We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super yummy food in a great modernized hutong of Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Veggie table

The Veggie table
No.19A Wudaoying Hutong, Dongcheng District | near the YongHeGong Lama Temple, Beijing, China (Formerly 闲散光音咖啡馆) (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-64462073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 9,757 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Super yummy food in a great modernized hutong of Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This vegetarian restaurant is located in one of the few modernized hutongs of Beijing, very close to the Lama Temple.
The food is purely vegetarian, but not boring in any way at all.
One can choose from a variety of veggie burgers and pastas, as well as falafel, pizza, homemade fries and even toasted PB and J for the kids.
Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious and more than enough to fill us up.
I have been a vegetarian for many years and as such a bit picky about vegetarian foods and restaurants, but I can guarantee anyone that this one is absolutely top notch.
Very cozy atmosphere and totally suitable for families with younger kids.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tinymoonbeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
142 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great vegan restaurant with poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The food was good and fresh. The flavors could have had a bit more kick to them, i.e. the hummus was good but very mild, it was lacking a bit of garlic and tahini kick.Same with the falafel...The chocolate smoothie is great and the sweet potato fries are delicious, the burgers are big and yummy! The mezze appetizer was served with bread, which is ok for tapenade but for hummus?! They should serve half bread/half pita. The mayo is free but you have to pay extra for ketchup, which I think is crazy when you get a burger and fries...
The service was AWFUL!!! It took 45 minutes for the falafel to come! Exactly 40 minutes after the first dish came. People sat down after us and got their food before we did! There were no cold drinks, though they said they came from the fridge (I guess it wasn't plugged in). the waitresses were a bit clueless, strangely eager to remove plates with a loud "EXCUSE ME!" but not so eager to actually bring what we ordered...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great place whether you're vegetarian or not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I like the Veggie Table a lot. It's a relaxed vibe, a good mix of local and ex-pats (on my last visit, it was full, and I heard Mandarin, English, Spanish and German just on the tables around me).

Don't worry if you're not a vegetarian, there is plenty to eat here. Personally I like the southwestern burger, with fries. Yeah, it's not meat, but it feels and tastes like a burger and frankly - given the quality of a lot of meat in China - I feel a bit better eating this. It certainly doesn't feel like some weirdo tofu concoction.

I live nearby so I come quite a bit, and whatever wobbles they had a year or two back with service times they seem to have fixed. It's popular, and for good reason.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingashtangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite food in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Veggie Table has my favorite food - of course it's not traditional Chinese, but as a resident of Beijing, I often feel like I'm banging my head into a wall trying to find vegetarian AND organic (and God forbid vegan) options that aren't heavy on the texturized soy products. I can eat a meal without worrying where the food has come from. I've even seen the organic farm delivery sitting on the front porch and talked with the owner about their sources. Wonderful vibe, really sweet staff, and very very consistent tastes. Highly recommended for those who don't want to worry about oily, MSG-y, chemically sprayed with-bits-of-meat-in-it food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkfloyri68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great cafe next to lama temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Great cafe in a hIdden hutong next to lama temple. Its an organic cafe that only services veggies. Dont worry u meat lovers will love their mashroom burger and falafel sandwitch.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aziz_hamdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Veggie table also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to The Veggie table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing