We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Mutianyu

Great Wall at Mutianyu
Mutianyu Road, Huairou District, Beijing, China
010-61626022
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$140*
and up
Private Layover Tour of Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,448 things to do in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Early stage in the northern of China in the middle ages,Mutianyu is a the best part is that as the Great Wall to defend north of the capital obstacles and imperial tombs. As a new attractions of Beijing , government repaired and open for tourists from all over the world only 22 tower.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Houthalen, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressive !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Visiting in winter has the advantage it's not so crowded. Visibility was not soo good when i was there.
If you don't like souvernir shiops the walk from de entrance to the parking lot is a challenge...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bert_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good exercise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was not crowded when we were there and we can walk and rest at our own pace. It has a very nice view too. The steps are steeper as compared to Badaling but we enjoyed this great exercise. :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maythamhuimei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“It's worth the extra distance from Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we went on a Monday, in order to avoid crowds. We had heard that some other Wall locations are over-run, and others are for intrepid hiker/climbers, so being good walkers who don't like mobs, we went to Mutianyu in mid-October and were pleased: very few people, fall colours just coming on. With the aid of a friend in Beijing, we hired a private driver to bring us back/forth from the city and were able to avoid an early start from Beijing. It was also a great means of learning about Beijing, as we picked his brain for all sorts of info. Total cost was $100 for two. We also thereby avoided having to go to a silk factory or other stop on a government-run tour, which is standard if you book through your hotel, it seemed from others' stories. The extra time was spent by me dealing with a bit of vertigo: I found one part of the wall to be much steeper than I expected and wasted about 45 minutes refusing to come back down! Suggest you consider bringing a walking stick to help reduce the pounding of the stone steps on your knees (I brought one as I was hiking several times on my trip). No need to climb up or down the wall: take the lift up and save your energy for walking along the wall. We road the sled down at the end: it was a gas, and much-appreciated laughs after my vertigo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Its a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the less visited section a little farther away from Beijing. Having see Badaling before, this was a very much nicer place to see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCobbFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“GREAT VISIT TO GREAT WALL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a driver and English speaking guide to take us to the Great Wall for the day.

It is an excellent section of the wall to walk on, part of the journey up to the actual wall is via a cable car. It certainly was a great experience to finally see the Great Wall and also walk on it. Highly recommended experience.

The journey through the countryside from Beijing was also very interesting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim11P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Mutianyu also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Mutianyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing