We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Day”

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
One Day Bus Tour: Mutianyu Great Wall Visiting With Lunch Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 1,606 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Day”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had the perfect day to visit the great wall and spent several hours walking and looking. We were on a tour with China Travel Service (NZ) and they were excellent. The weather was perfect and the views excellent. We did not climb right up to the top but some of our younger members did. It was clean and well maintained, good food and souvenirs easily available (No surprise here!). Take good walking shoes (lots of steps) and a jacket, it can get cold in the wind. It is worth going even if you have limited mobility as the views from the car park area are still amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllanOrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,754
    2,962
    379
    49
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

loved the fact that we went up by cable car and down by toboggan - how exciting.
we booked a driver and set out at 7.30 so that when we arrived there werent many people. we then spent 3 hours walking the wall. as the morning went on it became busier but not really crowded. it was hot and there wasnt much shelter so do remember suncream and a hat.

after the walk we had lunch at the school house which is nearby and I would highly recommend. returned to hotel tired but exhillarated by the experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brownyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great restored section of the wall...”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent 3 days on the Great Wall and visited different sections...this one was the busiest with tourists but not overrun, we walked from Jiankou which is not restored and has very few tourists. The views were amazing but probably our least favourite section of the wall we visited.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A dream come true!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had lunch at Mr Yang at the foot of this section of the wall - fantastic meal with amazing service! Not many tourists at the wall, which was great - opportunity to take photos with no people!!! Worth the longer ride ...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PattiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to Beijing but small crowds”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wonderful views of the Great Wall and surrounding area. You can see Beijing from the wall. You have three options to get up to the wall: hike, chair or gondola. We took the chair and it was great, fresh air and able to take some good pictures on the way up. On the wall you have two choices of directions. Right you can walk for 1km or so before hitting the end of the reconstructed section and there was less people. Left was busier but you climb higher and get better views. If you want to go at your own pace on the Great Wall I would recommend booking a private driver from Beijing (~700rmb total for three people). We could decide when we left in the morning and how long we spent on the wall. As well we didn't have to stop at and shopping spots afterwards; straight from our hotel to the Great Wall and back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scott363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing