We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beijing zoo” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Zoo

Beijing Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.00*
and up
Private Tour: Panda House Visit And Cruise To The Summer Palace With Imperial...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beijing zoo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Animal lovers beware!!! If its animals your looking for - their are alot of them . . but not if your an animal lover!!
Tiny filthy cement cages, cages so small animals cant even turn around, animals displaying behaviour of insanity from such horrible tiny enclosures that they are swaying, turning aimlessly in circles, dehydrated and under fed!!
My family and i were so disturbed and outraged by the lack of care and appropriate environment for even the endangered animals . . . definetly should be missed and not supported, enclosures like this should be shut down!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Karina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    569
    412
    222
    218
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor conditions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The animals have so little space, and they look so miserable. In the nocturnal area people are taking pictures with flash and noone even cares...

Helpful?
3 Thank dariakepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Zoo is ok but this place needs more caring staff & supervision of guests”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Its really too bad that I left the zoo a bit sad from having been there. The pandas are totally cute and worth the time there but the rest of the zoo is a bit depressing. The zoo is in a great location and once you walk in it looks like a great zoo. Unlike some other reviews posted when we went the inclosures were not dirty and must of the inclosures seemed appropriate enough for the size of the animal. I must admit that a lot of the animals did indeed look stressed and exhausted from being there.

I will echo many reviews by saying that the biggest problem with this zoo is the attitude of all the Chinese tourists towards the animals. I am by no means an environmentalist or a "hippie" but even I feel the way the other tourists were treating animals as disgusting. Even though this is not the fault of the zoo I give it a 2 because many of the inclosures are opened and people can through things in the spaces. The zoo clearly knows that this is happening but they chose to look the other way since there is never any staff near by and the one time there was they did nothing to stop guests. Even though there are large signs everywhere to not through food in the inclosures. The saddest part was the black and brown bear inclosures which people saw fit to through every imaginable type of garbage in there. I saw one lady throwing pieces of paper at the bear thinking it was funny. After trying to tell her not to do this she yelled something in Mandarin and walked away. I'm sure it wasn't a flattering thing however.

Many of the indoor places such as the reptile house are severely outdated and falling apart. This zoo could be really good if they updated a bit and added some staff to try and teach people the correct way to visit a zoo. I for myself will not visit this zoo again and the next time I want to see pandas I will go to the panda sanctuary in Sichuan province.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Montreal_native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Could have been more well maintained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

On one of our tours, we were brought to the zoo, the Panda's were really dirty and not well maintained like those in Hong Kong (Ocean Park)... they were more healthy looking then those in Beijing. Was rather a let down...there were plently of benches and places to sit should you feel tired from the long walk in the Zoo. I've been to many zoos and by and large this is one that did not meet the basic standards of how a zoo should look like. Even the polar bears enclosure was rather small...Although the landscaping was ok and relatively clean, I felt that there should have been some shows as well. Would I go back again...it's a no unless I have ample time to kill.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CLL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Panda!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Whatever else the merits and demerits of the zoo - and it was certainly not as bad/inhumane as some reviews expect you to believe, on a par with British zoos - it has giant pandas! Three were attractively asleep and rolling over, but one was awake, chugging bamboo shoots for all he was worth. Perhaps a little embarrassed to say this was the highlight of my visit to China. Only £4 as well!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnychips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beijing Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Beijing Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing