We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jianguo Garden Hotel
Ranked #148 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Brussels
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

Excellent location (close to Forbidden City & Tien'anmen Square plus a Subway station at 100 meters), great breakfast with Continental and Chinese Food, good and smiling service. I would absolutly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PHV009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    169
    49
    26
    4
See reviews for
29
53
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

Clean and comfortable room. Great breakfast (including both Western and Chinese food). Good location (walking distance to golden street and Tiannamen. We had a nice stay here.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank matt_1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

We had to stay in Beijing for nearly 3 weeks while completing the adoption of my 5 year old daughter. I went with my 11 year old and my mother and picked up my other daughter after two nights. The staff, and Alan, one of the concierges, in particular, were very helpful. My new daughter spoke no English and Alan was always on hand for all of our and her needs. He even gave her a wonderful name stamp as a departure gift that I know she will always cherish! He is a class act and very sweet guy. Ask for him if you have any issues.
Otherwise I can only say that the hotel was clean, if a bit frayed around the edges. You can tell they are really trying to step up to the plate and become a contender in today's market but the whole place needs an overhaul. They seem to have a few issues with things like leaky shower doors and windows. I blame the building manager as these were almost all maintenance issues. Downstairs is a bowling alley (never worked), shuttleboard table, ping pong, pool tables, spa, etc. But be forewarned: none of these are free to guests at the hotel. And the spa staff can be kind of aggressive about getting your business.
Also, the pools in China for the most part don't use chlorine or filters. My kids didn't go in them, I didn't feel comfortable with it.
The restaurants were okay, but except for breakfast served no western dishes except for hamburgers and some very greasy spaghetti which made a 3 week stay with an 11 year old American kid into a very LONG stay...
The breakfast buffet was wonderful and we easily filled up enough to keep us going until dinnertime, but we are kind of light eaters. There's not much to walk to from this hotel except for Wangfujiang Street, but there are tons of shops on that street and the ever present McDonald's (always packed). If you are feeling adventurous, right around the corner from the hotel is a Mongolian restaurant, with a very sweet staff, 75% of the menu is mutton, 24% is camel. Made for an interesting evening with two little kids.
The wine bar is quite nice. The little cafe/cocktail lounge in the front of the hotel a very cute place to people watch and unwind.
I would stay here for a short trip, but beware of those nagging little technical problems that they have. Personally I probably wouldn't go back to this particular hotel, but I can't say that it was a bad experience. Just not one I would repeat. And if you are going there to adopt just know that there is very little for young kids to do there or in that area. Next time I'll pick a western brand chain.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CathRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

We stayed in the Jianguo Garden Hotel in Beijing for 3 nights in mid April 2008 and found the hotel to be centrally located and ideal for our needs with the exception of the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. Upon arrival the temperature in our room was approx. 84 degrees (27 Celsius), but upon adjusting the thermostat to cool the room we discovered it wasn't putting out any cool air. We called the front desk and they promptly sent someone up to investigate. When the hotel employee could not get the a/c to work we were moved to another room. This room was older and not quite as nice, but hey….if we were cool we really didn't care that much. Once again we tried to bring down the temperature in the room, but since the thermostat controls in this older room were all in Chinese we had to call for help again. Again, the employee could not get cool air to start generating. Long story short, we finally were told that there was a city ordinance stating that the temperature was not hot enough outside to turn on the a/c to the rooms! Since we found this to be the case in almost every hotel we stayed in during our visit to China I'm not sure if the Jianguo Garden Hotel is 100% fully to blame. With that said, we do find fault in that the hotel advertises that the rooms are air conditioned without any disclaimer that this only applies to certain months of the year. In addition, no other hotel claimed it was a city ordinance (one claimed it was to conserve energy) and our English speaking guide had never heard of such and ordinance. We were disappointed that they could not tell us up front the reason the A/C was not on rather than go through the trouble of moving us to another room. We think the reason we were moved to a different room was to give us a room where the window opened – the fact that it only opened a few inches and let in the Beijing pollution and the sounds of construction next door that went on all night long really outweighed any cooling benefits. Didn't think to ask for an electric fan, but it would have helped tremendously as we discovered in the other hotels we stayed in.
One last thing to note - The breakfast buffet was quite good, however we thought it to be a little pricey since it was not included in the cost of our room.

  • Liked — Good location - close to Forbidden City
  • Disliked — Rooms not air conditioned
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHERESWAUGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

My bed had fleas. What more can one say? Try the Regis.

  • Disliked — Fleas in the bedding
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coltbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

Happy hour at wine bar 2nd floor is a great deal. 78RMB = all you can drink, standard drinks 6pm – 11pm.
Concierge service is a great deal. Hotel is pretty affordable for having a nice full concierge service. It can be busy, but they seem to be there all the time and are fantastic for checking on ticket situations.
Breakfast. Egg, wonton and waffle stations can all get busy quickly. Tuesdays through Fridays seem to be more smoggy with cigarette smoke once the business travellers descend on the place.
Heavy cigarette smoke gets into the lobby bathrooms and elevators.
Room Temperature controls. Previous review is correct. It’s too hot even when it’s snowing outside. Our best strategy was to simply leave it turned off. It did not get too stuffy as we feared. Yes, leaving the window open works when you are not in the room but definitely lets the smog in. But it's really too bad that plain fan air is not available. The hotel would be fantastic if that was available, filtered.
Non-smoking room was not smokey at all.
Bed was comfortable.
The free water came in tiny little bottles. An excellent little water boiler is provided too.
Room seemed sufficiently big for three adults. The standard set up of two double beds worked okay with us. They offered an extra bed which was a clunky rollaway but we declined it to keep more free floor space. If you want a soft bed, the rollaway might be an option.
Internet service was 10RMB for the first 10 minutes.
Cost of 26 minute landline phone call to the US was 245RMB.

  • Liked — convenient location, cleanliness, breakfast, concierge service, happy hour
  • Disliked — lack of control over room air
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DarthAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

Stayed here for 8 nights in Dec 2007 -- combination of work and leisure.

We were VERY pleased with the hotel (but do have some suggestions).

Hotel spotless; rooms very clean and in excellent condition; staff very nice and helpful; breakfast excellent. Good location in Beijing.

Complaints?
1) The room only had heating or no air. That is, one couldn't control the temperature (even with the thermostat turned to lowest temp) so ssystem had to be turned off -- otherwise it was way too hot. Asked staff for help and they said there is no cooling, only heat in December. So we had to turn off all air. (Opening the window was possible BUT the Beijing smog (!!) ends that idea.

2) Use of fitness centre costs 100 RMB (~$14) per day per person -- should be included (only the "executive floors" get it included).

3) Internet is 20 RMB/hr -- it should be included for a hotel of this quality/level

4) Pool is free but is only about 1 metre deep everywhere. And you must wear a cap (50 RMB at desk). We used it only once as we did not find it so enjoyable. But it is not so bad.


All-in-all, a good experience. The restaurants are good but pricy -- get out and explore. (Try the Mongolian restaurant 1 block away at the back of the hotel!)

  • Liked — high quality; clean
  • Disliked — heating/air-conditioning
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Landfall38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#74 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
#101 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#98 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#85 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#58 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#107 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Garden Hotel

Property: Jianguo Garden Hotel
Address: No.17 Jianguomennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#60 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#119 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jianguo Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jianguo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Garden Beijing
Hotel Jianguo Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing