We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A vegetarian restaurant, but we still enjoyed it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King's Joy Beijing

King's Joy Beijing
Ranked #4 of 12,627 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $73
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A vegetarian restaurant, but we still enjoyed it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The restaurant is on a recently rebuilt Hutong street. All along the road are bars, cafes and trendy shops. This restaurant even has its own car park.
This is a very upmarket and trendy restaurant. It was also the most expensive place we ate in Beijing - RMB 320 each. However it was worth it. The most incredible and delicate Chinese dishes (mainly from Yunnan province.) The staff have fairly limited English but the menu has translations for most items. The menu is also only on an iPad, so you’ll need to know how to swipe go back etc (told you it was trendy.) Unfortunately the menu navigation is all in Chinese (I couldn’t find any way to choose English), so we just scrolled through everything and ordered way too much – 5 mains. They told us they thought we’d ordered too much so I cancelled a couple of dishes and we made do with 1 starter and 3 mains.
Despite being vegetarian the food was amazing and with some of the dishes you really wouldn’t know you weren’t eating meat. The table setting, the presentation and general ambience was fantastic. I’m sure they could pack more tables into their space, but they haven’t – each table has private space and you won’t overhear or be overheard. They also have water sprays out in the courtyard that make the area feel much cooler. Indoors I think it was probably air conditioned – certainly we were very comfortable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrVon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    29
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Extraordinary - Just Happens to be Vegetarian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were taken to lunch at Lohas Veg Fooding by a recently converted vegetarian friend. Although she gave the restaurant high marks, we weren't sure what to expect with vegetarian Chinese cuisine.

What we found was an extraordinary restaurant that just happens to serve vegetarian fare. Everything about Lohas was impressive. The restaurant is located in a set of converted Hutong buildings. It is quietly elegant and very comfortable - with great natural light, good spacing between tables, and warm, natural tones throughout.

The menu was extensive, and, to us, rather unfamiliar. Our friend ordered for the table and we were not disappointed. Every item served was beautifully presented, obviously prepared from high quality ingredients, and delicious. Emphasis on delicious. We were simply amazed by the flavors, textures, and mouth feel of food prepared in an all-veg kitchen.

Service quality was also wonderful. The staff was warm, friendly, and efficient. They were never intrusive, but always seemed to be at hand when we had a question or request. At the end of our meal, we were escorted to the parking lot by one of our servers.

Overall, Lohas was a wonderful dining experience. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SBP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exquisite food and fantastic service & setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This restaurant recently received Time Out Beijing's Best New Restaurant for 2013 so we went for a set menu at lunch on a weekend, followed by a visit to the Lama Temple. The restaurant is located at the entrance of a hutong about 150m down from the entrance of the temple.

The restaurant itself is beautiful, in a wonderfully restored siheyuan, the traditional courtyard complex. The interior is a great mix of east and west and is very spacious and light filled. The service was attentive and professional.

We chose to have the set menu for RMB499 pp. There are many set menus to choose from for RMB199, RMB299, RMB499, RMB799 and RMB999. There are two versions of the set menu at each price point, a standard set and another which is more strictly "vegetarian" in the traditional sense which means the flavours are more clean and pure and therefore excludes stronger tasting flavours (spices, soy sauce) and ingredients (herbs, garlic, etc). We were recommended the RMB499 standard set menu as it was a good balance between tasting the restaurant's specialty dishes, but also not having too many courses. This set menu included 6 courses plus entree, soup, and dessert. It was very filling.

The food was simply exquisite and exceeded all our expectations. We are not vegetarians but enjoy vegetarian dishes. In everyday life though, it is often hard to find great tasting vegetarian food which leaves your tastebuds and hunger satisfied. Not so here. The dishes hit all the right notes - they were delicious, lovingly made and the textures were clever and varied - the mushrooms, tofu and lotus balls often had the texture and feel of meat but fresher tasting. Standout dishes for us were the fried tofu balls dipped in homemade chilli sauce and mushrooms cooked sanbei (three cup) style. The set menu also features matsutake with melons. Given that the RMB499 set menu does include matsutake, I think it is actually good value for money.

This is a relatively new restaurant but I hope it will receive more reviews on Tripadvisor as it really is a fantastic restaurant. I will definitely be taking visitors to Beijing here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahlee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Vegetarian dining at it's absolute best. This must be the pinnacle of vegetarian restaurants in Beijing if not China. Dining all over we have never come across somewhere quite so elegant with food so imaginative and delicious. The drinks, dumplings and vegetarian creations were really impressive and very reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Amazing vegetarian banquet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were hosted for dinner here by a business contact and enjoyed the most amazing vegetarian banquet that I could imagine. The building is beautiful, designed around a lovely courtyard, with floor to ceiling windows and creative use of wood and stone. Service is impeccable and incredibly professional. Every course and drink that we were served came with its own special dish or glass, with immaculate and beautiful presentation. We enjoyed so many new tastes over the course of the evening, that it would be impossible to list them all. We enjoyed a warming pumpkin and chestnut drink on arrival, followed by warm hawthorn juice. Although we drank beautiful red wines with our meal, we were also served with exquisite green tea - from the newest leaves - served in tiny glass teapots. Each course was a stunning combination of colour, taste and texture, from lotus seed salad, to clear bamboo root soup, to mushrooms cooked in a clay pot, to jewel like diamonds of vegetables. A truly exceptional meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Joy Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing