We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eatalia Carpe Diem

Eatalia Carpe Diem
No.18 Xilou Alley | Di‘anmen Intersection South West Corner, Beijing, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)
010-64013263
Website
Name/address in local language
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 10,596 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Description: About 18 months after successfully opening Eatalia La Dolce Vita, we gave birth to Eatalai Carpe Diem, a beautiful hidden gem located in the historic center of Beijing, adjacent to Houhai, Beihai Park and Jinshan Park. At Eatalia Carpe Diem, we have interlaced Chinese traditional architecture (hutong) with an Italian contemporary design while delivering Italian authentic food with the same passion. The restaurant has a wonderfu interior patio, a glass house on the second floor and an intimate rooftop. This magical venue is surrrounded by nut trees and pagodas in an environment full of culture and history.
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Everything delicious and the service is nice, good prices. It's in the city center near the forbidden city. The atmosphere is good. The best tiramisu ever eaten.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Radostin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    22
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better Pizza than my mum's one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I'm from Italy and I was completely astonished by this restaurant. The Pizza is very very good, better than a lot of Italian ones and, ok I have to say it hoping that my mum will never read it, even better than my mum's one! Moreover there are a lot of other delicious typical (but not trivial) dishes (the ravioli are fantastic and the dessert as well). Appreciated also the wine list, the perfect service (it may be better to say the hospitality!) and the very original cocktails. You feel like home - an Italian one, of course. Prices more than fair. The location is cool too, on the dragon line, between Jingshan Park and Beihai Park, with a worth seeing terrace over the hutongs. Top.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real Italian hospitality in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

On our most recent trip to Beijing (we live in China for more than a year already) we were looking for an Italian place for a relaxing night with visitors from abroad. From experience I know its not always easy to find a good Italian in China, but this one has it all... Great service, amazing food, affordable prices, much appreciated little extra's, great decorations and do not forget about the rooftop for the summer nights! Just love this place and will return soon on my next trip to Beijing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good Atmo. and very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

In Beijing you can not expect so called the service but here you can. Very efficiant and talkative.
Funtastic!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Excellent213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
“we loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I'm Italian, I'm very picky and I don’t have too high expectations, but the dishes were excellent, cooked masterfully. I personally love the "gnocchi Trentino", delicate and tasty, great.
Warm welcome and hospitality, personalized and lovable service that made me feel at home (not in Italy, but really at home). And the place is beautiful, a small courtyard decorated with elegance and taste, we ate in a glazed veranda overlooking the rooftops of the hutongs, very romantic ... we will definitely be back soon, because we loved it, and to try the pizza too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank antomo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eatalia Carpe Diem also viewed

Beijing, China
Beijing, China
 

Been to Eatalia Carpe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing