We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive site”

Mutianyu Great Wall
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.98*
and up
Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Private Mutianyu Great Wall Trip with English-Speaking Driver
More Info
$49.00*
and up
One Day Bus Tour: Mutianyu Great Wall Visiting With Lunch Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 1,608 things to do in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In 1368 AD, Mutianyu Great Wall was built by Xu Da who is the main general for Zhuyuanzhang in the Great Wall ruins of Northern Qi Dynasty. Linked to Gubeikou in the east and Juyongguan in the west,the section of the Great Wall is the military hub defensing of the capitalsince ancient times. There are several famous watchtowers such as Zhengguantai, Dajiaolou, Yingfeidaoyang,Jiankou and Beijingjie, which has profound historical and cultural values. Surrounded by the mountains, the Greening rate of the Great Wall reaches 98%, and its scenery is beautiful. Known for its gorgeous scenery, Mutianyu is one of the essence in the Great Wall of Ming Dynasty. Mutianyuhas the characteristics of the fresh air, sided embrasure, peculiar guards, intensive watchtowers, the strong feeling of three-dimensional and the existing of the inside and outside branch. The Closed Tram, Speed slide, the China dream stone sity, the Great Wall hotel, Yisonglou restaurant are constructed inthe tourist area, so its facilities and function are perfect.The tourist area was added to the national 5A scenic spot list by the National Tourism Administration of China in 2011. In June 28, 2014,the Mutianyu Great Wallintegrated tourism service area put into use. The integrated tourism service area, having service functions including a visitor center, the Great Wall Culture Exhibition Center, and catering and tourism souvenirs street,covers an area of 20 acres.In this way, Mutianyu Great Wall will provide a better travel experience for visitors.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
cebu, philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive site”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went up twice in this amazing place.the first time, my husband and I climbed it all the way to the top. The second time we used the cable car since we were with the family..we went all the way to the right side of the wall until we came up with the closed area.still, we went farther to the "actual" wall which was not restored.the view was breathtaking!if we would come back to Beijing, I would still visit mutianyu!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank quee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,236
    3,035
    387
    50
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Must see”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

obviously the most stunning part of the wall. for this we planned almost one day... a must see during a beijing vist!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BjoernKarmaat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Go further to get away from crowds”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Brilliant trip. You can walk up or take the cable car. At the top there is a viewing platform which makes it easy to see both ways along the wall. We went right and at first it was busy, but keep going and the crowds soon thin out. At the end of the walkable (restored) section we were alone. Beware- if you get tired easily or finding steps hard, the steps along the wall are frequent and steep in places. There is a slide down, but it was shut due to drizzle when we went.
Worth noting- if you go with a guided trip (and it's hard not to) you WILL be taken to a silk factory even if you say you don't want to. We had to be very firm indeed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chaletaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, Great, Great Wall it should be called!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Yes, it should be called The Great, Great, Great wall, because it is an amazing place. You MUST GO!!! It is awe inspiring. You cannot believe what you see! The weather was cold, being early November, but just being there, made you feel hot. It is one of the best sections of the wall to go to as there are not as many tourists as other sections and the scenery is also much better. Badeling section, i have heard is very busy as it is closer to Beijing, but Mutianyu is really beautiful. We went up by cable-car to the first section and then walked for about three kilometers. It was very hard for me as i am 67 years old and you have sections that go down quite steep and then up to the guard houses and then back down again. At one stage i had to hold on to the side of the wall because i had a feeling of wanting to fall down backwards it was so steep. But it is incredible, i do not know how the people ever built it. It stretches for miles up and down the mountains. Just to be there and to be able to walk on the wall is something that everybody should do, you cannot believe it!!! One of the highlights was on the way back down i opted to use the toboggan slide to go down to the bottom station, this was incredible and a must do. Everyone, please make a plan to go and walk on the Great Wall, you will be amazed!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretten
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A place to go”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Trip to this part of the wall is a must! But be aware of the souvenir traders. The wall is absolutly impressing. Take into account that you have to negotiate every price of every thing that you want to buy ;)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ThJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing