We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Capital Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Capital Residence
Ranked #1,907 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Munich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We did not stay at the this Residence but was there for an evening night out.
Located quite obscure from the rest of the common hotels/residences, this one is located in a courtyard in the Dongsi District, which is a preserved heritage site.
Preserved in its old traditional Chinese style, antique if you may say, it has 5 rooms only...
2 Author's Suites, 1 Chairman's Suite and 2 Concubine's Suites.
Each has their own elegance and remarkably restored.
We had our drinks in the Chairman's Divan restored with old sofas and chairs which gave us a feeling that we were back in the Mao's Era.
A must visit!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QIKINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and myself stayed here for 4 nights in June and loved this place for it's decor and very friendly staff. It is nicely situated in one of the old blocks in the city of Beijing. We stayed in the Mao suite and also got the opportunity to see the old bomb shelter, converted to a bar (which i currently not in use). I do recommend to not stay here any longer than one or two nights, since the beds are indeed very uncomfortable. There is only a 2 cm mattress on a wooden board, so it's not just uncomfortable by perception. Loved the scenery and it is very conveniently located. Staff is very friendly and helpful 24h a day, you almost feel ashamed to ask them something, because they will go great lengths to get you comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want to experience the hotel, try to get into the Mao room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay. Having lived in Beijing in the 1980'ies, it was wonderful to be back in the Hutongs, which are now under threat from developers. Moreover, for anyone with a bit of interest in the history of 20th century China, it will be a great experience. Sure, there is a bit of dust on Zhou Enlai's personal radio receiver, which is found in the bar, but that is surely to be expected and adds to the charm. The courtyard is a little oasis in Beijing's hectic tempo, and the breakfast served there in the morning is perfect. Simple, and good.

All in all, it is a distinguished and peaceful little window to a Beijing of the last century - if that appeals, there is no better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khendler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartebeespoort
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A unique experience in an authentic and original Beijing Hutong house that enriched our China adventure. The staff were helpful and always present. The rooms were quaint, and as such not the most comfortable, but that probably added to the authentic experience. The rooms could have been cleaner. All in all, it was an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: The author's room bed was very narrow - not recommended for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Althea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We just spent three nights at the Red Capital Residence and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is not a five star luxury property, but that is not why you stay here. It feels like olden day China, yet you are only walking distance from the new shops, restaurants and subway. We had a few issues with a cold room and no hot water, but Helen, who is possibly the best hotel worker I have every dealt with changed our rooms immediately. My husband was a bit poorly and Helen rushed out to get some honey for his tea. The service is the best I have ever experienced, the location and feel of the hotel was perfect and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

It is an interesting hotel but it is not very clean
Nice and helpful staff though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilwell, KS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

This hotel, in an old courtyard residence that once belonged to Mao's minister of defense, is for those who want some adventure in their travel experience. The setting is mostly original and authentic, not for those who want to feel like they could be anywhere in the world in a cookie cutter luxury hotel that insulates you from the local experience.

We loved it, and wouldn't change a thing. The bomb shelter (real, not contrived) bar is as cool as it gets, and the overall setting is nothing short of gorgeous. The staff is attentive an accommodating, and responded well to all of our extra requests.

We plan to return again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jcgrant4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Beijing Ron Yard Hotel
Beijing Ron Yard Hotel
#202 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#91 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#187 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#131 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#101 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#111 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Capital Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Capital Residence

Property: Red Capital Residence
Address: No.9 Dongsi Liutiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,907 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Capital Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Red Capital Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Capital Residence Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing