We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Art Deco bar with something for everyone!”
Review of Modernista

Modernista
Ranked #277 of 13,175 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Spanish
Description: Modernista is an European style bar & café located in the centre of old Beijing. We offer live music showcasing the best local jazz bands, swing dance, DJs, stand-up comedy, cabaret, live drawing, Chinese Mahjong game, movies, exhibitions & book crossing. We offer also a wide range of imported alcohol & delicious Spanish tapas. Close to Houhai Lake and the Drum & Bell Towers, is a very touristic spot!
Restaurant details
Description: Modernista is an European style bar & café located in the centre of old Beijing. We offer live music showcasing the best local jazz bands, swing dance, DJs, stand-up comedy, cabaret, live drawing, Chinese Mahjong game, movies, exhibitions & book crossing. We offer also a wide range of imported alcohol & delicious Spanish tapas. Close to Houhai Lake and the Drum & Bell Towers, is a very touristic spot!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent sometime in Beijing before finding this hidden treasure and everytime I have friends or family visiting I always bring them here. This hutong bar is a welcoming and warm place that really has something for everyone! Wether your´re looking for live music, wild weekend parties, evening drawing sessions, salsa dance evening's or just a chill Jazz night this is the place to go.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FannyH195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 38 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

Art Deco style hutong bar and cafe, great French style set menu of high quality dishes. Really good cocktails too. Would certainly return.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank C3895XVmarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Visited Modernista for a drink, a hidden Art Deco gem in Beijing! The building is very well preserved and choc full of Art Deco style, fittings and furniture. A well stocked bar with plenty of drinks and tapas on offer you won’t be disappointed. My only remark is for Beijing the prices are up there a little but style costs sometimes.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank -Guzzis-are-ace-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

You may think this is a standard-boring bar in the hutongs of Gulou, BUT when you go upstairs and pass through the doors of the old cupboard on the corner (Not even kidding) you will find one of the best bars in Beijing, amazing jazzy music and the whole 30's feel.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

Good live music, expensive alcohol but good stuff. The place is full of tourists and a bit of locals. Good enviroment and atmosphere
. I think that its a special place to be in if you are into the night scene

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank טליה ל
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modernista also viewed

 
Beijing, China
Beijing, China
 

Been to Modernista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing