We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”
Review of East Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
East Beijing
Ranked #15 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Not central but good location for me as I needed to be reasonably close to the airport but also in the city. New and stylish with very helpful and friendly Englsih-speaking staff (some still learning the ropes but thats OK). I got an upgrade to a corner room at check-in. You get taken to your room so they can show you how to work all the gadgets (light controls, hidden electric socket locations, extendable TV support arm, internet/AV cables, automatic blinds, minibar, aircon etc.). Corner room is large with nice decor and massive bathroom containing huge tub, walk-in shower, toilet, sink and nice Elemis toiletries. Storage cupboard in the hallway with safe, iron/ironing board, clothes hanging space and robes/slippers. Large, clean and comfortable bed, with bedside light control panel for the room lights (including mood lighting) which also controls the blinds for the floor-to-ceiling windows. Lots of electric sockets - you don't need to bring your electric adaptor as there are a variety of different socket types to choose from and there are also USB ports to directly charge your devices (so clever!). Minibar has free water and also nice ground coffee/cafetiere for your use (although no milk/creamer). There is also a desk with desklamp with more sockets/USB ports to use. The room also contains a very good sounding iPod dock (Phillips I think) complete with the latest iPod Touch (not fixed so you can take it off the dock and walk around with it) containing a nice selection of jazz and soul music. Wifi is free throughout the hotel so you can use the IPod Touch to search the internet if you need to. View from my Corner room was towards Indigo shopping mall and out of Beijing to the east (not such a great view). Overall, very clean, modern, nice extra touches, comfortable, quiet, reasobaly priced, good service, highly recommended. I didn't have breakfast as I left early so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    125
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
40
25
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere On The Road Between Sydney And Europe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Adjacent to a newly opened and as yet sparsely occupied shopping mall with a range of restaurants and 7 screen cineplex, on the eastern side of Beijing this new hotel is part of the Swire Group's expanding chain. We spent a weekend there after staying for 2 nights at the more central Grand Millennium, in order to visit the nearby 798 Art District and the Great Wall. East is modern, edgy, slightly scandinavian cool feel, with lots of young helpful and enthusiastic staff dressed more like Steve Jobs than your typical cross keyed concierge. We had a very comfortable and spacious corner suite, almost as large as an apartment, full of modern touches and hi-techery, not all of which we could get to work, even had a supply of HDMI cables to plug in the ipad, a room directory and music collection on an ipod which could be blue-toothed to the portable Bose speakers and automatic lighting which came on as you entered the room but which occasionally went off equally automatically leaving us in darkness. Unfortunately though they didn't seem to have any videos for the DVD player but it did have a great open bathroom with large tub, separate shower and WC and twin basins, separated by a glass screen from the living/sleeping area. Bed was large and v comfortable and automatic blinds ensured we had a good nights sleep.

We had breakfast in the casual dining 'Feast' restaurant and also ate there one evening when it was too wet to venture further afield. The food at both meals was good in terms of quality, value and selection, with helpful friendly staff. Snacks in the Xian bar with its complementary cocktails and live band were also excellent and good value, particularly the small pizzas.

Although the pool wasn't yet open it wasn't anything we missed on a snowy weekend. However the casual lounge/cafe/workspace on level 2 with collection of quirky books, magazines was a pleasant relaxed gathering place but perhaps a little bland

The main draw back of this hotel is the peripheral location and its newness means it can be hard to get a taxi. Although it bills itself as being very convenient for the airport, the concierge told us it would be difficult to get a cab and said that it wasn't possible to pre-arrange one. He conceded that the hotel car to the airport 20mins away was ridiculously expensive at 10 times the taxi fare. As a business hotel the ability to be able to get a cab reasonably readily would seem to be an essential pre-requisite as nothing is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The best part of this hotel (for international travelers) is the way the staff almost always speaks very good English, often better than even in the fanciest 5-star hotels in town.
I was also impressed with the food quality, the best example being the pizzas and Asian snacks served in the very nice bar/lounge called Xian, which also features a very good quality jazz band from Spain.
The room is interestingly minimalist but a little too cold/boring for my taste - yet very functional which is probably what matters most.
The biggest problem with this hotel lies with its location outside of the center of town - a long traffic-jammed ride to most places in town, whether touristic or business-related.

Room Tip: The West-facing rooms would probably be quieter until they finish the park which will be facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpheitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my young son. Our room was very comfortable, and was equipped with multi-plug chargers, flat screen TV, ipod dock and good WIFI connection. The bathroom was very spacious and my son loved the rain shower. During our stay, we went down to use the pool and jacuzzi, and I did find the pool a little cold but perhaps that's just a matter of preference. I had to pay $34 for breakfast as my room rate did not include it, and I did think this was a little steep for what was on offer and the quality was just ok. The only complaint that I have is that I could hear my neighbours, I'm not sure whether that is because the room was not adequately soundproofed or that I had particularly noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chowfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Officially open only two weeks EAST impresses with willing service and clean contemporary design. More a general business hotel than it's sophisticated Sanlitun brother (The Opposite House) EAST none-the-less manages to give off a trendy vibe with the mutli-den XIAN Bar and wooden lattice business centre and open cafe DOMAIN. The food is OK but needs to settle in, and restaurant choices are limited: the rather cramped HAKAGI Japanese or the large cafeteria FEAST. Neither serves anything to write home about but provide competent fayre for the weary traveler. Our room was a lovely private space (if you accept the posterised photo Art) all wood and white panels, with a well-lit, spacious, Beijing-grey-stone bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. The nice extra touches were the pullout, multi-plug charger drawers by both bed and table a decent iPod speaker that filled the room with sound so well I worried about the neighbours; and there was in-room WiFi that actually works.

As with The Opposite House: it is about design and service first, whilst maintaining an acceptable minimum standard for everything else. That is not a bad place to start. We shall see where they go from here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger than average and have a little more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaSpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

East hotel is a uniqe modern hotel. Its soo trendy and neat. Has a modern japanese resturant, a very modern international resturant and an awesome jazz bar with lightest pizza in town. The staff r supper helpful and friendly. The hotel is attached to a big mall with intional brands and a movie cinema.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aziz_hamdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,462 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,462 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Beijing

Property: East Beijing
Address: No.22 Jiuxianqiao Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016, China
Location: China > Beijing > Jiuxianqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EAST, Beijing is a business hotel with a life. Located in INDIGO in the Jiangtai area and very close to Wangjing Business Park; Beijing Capital International Airport and the Central Business District are just 15 minutes away. With 2 restaurants, a bold new bar, pool and gym facilities, 17 hectares of landscaped parkland and the 798 Art Zone on its doorstep, EAST, Beijing lets you balance your work and your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your East Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing