We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive site”

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Mutianyu Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing with Lunch
Ranked #1 of 1,604 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
cebu, philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive site”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went up twice in this amazing place.the first time, my husband and I climbed it all the way to the top. The second time we used the cable car since we were with the family..we went all the way to the right side of the wall until we came up with the closed area.still, we went farther to the "actual" wall which was not restored.the view was breathtaking!if we would come back to Beijing, I would still visit mutianyu!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank quee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,333
    2,905
    374
    48
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Must see”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

obviously the most stunning part of the wall. for this we planned almost one day... a must see during a beijing vist!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BjoernKarmaat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Go further to get away from crowds”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Brilliant trip. You can walk up or take the cable car. At the top there is a viewing platform which makes it easy to see both ways along the wall. We went right and at first it was busy, but keep going and the crowds soon thin out. At the end of the walkable (restored) section we were alone. Beware- if you get tired easily or finding steps hard, the steps along the wall are frequent and steep in places. There is a slide down, but it was shut due to drizzle when we went.
Worth noting- if you go with a guided trip (and it's hard not to) you WILL be taken to a silk factory even if you say you don't want to. We had to be very firm indeed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chaletaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, Great, Great Wall it should be called!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Yes, it should be called The Great, Great, Great wall, because it is an amazing place. You MUST GO!!! It is awe inspiring. You cannot believe what you see! The weather was cold, being early November, but just being there, made you feel hot. It is one of the best sections of the wall to go to as there are not as many tourists as other sections and the scenery is also much better. Badeling section, i have heard is very busy as it is closer to Beijing, but Mutianyu is really beautiful. We went up by cable-car to the first section and then walked for about three kilometers. It was very hard for me as i am 67 years old and you have sections that go down quite steep and then up to the guard houses and then back down again. At one stage i had to hold on to the side of the wall because i had a feeling of wanting to fall down backwards it was so steep. But it is incredible, i do not know how the people ever built it. It stretches for miles up and down the mountains. Just to be there and to be able to walk on the wall is something that everybody should do, you cannot believe it!!! One of the highlights was on the way back down i opted to use the toboggan slide to go down to the bottom station, this was incredible and a must do. Everyone, please make a plan to go and walk on the Great Wall, you will be amazed!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretten
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A place to go”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Trip to this part of the wall is a must! But be aware of the souvenir traders. The wall is absolutly impressing. Take into account that you have to negotiate every price of every thing that you want to buy ;)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ThJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing