We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing experience”

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Mutianyu Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing with Lunch
Ranked #1 of 1,604 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Sverige
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

To get to Mutianyu we had to go 1,5 h by car but we had a driver and it was find. The scenery was excellent and the cable car to get up to the wall was also a nice experience. I very very much enjoyed the trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrdotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,374
    2,907
    375
    48
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
805 reviews
543 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
“I hope this information will help”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I usually double check all information I put here, but this time I'll just tell you what the guide told us, it sounds believable.

The Great Wall is many thousands miles long, however, back in the past, Chairman Mao visited the Wall and made a famous (at least in China) comment : " "If you haven't climbed the Great Wall, you are not a real hero." Since a lot of Chinese want to be real heroes, a lot of them want to climb the Wall, and to be certain, they want to do it at the same spot where Chairman Mao did (he went to the Great Wall at Badaling).

So, the bad news, this part is not where Mao climbed. So it's not clear, if it would mark off a box on your "becoming a real hero" check list.

The good news, this place is way less crowded and it has nice tourist attractions: Cableway to get up, Toboggan to slide down, a souvenir market, where you can bargain hard and get some good deals.

Ok, here is another tip to think about. The wall you're going to visit was heavily restored in 1980s, so it's nice to walk on, but doesn't really give you a sense of history. But if you go to the right, in about a half a mile the restored part ends and you'll see a sign, saying don't go beyond this point. There is no fence or anything actually blocking the way, so this is where you can see the original wall. If you want to go along the wall, well, there is a good reason why they put that sign. I don't think you're going to damage the ruins of the wall, but it is quite unsafe. The bricks and rocks are shaky, the slopes are steep and there are a plenty of places where it's just too easy to fall down. However, seeing that raw structure would give you an idea how hard it was to build and maintain and truly appreciate the greatness of the Wall.

Also, I visited in summer and there are plenty of fruit and nut trees just around the wall, as well as some wild squirrels, plenty of sun and fresh air - it was a nice retreat from a smoggy Beijing.

Finally, the Great Wall is really one of the greatest projects of all times, so seeing it close is unforgettable. This is one of the must sees on the planet. If you have a chance to visit the Wall - go for it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
186 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Wonderful Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

There were very few people. We had a beautiful clear day so we could enjoy the wonderful landscape. We thoroughly enjoyed tobogganing down instead of taking the cable car. Environmentally friendly too. Great fun! And we are 50 year olds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohannesburgJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alone Time on the Wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

What I love about the Mutianyu section of the Wall is that it's much less crowded than the Badaling section. I've been lucky enough to visit Mutianyu twice, and even in July, I had a section of the Wall to myself for about 15-20 minutes at a time.

You can read my whole review of both Badaling and Mutianyu on my blog, Browsing the Atlas. It may help you decide which section you'd prefer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrowsingtheAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“possible to go by public transportation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

it was easyand saved us time. there is a bus every 5 min or so.
on the way you have to tolorate chineese guide shouting explaination on the mic. but it is worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sho84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing