Although we loved checking it all out & staff were friendly but couldn't speak English. Most have the calculator for you, although we had our own. Checkout are not in most shops, but you soon realise where to find them. You are given 3 dockets, checkout keeps one, shop keeps the other & then they give you your purchase & you keep the other one (you do all the walking). That was weird. The Mall takes our Travel Cash Card. Not all Malls do though so be aware. We needed Steak & was surprised to find a Sizzlers. This was not in our shopping centre but outside & do the walk under to the next street & its on the third floor. Still no English but not a problem. We found a tiny 7/11 store which had cold beer, it was a short walk away from the Penta & was very cheap. 4 Cruisers & 4 beers for around $16 Aus.The Beer at the Penta is $10 each Aus. Very Expensive but great after a big day in 30* heat doing a tour of all the wonderful sights. Lastly, we had a private Driver & Tour guide for all our tours except the Great Wall & this is a MUST. We were collected from the Airport & taken back & he was with us for our private tours, collecting us from the Penta. Even though the driver didn't speak English we were very happy & tipped both the driver & our Tour Guide David. Bring some form of medication for Bali Belly, you are bound to get it & its not nice when you have to use a hole in the ground. On that topic always carry an umbrella, water, tissues (for toilet as there is NONE) & heaps of wipes.
I have no complaints just hope that I have given info that could help a Traveller.
We recommend the Penta.
Ange, Stew & daughter Eliza From Tasmania, Australia

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good, A/C was great, Free Water. Very cosy, even has Gas Masks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for four nights as part of a holiday. Very central location made it easy to walk to many of the main sights. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet has a good selection. Only real negative was that the reception counter is quite small for the size of the hotel, so there was often a line of people waiting for service. This made check in, or getting any service there rather slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvrilN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

After researching many hotels for our trip to Beijing, The Penta Hotel was The Perfect Choice. The location is near shopping, restaurants, subway and within walking distance from popular tourist sites.

This was our first trip to China and arranged for transportation pickup from the airport. After a very long flight, the long ride to the hotel from the Beijing airport (heavy traffic) allowed us to see how much the city has grown. New buildings were everywhere with old buildings sprinkled Inbetween. The city was large and beautiful.

Our room was clean with two beds and an added roll-away bed. The room was large enough and had a refrigerator and coffee maker. The hotel staff did a great job at keeping our room clean and replenish supplies each day. We appreciated the service. Some of the rooms have been renovated and these are called the Penta Plus rooms (book these rooms otherwise you will get the old rooms).

The breakfast was included in our room rate. It was excellent - wide variety with Chinese and western food, fresh breads and fruit. It was very crowded. The staff did an excellent job at keeping the eating area clean and prepared for new guests.

The hotel has a bar and a noodle restaurant. Great drinks and hand-pulled noodles were a treat that we enjoyed on several evenings.

The subway is very close, incredibly inexpensive and quite easy to navigate. During the hot summer months, the air conditioned subway was refreshing. On busy shopping evenings, the subway can be very busy and we had to learn how to politely push to squeeze into an overly full subway car. That was an adventure...

DO: take a guided tour of the Wall, walk to the City Wall and see the museum, walk to Tiannamen Square, walk to the National Museum (the BEST ancient Chinese exhibit - not to be missed and it's free), see the Temple of Heaven, go to an acrobatic show, go to the Pearl Market, go to the Night Market and try a starfish on a stick...

DON'T: forget to bring water with you when site seeing, forget to bring a small pack of tissues for use in the public toilets, forget to look in all directions when crossing the street, forget to try some Chinese to show that you appreciate the culture...

The BEST: The hotel staff was polite, hard-working and did a good job. When visiting the pearl Market, find Ken's Pearl on the 3rd floor and he will give you a 'friend price' - all flight attendants shop at Ken's. Get fresh groceries for your room by going to the grocery store in the lowest level of the adjacent shopping mall and fill your refrigerator (cold beer after a long, hot day of walking is sublime). Dali Courtyard is EXCELLENT for Yunnan dishes. Finally, Peking Duck is a must.

I use tripadvisor to research new cities and take the time to share our experience so that others will benefit. If this review was helpful then let me know so that I am motivated again to help others.

Room Tip: Ask for the Penta Plus renovated rooms. Our room was not renovated and the HVAC air conditioning wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IMAbbyNormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of our China Spree tour of Beijing and Tibet. (Highly recommend this tour and tour group!) It was a great hotel in a good location. the included buffet breakfast was great. This hotel tended towards western tour groups so getting to breakfast before 7:00am is a good suggestion. the hotel is part of a mall and you can access the mall from floor 5 of the hotel. On the main road side of the building is a large grocery store that opens at 8:00 am, great place for picking up waters and snacks and last minute gifts! A bank with an atm is across the street and is your best rate of exchange for getting yuan. the hotel will change your money but only after you have been checked in for at least 2 hours. Our room was very nice and clean, located on the 8th floor included a mini fridge and free wifi. the bed was extremely comfortable with a nice firm mattress. The shower was great with wonderful water pressure. The Chinese food was OK at the bar for meals other than breakfast. We did have a burger the last night of our stay and it was actually very good!! All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beat the breakfast crowd get down before 7:00 am better yet get down around 6:30am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atoztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#70 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#59 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#71 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#61 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Beijing

Property: pentahotel Beijing
Address: 3-18 Chongwenmen Wai Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100062, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#49 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#52 Family Hotel in Beijing
#53 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#78 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pentahotel Beijing is nestled in the heart of Beijing’s business district and government office area. This is a modern hotel that integrates accommodation, dining, shopping and business. pentahotel is conveniently located just two minutes away from the Chongwenmen metro station and around 10 minutes by metro from Beijing Central Business District. It’s close to Beijing Tongren Hospital, Beijing Hospital, Beijing Railway Station and Beijing South Station. What’s more, Wangfujin Street, Oriental Plaza, Tian’anmen Square, Qianmen Street, Hongqiao Pearl Market, and Temple of Heaven are a stone’s throw away. Furthermore, the General Administration of Sport of China, Beijing Municipal government building, the Beijing Federation of Trade Unions and Tongrentang Drugstore are in the neighbourhood.Starting from a 29 square-metre Standard room, pentahotel offers seven room types, including Deluxe and Suite rooms, available in a variety of configurations and prices to suit all budgets. pentahotel provides comprehensive room facilities and hotel services including broadband Internet access, spacious and comfortable work desk, casual entertainment in the Lobby Lounge and the Café’. The hotel has a number of small meeting rooms that can meet the needs of our business guests. In every way, pentahotel is an ideal place for leisure or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing