We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”
Review of La Taverne

La Taverne
Ranked #14 of 78 Dessert in Beijing
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Paradox French Restaurant an Wine Bar is the rebranded La Taverne, that we all love and cherish for a great execution of traditional French cuisine, with the new touch of Paradox we widen our selection of wines up to 99 kinds from all over the world to excite your tastebuds. Paradox Beijing kept the original management and signature dishes of the previous venue it was famous for, such as, French style Roasted Chicken a la Rôtisserie that was executed in its best way since 2007 by leaders of the restaurant team. Expect to find forever classics of French gastronomy such as Beef Bourguignon that melts in your mouth, Terrine de Foie Gras, Cold Cuts platter that are to die for and can be found on our A la Carte menu. However we don’t stop there, our Black Board specialities are here to offer you a taste of France in every bite, Slow cooked stew and dishes that are served on every table in France are keeping our Chef busy to offer you the most authentic culinary journey.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant took back its previous name.

Still French style cuisine. Taste is ok.

But price are now far too high for such quality. 570 RMB for two starters and two main dishes is not at all a fair price,

No reason to come back. For same price it is easy to find better restaurant with better service not far from that one.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank lionels631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Recently we woke up one morning to find the cosy french bistro Paradox changing name and menues. Initially worried that this might mean loosing one of our favourite western food joints in Beijing we were a bit apprehensive. Luckily our fears have been proven wrong. La Taverne as the place is called now is equal to its predecessor on all accounts. The red brick walls, checkered table cloths and easy listening chansons in the background gives the place a distict French feel. The menue and food on offer is totally unpretentious, just down to earth well prepared food steeped in french tradition.
Cassoulet, succulent lamb chops, roast shoulder of pork rolled up with herbs crispy on the outside and moist inside, duck confit, and a decent entrecote, all served with tender vegetables, and fries or mashed potatoes are all winners.
You can top off your meal with a great Creme Brulee or a decadent Chocolate fondant for dessert, and La Taverne definately delivers one of the best espressos in Beijing.
Add a nice wine list, friendly, helpful waiters and really decent prices, you can do far worse than cover your occasional craving for western food in this hidden gem in Workers Stadium West Road.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank PolarBearOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

Great service from my phone call to enquire about menu to being received by the staffs. The menu is easy with French language (no less!) but Ms Shen made it easy and very welcoming to us. We enjoyed our lunch dining experience so much that I'm quickly reviewing this experience right now outside the restaurant so as not to forget! The foods were high quality, and I particularly enjoyed the beef bourguignon. My husband and son ordered escargots, beef carpaccio, deep sea bass slightly pan fried with lemon sauce and herbs and duck breast in green peppercorn sauce. We finished it up with chocolate crepes and Mille feuille. I had my coffee which was rich and satisfying. One more thing - we really love the fresh breads offered. So fresh and well baked (crunchy and soft).

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank blujas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

I was traveling in Beijing last week with my girl friend. We wanted to have a nice "French food break" for our last night in town but we never managed to find the place.
We were making circles in the neighbourhood for 1 hour and called 10 times the restaurant - while my girlfriend can speak mandarin and perfect English, it was not the case of the so called "manager" of the place who could not provide us any helpful directions. Even worst, we asked him to come and pick us up at the place where we were but he strictly refused and pretended that the restaurant was only "20 meters away".
I believe that a restaurant cannot only be judged for its food but also for its hospitality, customer service and overall sympathy given to its guests. None of these values were shown to us.
Last but not least, if you pretend to be a French restaurant and you have no French manager physically there, then you should not called yourself French.
Bref, minable.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank yyzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017

The place is ideally located in Beijing, in front of the French Alliance. We ordered from the blackboard the daily market, and had a three courses meal. Very traditionnal French cuisine, and tasty! The service could have been a bit better though

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank xiabin3369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing