We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A must-do hike when in Beijing

Hiking up the unrestored path of the Great Wall with Beijing Hikers was a fun day trip. Our... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
MewV
,
Bangkok, Thailand
Breathtaking

We hiked 7 km on the Great Wall in Gubeikou, early May. I was sceptical to this hike, and feared a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
karenabroad2018
,
Tokyo, Japan
Read all 234 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Beijing
from $45.00
More Info
from $79.20
More Info
from $66.00
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
219
13
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
219
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west lake guided hike own pace amazing hike great wall hike lunch provided unrestored sections fitness levels small group day trip hiking poles these guys hour hike clear instructions authentic chinese views are amazing jinshanling section
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 234 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2019

We had a fantastic day trip to the Great Wall Spur with Beijing Hikers. The information on the website, and the pre-trip communciation was Hayden, was clear and helpful so we felt fully prepared before the hike - including facing the extremely cold temperatures! The bus left on time and was relatively comfortable for the 2 hour drive, especially since we only had a small group of 10 or so people.

We had 2 guides for the walk, one at the front and one at the back. There was no pressure to hurry or keep up with the front guide, which meant we could choose our own pace and enjoy the stunning views on the way. Guide Katie was very friendly and knowledgeable, and happy to answer all our questions. One of the other hikers fell ill, so Katie returned to the beginning of the trail with her and provided assistance. Thankfully this didn't affect the rest of the group, as we could continue with the other guide. No other tourists on the trail, we had the entire section of the wall to ourselves! There was no lunch provided on this particular trip, but at the end, we were provided hot tea, cold beers and some snacks.

Thoroughly recommend Beijing Hikers for a well-organised and professional trip to an unrestored and non-touristy section of the Great Wall. Bonus points for organising the clear blue skies that day! :-)

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank mtoolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenOpie, Manager at Beijing Hikers, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Hi mtoolin,

Glad you were able to stay warm! And it's good to hear the guides were able to handle the situation with the ill hiker.

Thanks for posting some of your photos – looks awesome! – and thank you for the recommendation.

best,
Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend using these guys. They are professional, super friendly, knowledgeable and extremely good at communicating. We got picked up by bus, taken out to beginning of trail. We did the West Spur trek, about 3.5-4 hours, group of 10, with varying abilities, had no one else on the trail for the entire day. Totally amazing views and could even see Beijing! We were given cold beers (a rarity) or tea and nibbles afterwards and driven back. Katie our guide very knowledgeable and friendly. Cost only 200RMB which is about $AU43 per person, totally worth it! A must do, Thanks guys, a brilliant day!!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenOpie, Manager at Beijing Hikers, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Hi J F - thanks for the review!

The photos you sent show it was a great clear day.

I'll pass on your compliments to Katie.

best,
Hayden
p.s. I think this hike would have been 400 RMB per person, not 200 RMB.
p.p.s. We know that cold beer is very important :) And the snacks/meal after the hike is a chance to have a good chat to the other hikers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018

Beijing Hikers rocks! Customer service = EXCELLENT; Hazel is amazing. We (family of 4 with kids age 10,11) booked a private hiking tour to Huanghuacheng section of the wall and it was awesome! Perfect tour to see rural life outside of Beijing, old unrestored sections of wall mixed with restored/newer section. Our guide Jo spoke great English and was very knowledgeable and helpful. Mr. Yong our driver set up an amazing lunch which we all enjoyed together after our hike.

I personally was worried about the difficulty of this hike so I want to give some details from my experience being 6'3" 310 pounds. While I did do some walking/incline hiking a couple times of week for a month before the trip, I was able to confidently do and enjoy this entire hike. Very steep but very doable and SO WORTH IT!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank KendrickL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenOpie, Manager at Beijing Hikers, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Hi Kendrick - thanks for the great review, and awesome to hear you had such an excellent hike!

We appreciate your review, and I'll pass on your compliments to Hazel, Jo, and Mr Yang.

Thanks for hiking with us!

best,
Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

We have joined the hike on a one day notice and were thrilled to get a spot. Transport was organised from 2 pick up points, and it was a nice and clean bus. The guides were very friendly and informative, provided snacks and a lot of water.
It was a very well organised hike and we started from a small village hiking up the trail in the woods to reach the wall. This was a little challenging (level 4) but much better than climbing the stairs. After reaching the wall we were mostly going downhill and down the stairs which appeared to be a great choice after seeing all the people struggling in the opposite direction (coming from one of the official entrances). We had lovely weather which made the hike even more enjoyable. The hikers all seemed nice and friendly and it was a very pleasant experience. Lunch was also organised and delicious (with enough of veggie options for vegetarians and vegans).
We appreciated a fair price for this all inclusive hike.
And as someone with a tiny bladder I award them extra point of including bathroom breaks frequently.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank larahorvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenOpie, Manager at Beijing Hikers, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2018

Hello Lara H,

Sounds like everything went great, and from your photos it definitely looks like you had some excellent weather.

Thanks for the review!

And thanks for the extra point for bathroom breaks. It's kind of weird but I think we know all the best* toilet locations in Beijing.

* 'best' being a relative term :)

best,
Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2018

We were recommended the Beijing Hikers and they were absolutely faultless. We met at a Starbucks on the Saturday morning and they took us by bus to the start of the route. Katie our guide was fantastic, providing information from the small village we set off from to the wall itself. We encountered hardly any other tourists and went along a very quiet part of the wall. The views are amazing and every time you turn a corner there is a new viewpoint. The hike lasted around 4-5 hours after which you are treated to lunch at one of the local village restaurants, which was absolutely delicious. We were back in Beijing by 3.30pm. Would definitely recommend to do it if and wouldn't hesitate to rebook.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank alicemiller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenOpie, Manager at Beijing Hikers, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2018

Hi alicemiller2016,

Great to hear we were a worthwhile recommendation.

Thank you for the review and I'll pass on your compliments to Katie!

best,
Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews