We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb tour of Yunnan province!”
Review of WildChina Travel

WildChina Travel
Ranked #65 of 491 Tours in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chosen as National Geographic's BEST Travel Company on Earth for China & Tibet, WildChina is a trendsetting travel company based in Beijing. WildChina caters to the curious traveler, offering socially responsible travel and off-the-beaten path adventures in China and beyond.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Our group of four booked a ten day tour of Yunnan province through WildChina (stops in Dali, Lijiang and Shangri La). All travel arrangements went smoothly. Our accommodations in boutique hotels gave us a sense of living in the community rather than in a sterile large hotel environment. The three hotels (Sky Valley Heritage in Dali, Bivou in Lijiang, and Songstam in Shangri La) were elegant, comfortable, and welcoming. Best of all were our guide Shelly and our driver Joe. They quickly understood our interest in Yunnan's ethnic diversity and shaped our itinerary to match our interests. I suspect that they would help tailor different but equally satisfying itineraries for tourists with different interests. Shelly is a smart, warm, curious, well-informed, attentive and funny woman. She has developed personal friendships and contacts with impressive people from different ethnic groups who were gracious enough to welcome us into their homes. These informal interactions gave us a real flavor of life in Yunnan and its spectacular ethnic diversity. Joe, our driver, also invited us to meet with his family and his uncle, an authority on Naxi pictographs and culture. Although we focused on learning about ethnic minorities, we also had a chance to wander local markets, bicycle alongside rice paddies, hike the Leaping Tiger Gorge, and walk through small villages. Whether your interest is in outdoor activities, learning about religion or culture, or enjoying great local food, we strongly recommend booking with WildChina and traveling with Shelly and Joe - it was a once in a lifetime experience for us!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Nancy6920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Dear Nancy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Yunnan is the founder of WildChina Mei Zhang's hometown where the first WildChina trip took place back in the year 2000. We’ve never stopped uncovering interesting and authentic local experiences in Yunnan over the course of the past 17 years. Ever since our humble beginnings, we've aspired to help our clients Experience China Differently.

We’re looking forward to providing these sorts of experiences for you and your friends in the future.

All the best,

Bao Xun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild china"
in 64 reviews
"rice terraces"
in 5 reviews
"yulong river"
in 4 reviews
"trip coordinator"
in 3 reviews
"planning phase"
in 3 reviews
"ethnic minorities"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 12 reviews
"silk road tour"
in 2 reviews
"travel planning"
in 2 reviews
"karst mountains"
in 2 reviews
"beijing office"
in 2 reviews
"aman summer palace"
in 2 reviews
"bike ride"
in 4 reviews
"endless questions"
in 3 reviews
"tai chi lesson"
in 3 reviews
"experienced travelers"
in 2 reviews
"private tour"
in 11 reviews
Filter

56 - 60 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2017

In my work I have travelled over a million miles to visit both monumental and little known but amazing architectural and cultural sites around the globe. In China, I have relied solely on Wild China not only to get me there and back safely from even the most exotic and remote locations, but also to help me experience the local cultures and people in the most sensitive and revealing of ways. More than just the places and sites, it’s the people, their history and ways of living that define what of makes great places in the world, treasured.

One of the great admirations I hold for Wild China is not only for its ability to help foreigners “see China in a different way”, but the way it has built up the local tourism infrastructure throughout China as part of its business program. This was obvious from the very first trip I took with Wild China in 2004. The use of local young tour experts based not only in Beijing, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Guangzhou, but throughout even remote areas of the country (as in Shanxi and Yunnan provinces, and the Tibet Autonomous Region) is impressive as it is moving.

Many foreign tour companies bring in foreigners for their tour guides to “explain” China and they leave little permanent benefit to the areas they visit. With Wild China, they have developed deep contacts into the best ways to experience this big and diverse country. They have built a local infrastructure of Chinese tour experts and citizens who can show their own heritage in its most authentic form. I've always liked that.

I have recommended Wild China to international colleague organizations traveling in China with private planes, to families wanting a unique trekking experience in unchartered wilderness. In all cases, Wild China never fails to deliver, and it’s a company that always finds a way to give you an unforgettable, -- if not totally unexpected -- life trip.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank GlobalArchitrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Dear GlobalArchitrekker,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing feedback, your review brought much sunshine to the WildChina Office. It has been our pleasure to work with you and we are delighted to have helped you experience our beautiful country differently.

Responsible and sustainable tourism will always be at the core of what we do and we pride ourselves in employing the very best local guides.
Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to helping others explore our country in “WildChina style”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017

This is my second time traveling with Wild China - a year and a half ago I booked a 2 week trip with them to Xi'an, Beijing, Guilin, Ping' an, and Jiangjiajie. Outstanding then, outstanding now. This time we went to Angkor Wat in Cambodia first, then up to the Yunnan province where we toured Lijiang, Tiger Leaping Gorge, Shangri-la and then flew out of Beijing after a quick day trip to the Great Wall. Loved all of it, our guides, the trip, the food, the hotels. Every place had its own amazing quality. Our only complaint was that we didn't spend alot of time in each location, but that was our own doing, not Wild China's. Our hike up and into Tiger Leaping Gorge, and our stay at the Tea Horse Guesthouse was outstanding, tho i think my travel companion thought i was trying to kill her :-) Our guide Shelly and driver Joe were both amazing there as well.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Dear Alison,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We’re so happy to receive more and more “complaints” like yours. Travelers easily fall in love with China’s vast territory, long history, incredibly beautiful landscape, delicate garden architecture, delicious food, and interesting ethnic minority culture. We're looking forward to showing you more of China in the future. There are always more interesting sights that we’re eager to share with our valued clients like yourself.

Bao Xun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

We had a wonderful trip to Beijing, thanks to Mei Zhang and her WildChina team. Poppy was very positive and responsive to our every need, and Jerry was one of the best tour agents we’ve ever had – very warm, intelligent, positive, and helpful – we really enjoyed our time with him. We also enjoyed the art tour with Wei Wei – we learned a lot and enjoyed our time in the art space at 789. And Restaurant TRB was a real treat – one of our favorite restaurants in the world today, not just Asia or China. We had a fantastic meal there, and enjoyed a great waiter – Fran from Spain. Please extend our thanks to your entire team, and our heartfelt gratitude to you for organizing a truly memorable trip to Beijing. I hope our paths cross in the Bay Area soon.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank amn214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Dear Anne,

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. It was an honor to design a Beijing trip for your wedding anniversary. We’re more than happy to know that you enjoyed the trip, the meal, the art tour and the time with our guides.

We’re looking forward to designing another memorable China trip for your next anniversary.

Warmly,

Bao Xun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2017

We had a terrific experience with WildChina. Ours was a two-week trip, with stays in Beijing, Chengdu, and Shanghai, as well as very different rural experiences in the Yunnan Province. In particular, we were interested in a specially-designed, unique travel experience, hopefully seeing and doing things that aren't on the "usual" tour/trip. WildChina exceeded expectations significantly, and were able to design something that fit our preferences and goals. In addition, we got the sense that they were dialed-in and following our progress throughout the trip, and, at one point when we were considering a real-time adjustment (due to some weather concerns), were incredibly responsive in working through alternatives. WildChina provided four different guides and drivers for the various legs of our trip, and they were all excellent (fluent English, informative, engaging, and personable). Jenny Zhao and her team at WildChina did a wonderful job, and we'd recommend them highly.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank bayareatravelers2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for spending time to write such a wonderful review for us. Our WildChina team is so happy to know that you loved your China trip and appreciated our service. Jenny also shared your feedback email with us. Your words impressed our team indeed. You made our day. We will continue to provide genuine service as always.

Thank you again and we’re looking forward to welcoming your family members and friends who may be traveling to China in the near future.

Bao Xun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WildChina Travel also viewed

 

Been to WildChina Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing