We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Gate!”

Meridian Gate (Wu Men)
Book In Advance
More Info
$229.00*
and up
Beijing Evening Vintage Sidecar Ride
More Info
$289.00*
and up
4-hour Beijing Vintage Sidecar Ride
Ranked #26 of 1,608 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is the Gate!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is one of the gates to the Forbidden city.
You will get an idea of the dimenions involved.
Nice place to take some photos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia_Jours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    363
    98
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“This way to the palace”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Everyone pass thru this gate to get to the forbidden city.
So you can't miss it. Still a very impressive site.
If you were to think back those many years ago when the Emperor made all his guess pass the same way.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clodruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“different”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Red color in Chinese Culture means good luck. we could see this color everythere, the big door, the house and clothers,etc. Yes, that's a colorful culture.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blanchen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worthwhile trip”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to have a experienced guide, highly recommended to visit this site, i will be looking to return on a future trip

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
“magnificent”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

very good, it's much pretty and give me a strong power of energy. But I don't know what's the meaning of the huge enterance ? i forgot to ask my guide, although our cultural are similar with this country.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meridian Gate (Wu Men)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing