We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel if you stay in a room in the main building”
Review of Poly Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Poly Plaza Hotel
Ranked #814 of 6,563 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent the 1st night in a room in the annex building which were very basic and had no wifi.
On the return leg we stayed in a room in the main building - a world of difference.
The room was more expensive but was more like a "proper" hotel room. If not travelling on a budget then I recommend you pay the extra. The hotel is located above an underground station so you can get to all the tourist sites very easily - Tiannamen Square, Olympic site etc.
Sanitun for the bars and shopping is a 15 minute walk or 20rmb taxi ride away.
Free WiFi in the lobby.

Room Tip: - Book a room in the main building - the rooms in the annex building are very sparse. - With being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarroYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 184 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Rooms are small and very dirty. Stinky carpet. Sheets are damp. Towels are damp and stained. It was so bad that I couldn't use their towels and had to use whatever kleenex and paper towels I had packed with me.

4-star (ie, expensive) room rate but 0.5-star rooms.

Breakfast was actually decent.

We used their conference facilities which are ok. The set up is very Chinese. Plastic flowers for decor and each person got a thermos for hot tea. The annoying thing is in the middle of the meeting, the servers will interfere every few minutes to refill your tea.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Poly Plaza for five nights whilst giving a couple of concerts at the venue next door.

Service was consistently good and my room was comfortable.
Breakfast was a great spread with lots of choice.

My overall impression was that this hotel met the standard rather than exceeded it, but the location and the breakfast made it a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thejesmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for a few hours before our flight out of china. For the purpose of going to sleep for a few hours this place was fine. we were able to catch the airport express and save our selves taxi costs as the hotel is above the underground subway. The rooms were nice and this is the only hotel we stayed at in china where the bed was soft. Check in was quick and simple and our wake up call was done on time. Staff were sent to help with the luggage when asked and were quite polite.

The only downside is the staff don't really speak good English and they can be difficult to communicate with. Also there is not much to do in the immediate area or any food places nearby where you can grab a bite.

for a short stay this place was fine

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queen_Of_Hearts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a very average hotel in a decent location. I would not stay here again as there are many to choose from in the area that are nicer. The breakfast did not have many "American" choices as we were told. Staff was very friendly and nice. Beds were extrememly hard...ask for foam pads to be added. They did help a bit. The rooms were clean just very out dated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjoy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the poly hotel and were more than disappointed! Where do I start? The staff is uncoordinated, inexperienced and unfriendly! When we first checked in we received the worst rooms ever with broken and worn down furniture on a smoking floor without even asking us whether we are smokers or not! After changing rooms for 3 times we received a decent room on a non smoking foor. The staff is not only incompetent but also unwilling to help e.g. When we order Tee to the room they tell you that you already have tea in the room or when you want to borrow an umbrella they expect you to give a deposit and since we didn't have any yuan they were unwilling to lend us an umbrella even though it was pouring outside! Also the floors are constantly loud and the cleaning staff does not pay any attention to not waking guests up at 7.30 - 8 in the morning! The food is horrible so we went to the swisshotel next door to have breakfast and dinner and found out that the Swiss hotel (5 star) costs the same as the 4 star poly. Next time we will definitely not stay at the poly hotel. It's the worst hotel experience I ever had and I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recent stayed at the Poly Plaza for 4 nights. It was a hotel that was just perfect for our needs. There were 5 of us including 2 children. The hotel is centrally located with lots of restaurants, etc., within a couple of blocks. We even found out that Pizza Hut delivers, since we ordered a hot pizza on a freezing cold night and we didn't want to go out. By the way the pizza was excellent. The hotel has a dollar change machine in the lobby and it is available 24 hours, making it very convenient. Our bed was the typical hard Chinese bed, but they brought us a nice foam pad and placed it on the bed, all you have to do is ask. The breaksfast is wonderful. Any breakfast food you could want. Even the kids found a lot to enjoy. The hotel is decorated in dark wood ,giving it sort of an old fashioned appearance, but our room was clean and neat, and the bathroom and linens were clean and fresh. We only received one English language TV station (CNN). The western style restaurant was kind of pricey, so we didn't eat there during our stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was very quiet, and we heard no noise what so ever. We liked the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David1975AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Oriental Garden Hotel
Oriental Garden Hotel
#213 of 6,563 in Beijing
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#122 of 6,563 in Beijing
244 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,959 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poly Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poly Plaza Hotel

Address: No.14 Dongzhimen South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#422 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $90 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poly Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Poly Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poly Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing