We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great View!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Book In Advance
$62.50*
and up
Beijing Layover Private Tour: Mutianyu Great Wall with Round-trip Airport...
Ranked #1 of 1,600 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We traveled during the off-peak season of Winter to Mutianyu. The snow covered section of Great Wall was amazing. And also the fact that we were on the wall with less tourists, we managed to take more photos without being photo-bombed by other tourists on the wall....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimi008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,337
    2,757
    353
    47
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Out of the fog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent four foggy, smoggy days in Beijing late January and were able to take a day trip to Mutianyu. What a great way to get out of the city and above the low lying fog. In January, there are few tourists and you essentially have the wall to yourself. I cant imagine the feeling one would have in the summer jostling with tour bus groups, but in January one can find peace and quiet and are able to enjoy the wall for what it once was, a fortress. Great views and relatively easy walking on this section. I recommend taking the chairlift up and tobogganing back down. We had spoken to others that had visited the wall at locations closer to Beijing and all recommended taking the extra time to go to Mutianyu. Loved it !!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great views.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The wall is fine but the way chinese present it is awful. Cheap cheesy la la land. Chinese have a long way to go to appreciate themselves.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilubookovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This part of the Great Wall is incredible. I arrived at 8:00 when the ticket office opened. I purchased tickets for the cable car and when I arrived at the top I was the only person on the wall (no tourists, no locals). The views are breathe taking. Go here and experience a once in a lifetime view.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cklett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is the best place to see the Great Wall. A little over an hour outside Beijing you take a cable care to the Wall and then get a fantastic view along a large length of the Wall as it snakes across the mountains. Go early to avoid crowns and you end up with spectacular pictures of this amazing phenomenon. Be warned however, if going when I went (February) wrap up warm. It was -15C when I was there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GSP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing