We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked a bad tour from this good hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jade Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jade Garden Hotel
Ranked #109 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Portland Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Booked a bad tour from this good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Everything others say about the convenient location, amenities like Internet access, etc is true. I just want to warn you about booking a tour to the Great Wall at the front desk. The info said Sacred Way and Mutianyu Great Wall, which is the section I wanted to visit. I was picked up at 7 am and we headed off northwest to view the Sacred Way which is nothing special and a good distance from Mutianyu which is Northeast of the city. From there we were taken to a government "Pharmacy" for some info on "Chinese culture" but where the idea is to have you buy expensive herbal remedies. Then, on to the Jade Factory so you could buy some expensive jade. And, by the way, where we had a very mediocre lunch. Finally, at about 1 pm we headed for Mutianyu, which we reached at 2. We were told we would have two hours at the wall. And by the way, to walk up would take 40-50 minutes, and the price we paid for the tour included admission, BUT NOT the cost of the cable car ride up. Of course, the Wall itself was great but the tour really was not. I thought it would be helpful to other travellers to know enough NOT to book with AmazingTripChina through the hotel. I was really ticked off.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubysuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    229
    59
    18
    7
See reviews for
57
135
49
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Good location of the hotel, walking distance to Forbidden city. The room was well appointed, very clean. Internet computer in the room. The staff was helpful and good English speaking. Everything ran well and I have no complain, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneRasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed here as we couldn't extend our stay at the adjacent Kapok hotel. Its fine - decent sized rooms, fairly good service, well priced. However, following the modern friendliness of Kapok, this was a bland and corporate place to stay. The rooms were fine though old fashioned in their decor. It really isn't a 'courtyard' hotel as it claims - very much more a modern hotel with a bit of traditional frontage.

The rooms have large screen TVs and free internet (with a computer in the room so no need to bring one) which is a bonus. Breakfast is ok in the usual buffet set up in a covered courtyard room. A bit soulless if honest.

If you can't get anywhere else, then yes this is fine. Very close to the Forbidden City, WangfuJing, subway etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank confen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
305 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed twice during our recent trip to China and beyond. Rooms are spotless, beds firm and everything you need is provided. In the Executive Room we had a bathroom with separate large bath and shower, sitting area, and in both rooms a fridge with bottled water and soft drinks provided each day. Absolutyely no complaints about the room. TV, air con and internet.
We only ate breakfast which was very good in terms of choice and quality.
Front of House staff would get taxis and ensure the driver knew where we were going. All could speak some English. The hotel is a little walk to the subway system however Taxis are so cheap. We paid less than 100 yuan from the airport to the hotel.
Its an easy walk to the forbidden city and to the pedestrain street with all the expensive shops. There is night food market about 2 minutes walk away.
Due to very heavy rain one night we ate dinner in the restaurant opposet the hotel, picture menu and little (if any English spoken) however the food was so good and cheap and it was full of local people.
We really rate this hotel and would certainly use it again. It deserves ahigher tripadviser rating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

As other reviewers say, this is very well located for the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Sq. Staff were very amenable, with perfectly adequate English. Lovely extensive Chinese and Western buffet breakfast. PC with internet access in the room is a nice and very useful touch - ours kept crashing to begin with, but was replaced with another one within minutes of reporting it. We were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel for 3 days while taking a trip elsewhere. An iron, a safe, a torch, a drinking water tap, a bath, a TV, a PC with internet all come with the room, and even the soft drinks in the mini bar are free. Great place

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukejmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed at the Jade Garden and were very pleased with the experience. The rooms were fine and clean. They had amenities in the room like a flashlight, which I found very useful actually! Rooms also had a bathtub, which is helpful if you have small kids.

The Good:

The location was excellent. We literally could walk to the Forbidden city in about 10 minutes (or 5 if you were a quick walker). Also close to the pedestrian area. Also there is a long section of a park, nice to walk around, no foreigners there.

Outside the hotel there's a Subway so if you ever need a sandwich option, it's there. It's open until 11pm so a few nights we made a quick trip there and also it was a good coffee morning option (we didn't get the hotel breakfast).

The meals at the hotel are good. A bit pricey for China, but if you take advantage of the buffet, it's good. You can get pasta made, lots of options, etc. One night I had the dinner buffet, but other than that we ate outside the hotel to save a bit of money and to enjoy other experiences.

The service is good. They always made an effort to get us a taxi, help us out, etc. They helped me find something that fell between the room table too, which was nice. And on checkout brought down a few things we forgot. Really appreciated that.

Our friends got a free room upgrade since the hotel wasn't full. It was gorgeous, recently refurbished, big bathtub, and just lots and lots of space.

Reasonably kid friendly. I didn't see too many kids around. It can be very hard with kid meal options at a hotel: where to heat up the food, what to eat, etc. But in general, it worked.

Would recommend it based on location and price relative to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livinghereBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We began our trip thinking that this hotel was going to be our one "slum" hotel of our trip because of its cost. It turns out that it was the best! Our room was clean and had all of the same amenities as a Western hotel. We had an issue with our TV on the second day and someone was up to replace it five minutes after we called the front desk.

The location of the hotel is perfect for those wanting to visit the Forbidden city and Tianamen Square, both were less than a ten minute walk. The night market and Wangfujing are also very close by.

The staff at the front desk were always helpful and willing to try to speak English, albeit in a limited capacity. Catching a taxi from the front steps was never a problem. The breakfast buffet costs 53 RMB per person, but was convenient and enjoyable. There is a restaurant across the street that stays open rather late and takes over the street with tables and chairs after dark. We really liked this place and the owner was very nice.

All in all, this was a very pleasant place to stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plato435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#63 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#138 of 6,445 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#89 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#88 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Garden Hotel

Property: Jade Garden Hotel
Address: No.1 Nanheyan Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jade Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jade Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jade Garden
Jade Garden Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing