We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Astounding Experience”

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Mutianyu Great Wall Tour including Round Way Cable Car or...
Ranked #1 of 1,606 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Sao Goncalo, RJ
Level Contributor
144 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Astounding Experience”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Walking along the Great Wall of China is like making a dream come true. We can't describe the feeling of stepping the path made so many centuries ago to serve as the northern barrier defending the capital and the imperial tombs. As it is located in Huairou County, 70 km northeast of central Beijing, you can take a train to get there. It takes an hour and a half to arrive at the largest construction scale and best quality among all sections of the Great Wall. The fee is 40 Chinese Yuan, which is about US 7 to live the astounding experience of a lifetime.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucia49_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,720
    2,956
    379
    49
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What an amazing place, visited during winter, no one around it was amazing.
Need a good pair of shoes and if you are visiting during the winter dont forget your beanie and gloves, the wind is freezing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“highly recommend!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I highly recommend to visit Mutianyu and it is a MUST DO if you wish to visiting the real great wall. The weather in this time of the year is really cold but the view is AMAZING!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank born2travel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I went to China several years ago, it was a huge disappointment. Yes, architecture is nice, but people are not connected to it, it's all about business and the communist party...People are cold, the unwelcomeness just runs through your bones... I went to some beautiful gardens and temples, but I was not wowed, just because of the looks I got from the locals.
We went to the great wall too...at the end of the trip I felt nothing, people are cold and unfriendly, almost as if they are afraid to show any emotions...there are so many other places that are worths visiting, such as India, where you feel the warmth despite the fact that there are many families that live below poverty, but they respect their country, culture and religion. Also, the countries in the Middle East such as Egypt, Eremites, etc. I have never thought I would have these feelings after visiting China...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BK38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing experience at one of the wonders of the world”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went in winter so there was practically nobody on the wall, I had sections of the wall to myself. Amazing hike and view, fantastic ride down on the toboggan as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank farulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing