We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected.”

Siji Minfu Restaurant Peking Roast Duck (Dengshikou)
Ranked #9 of 12,642 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Took a while to find this place after visiting Tiananmen square at night and needless to say we were starving. We got a duck and some other dishes and for the price we paid the portion of duck was pathetic to say the least. Two pancakes each for three people for 200+ RMB. The meat itself was very fatty and after carving at the table they removed the carcass with meat still on! Compared to so many other restaurants that offer much cheaper and larger ducks, this is not worth the money or high rating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    220
    49
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Peking Duck experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went here after visiting the relatively nearby Forbidden City. We arrived about 5-5.30pm which is the best time as then you don't have to queue (by 6pm the restaurant was full). The duck was quite nice, although it didn't wow us, I think you could find better (but not sure where). It's nice though to see it carved in front of you, and you can order the pancakes and sauces/pickles to go with it. The staff were nice and polite and showed us how to wrap the pancakes as they noticed we didn't know how. A good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristessacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best find!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant on our final night in Beijing. We had no idea about it but saw from across the street that it looked popular. There were 6 of us and we did have to wait but every dish we had was very tasty and the Peking duck is as good as everyone says. It is also fun to see it carved at your table. Having someone who can speak a little Chinese is useful. The pricing was reasonable too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wanderer061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
232 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good, for sure, but could be better ...”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I was drawn here by the reviews of "best Peking Duck".
The duck was good, indeed, no complaints, and a nice place, with attentive staff and welcoming for foreigners.

But I can't believe that the duck would be considered the best in Beijing. I found them on the dryer side, and smaller. Not reaching the level of taste I found in other places and, of all places, in Shanghai.
In fact, the next day I had a business lunch in the industrial center near the airport - I found the duck there much tastier.

Helpful?
Thank TooFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant That's Worth the Wait”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The duck here is amazing and they have a decent wine selection. Keep in mind the language barrier. To be seated, hold up the number of people in your party on your fingers and get a card with a number. There's definitely gonna be a wait and if you order the duck, it takes 1hr to cook (but worth the wait).

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siji Minfu Restaurant Peking Roast Duck (Dengshikou) also viewed

 

Been to Siji Minfu Restaurant Peking Roast Duck (Dengshikou)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing