We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must see!!! awesome. really is GREAT Wall!!”

Mutianyu Great Wall
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.98*
and up
Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Private Mutianyu Great Wall Trip with English-Speaking Driver
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Mutianyu Great Wall Tour including Round Way Cable Car or...
Ranked #1 of 1,609 things to do in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In 1368 AD, Mutianyu Great Wall was built by Xu Da who is the main general for Zhuyuanzhang in the Great Wall ruins of Northern Qi Dynasty. Linked to Gubeikou in the east and Juyongguan in the west,the section of the Great Wall is the military hub defensing of the capitalsince ancient times. There are several famous watchtowers such as Zhengguantai, Dajiaolou, Yingfeidaoyang,Jiankou and Beijingjie, which has profound historical and cultural values. Surrounded by the mountains, the Greening rate of the Great Wall reaches 98%, and its scenery is beautiful. Known for its gorgeous scenery, Mutianyu is one of the essence in the Great Wall of Ming Dynasty. Mutianyuhas the characteristics of the fresh air, sided embrasure, peculiar guards, intensive watchtowers, the strong feeling of three-dimensional and the existing of the inside and outside branch. The Closed Tram, Speed slide, the China dream stone sity, the Great Wall hotel, Yisonglou restaurant are constructed inthe tourist area, so its facilities and function are perfect.The tourist area was added to the national 5A scenic spot list by the National Tourism Administration of China in 2011. In June 28, 2014,the Mutianyu Great Wallintegrated tourism service area put into use. The integrated tourism service area, having service functions including a visitor center, the Great Wall Culture Exhibition Center, and catering and tourism souvenirs street,covers an area of 20 acres.In this way, Mutianyu Great Wall will provide a better travel experience for visitors.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“must see!!! awesome. really is GREAT Wall!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went to the Mutianyu section of the Great Wall in October 2011. This was my 2nd visit to the Great Wall, the 1st time I went in Dec 2007 and visited Jiayuguan. I must say both are spectacular. if you only get one chance to see the Great Wall, then either one is fantastic, you won't be disappointed. Mutianyu is a bit nicer though, it felt less tourists, and the walk was longer. which spread out the tourists. more photo opportunities. Also, after you get off the cable car, you have the option of walking a flatter section, or a steeper one. I took the steeper one. but walked very slowly. the towers in between are interesting. From memory, the Jiayuguan one was a very steep climb up straightaway and didn't have as many towers. The 'steep" path in Mutianyu still was gradual, and it sloped up & down a bit, with a very steep bit towards later. Views are literally breath taking on either one!! I hear Badaling is the most crowded so avoid that one if you can, although I personally haven't been there. It just amazes me how people built this over 2000 years ago without machinery. just incredible. Make sure you have very comfy shoes (trainers or hiking boots) a jacket that you can easily put on/take off, and water! they do sell drinks though even cold beer!! but didn't see any toilet for like 1.5 hrs...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jetsetqueen54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,426
    3,068
    393
    51
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our visit to Mutianyu in October 2012 was fabulous. We couldn't have asked for a better day with clear skies. Wear comfy shoes as you will be walking a LOT! Also, bring water with you as you will need it going out to explore the wall. When we reached the top, our private guide had told us to go to the left as everyone will go to the right. He was correct and we felt like we were the only ones on the left side for at least a half hour. It was fabulous! We brought a light lunch and enjoyed a little picnic on the wall in one of the covered towers with our 2 daughter ages 7 and 9. Be sure to wear a hat and sunscreen as it was hot and sunny with no place to escape the sun except when you had walked far enough to reach a guard tower. Be forewarned at the bottom of the hill before you get to the wall or the tram that takes you up, there are lots of vendor stalls. Do not stop and look unless you really want to buy because they are persistent to make a sale. Oh, one last item, take a tripod or an X-shot telescoping pole so you can take pictures of everyone in your group and no one gets left out. It is an amazing view!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MartyParty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“mutianyu was interesting”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had a private guide take us there and then the airport spent 31/2 hours at the wall where the history was explained etc.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank T1NT1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic tour, highly recommended!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We did the halfday tour to the Mutianyu section of the great wall during winter. There were no crowds whatsoever on the wall and our tour guide William He was excellent, very knowledgeable and was able to give us history not just of the wall but of Beijing and all of China! Highly recommend this tour anyone visiting China, seeing the great wall is a must!!

Helpful?
Thank Martin2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mutianyu”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

if you want see the wall in 'as original condition as possible' then you have to go to Mutianyu, avoid the other recommended sections of the wall as they are crawling with tourists, and tragically then have been completely restored the look of this incredible feat of ancient human engineering

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrLoukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing