We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient hotel”
Review of pentahotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Beijing
Ranked #54 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very convenient, close to the subway station kine 5 and 2 and all fast food.Breakfast little poor but enough and with good western bread average coffee. Texi order was not fulfilled for 5 am for the airport

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZvikaShemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are basic with no bar or coffee maker. Clean rooms and good location. Wifi available for free. Front desk not at all helpful in regards to calling a taxi. It was a nightmare getting a taxi in that area. You have to cross the road to reach the subway which is difficult with little kids.breakfast also was not that great with limited options.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julnar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days in this hotel. We were surprised with the quality for the price. It id close to the main attractions in Beijing. The subway is very very close, Chongwenmen station serves line 2 and line 5. Just look for exit D and as soon as you leave the underpass tou will see the hotel sign in front of you. Just make a right and left in the first street.
The breakfast is very good. You have so many options both Asian and Western food. Some of the employees speak English. They were very helpful with our trip to the great wall. They got a private car with driver for us for a very reasonable price. I highly recommend this hotel, specially if this is your first time here.

Thank Liliana G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 4 nights. The overall experience was nice. The room was very comfortable, with complimentary bottled water provided each day. The bed was extremely comfort and the air conditioning as hardcore as you wanted to be. The breakfast was OK and the location super, next to public subway. There were 2 malls nearby. The only thing I didn't like was that they asked for a deposit when I checked in (about 50 YUAN) which they (obviously) return back when you check out, but noone said that during the room Booking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Modern and clean hotel, just a few minutes walk from a metro station (Chongwenmen, line 2 and 5) and next to several large shopping malls with food courts. It is a short 30 min walk to Tiananmen square. The airport is a 45 min to 1 hour drive by taxi (around 130 RBM).

The morning breakfast was excellent, the WiFi reasonable fast and available both in the rooms as lobby. The hotel has a bar, but it is quite expensive, the only other place we found close by as an alternative was a street bar opposite of McDonalds, which had also some live music. The English of the staff was a bit average. Good hotel, can recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank svollebregt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

it was pleasant as the hotel was clean, comfortable and centrally located (200m to a subway line and connected to a shopping mall on the 5th floor). There were a few malls (with it comes dining options after a whole day out) all within walking distance around the hotel. The noodle bar was an oversell and the bar was a bit pricey. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to my friends if they are ever in Beijing for sight seeing).

The only cons are the reception staff which can be very cold and they generally possess a could not be bothered attitude (which seems to be the norm throughout China even five star airlines customer service). We tried to check in early and was told to wait an hour. After an hour, we asked again and they just said wait. My partner who speaks fluent Mandarin who was agitated finally spoke to the supervisor and we got a room instantly. I think we were made to wait with our all our luggage in the lobby for no good reason as rooms were available.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Pentahotel for 7 nights at the beginning of August 2013.
This was the start of our trip, our first encounter with China, and Asia.
After having read reviews and advices, we booked a pentaplus room (ours was on the 16th floor), as these rooms have been renovated.
The decor is modern and fresh. The room was clean, the bathroom too.
The breakfast was nice and is included with the room, which does not happen all the time in China.
The staff spoke fairly well English (better than our Chinese so we can't complain!) and were helpful.
The hotel is located above a shopping center (slightly naff but still...) and above a supermarket (basement of the building, very convenient). It's very close to the metro (very easy to use, although very crowded, as expected in a city as populated as Beijing!), which offers easy access to all majors attractions in the city, also close to an office to purchase train tickets.
All in all it was a good hotel, nothing to really complain about, great location, nice staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyhve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#64 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,568 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,963 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Beijing

Address: 3-18 Chongwenmen Wai Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100062, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#50 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#51 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#51 Family Hotel in Beijing
#76 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $81 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood lifestyle 307-room pentahotel Beijing combines comfort and efficiency and style in a contemporary environment. Nestled in the heart of Beijing, pentahotel is conveniently located two minutes from Chongwenmen Metro Station and close to most of the popular tourist attractions including Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, the Temple of Heaven. Wangfujing and the Pearl Market are only a stone’s throw away for local cuisine and shopping opportunities. Pentalounge is an all-in-one gathering place with 142 seats dedicated to café dining, a delicatessen, noodle bar, library, living room and games area. This lively spot is perfect for catching up with friends for drinks and dishes to share or a quiet, cosy getaway to relax with free WiFi and your favourite Chinese and Western comfort foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing