We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern and minimalist hotel with a colourful and trendy vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tangram Hotel Xinyuanli Beijing
Ranked #137 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A modern and minimalist hotel with a colourful and trendy vibe”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

One of the best hotels I stayed during my 20 day business trip to 7 cities in China. It’s a very modern and minimalist hotel well situated in central Beijing. Very clean, with spacious rooms and strong wifi everywhere. Nice design and a colourful vibe. The lobby area is large and comfortable and the restaurant is nicely decorated and with good food.
For breakfast one could choose from all the Chinese traditional breakfast choices as well as the possibility to have a decent continental breakfast (although some had to be paid extra). The lunch and dinner menu also had continental and Chinese food. We tried both and I would recommend eating at the restaurant without hesitation.
The staff were fairly polite (apart from one receptionist who was downright rude). Unfortunately there was a huge language barrier (as is the case for the whole of the country) as hardly anyone spoke any English. Having to ask for extra hangers for my wardrobe resulted in having to draw them on a piece of paper. Also the bar staff only spoke Chinese so ordering drinks was quite tricky!!
On the downside, I would have liked there to be a bathrobe in the bathroom and the majority of the staff to be a little more helpful.
However, I recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
21
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I used this hotel at the end of my tour. I chose the hotel solely on price. Plus it looked unique. Probably the best hotel I've stayed in, while in China. A very unique design from the outside to the rooms. The staff are very pleasant but only a few speak English. The lobby is very smart and clean and well labeled. The rooms have incredible comfortable beds. Great in size plenty of cloths space plus an awesome shower. Very modern & unique. Also it has tea and coffee making faculties however no fridge or safe in the room. There's a desk which has a central hub for all your gadgets plus an iPhone docking station. A large TV and red chair. I was very impressed with my room 517. A very uniquely designed hotel very nice staff. Also has a Greens Deli restaurant too. Quite a variety of different foods and snacks plus a nice lobby bar too.

Only a 15min walk to bar street plus a lot of restaurants nearby. A very central location and if you like walking Lama Temple about 45mins walk away.

A beautiful and fun hotel.
I definately will be back.

Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Similar to the Aloft hotels in the design of room, bed, desk, lamps, shower, etc. It was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. I liked the location as it was quick walk to the street unlike other Beijing hotels where it can take 5 minutes just to get out to the street. It was within 5 minute walk to one of my favorite restaurants: Din Tai Feng.

Would give it 4 stars if not for the fact that I could hear the guy in the room next to me coughing, flushing of toilet, TV, etc. I am a deep sleeper so it didn't interrupt sleep but it was unsettling.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel is perfect for business, as well as for leisure. The entire hotel has a great modern vibe to it, and the room we were given was clean, had three beds for three people, and a clean bathroom. I travelled with a group of students visiting Beijing, so we all had roommates who we had to share the room with. There was a lot of space for three people in our room, and the only bad thing I have to say about the rooms is the walls are too thin. I was kept up until 1 am because my neighbour was so loud and the walls did a poor job of keeping the sound out.

Breakfast is also great, lots of variety for a filling meal. WiFi is also free and quite speedy. Overall, a great experience, and would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TouristatHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Perfect location, 10 minutes walk from Sanlitun bars, 3 minutes from best duck restaurant in town, clean, simple, modern. Nice rooms, great matrasses and soft sheets, big screen, free wifi and VERY reasonable prices. What else can anyone want ? Oh... maybe a spa ? or a 24/24 concierge ? room service ? If that's you're after, go elswhere and pay double. Or more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

1. The only thing I like about this place is that the housekeeping staff are pretty good but thats just it.
2. You can catch the bus to Sanlitun and back (only 3 stations) - Bus 110,120 and 623


What everyone fail to mention is how thin those walls are (except Beverly916), I can hear the floor below us placing coins on the desk, someone clearing his throat (perks!), etc etc... the list goes on
In reality Chinese do speak really loud, so you can imagine at 12 midnight when you are dozing off, all that you can hear is some guy's entire conversation shouting into the phone.
Though the local food is not bad and well priced, most plates are chipped and the soup bowl has stain around it.
There is a coffee machine but you can never get them to make you fresh coffee or espresso in the morning. (it's ok if customer has to pay for it, just inform them the price).
Breakfast is bare minimal but sufficient though I wish with it's bare minimal spread at least the quality should be there but, no chance there was well. The fruit always appears as if it as been left overnight and not all slots work for the toaster.
The butter is an entire bowl where you scoop from (yes, very canteen/tuckshop style).
Lastly, ladies, do bring your own shower amenities. Shampoo/ conditioner and all unless you want to use the same gel for hair/body which they provide in a squeeze bottle.
will I stay there again? Very unlikely.

Room Tip: some rooms faces an office building where everyone can look into your room. So ask for one that does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan Mitch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Brought a group from Shanghai to stay here for the weekend. Staff were helpful and accommodating and rooms were comfortable. Would definitely bring more of my clients here. The free wifi makes this place productive and relaxing. It's also just around the corner from Sanlitun so it's very convenient for taking meetings, enjoying a nice dinner or going out and exploring Beijing's nightlife scene.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Jiuxianqiao
Tangram Hotel Yanxiang Beijing
Tangram Hotel Yanxiang Beijing
#846 of 6,462 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#95 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Yuyang Hotel
Yuyang Hotel
#404 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Royal Phoenix Beijing
Royal Phoenix Beijing
#1,527 of 6,462 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangram Hotel Xinyuanli Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangram Hotel Xinyuanli Beijing

Property: Tangram Hotel Xinyuanli Beijing
Address: Building20 West of Xinyuanli, Chaoyang District, Beijing, China (Formerly Tangram Hotel Beijing Xinyuanli)
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tangram Hotel Xinyuanli Beijing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tangram Hotel Xinyuanli Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing