We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of Jade Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jade Palace Hotel
Ranked #1,638 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Glendale, CA
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Jade Palace in Beijing, China. The room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was bigger than a typical hotel bathroom but we also had the similar problems with water leaking from the shower. We solved the problem by using the shower handle and turn away from the shower door. The first thing that stood out was how firm/hard the beds were. My kids, 13 and 10, and I were very skeptical of getting a good night's sleep. We were surprised how well we slept all 3 nights there! It sold me on getting a firmer bed! We were able to eat at the breakfast buffet each morning which was part of our tour packet. It had both western and Chinese breakfast offerings. A very good selection with hot food prep tables that made individually ordered porridge, wonton noodles and egg dishes such as omelets. It was difficult to know how well the location is since we had a tour guide that picked us up from the hotel each morning for our daily excursions. But from what we can tell, it wasn't too far of a drive to any one destination. This was the kids' favorite hotel in China among all the ones we stayed at. For me I was satisfied with no real complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spunkymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    92
    46
    19
    7
See reviews for
19
12
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

After a long flight and an intense taxi ride we arrived at the Jade Palace, the first impression is very nice. The lobby and piano bar are beautiful and great places to relax in the evening. Once we got check in we headed up to the room. The room was nice, a decent size. I had read reviews before we went so I was prepared for the hard bed, we brought a foam topper and used the extra comforter and found it okay. The bathroom was a decent size but the shower door didn't close and there always ended up being a ton of water on the bathroom floor, we talked with others and depending on your room this was a problem. I cannot speak about location much as we were on day tours the three days we were there. There is a Mcdonald's nearby, as well a good hot pot restaurant and small convenience store. This was listed to us as a 5 star hotel by the tour company, for China maybe, more a 31/2 to 4 in North American ratings, but the hotel was clean, the staff were helpful and the breakfast buffet was one of the better ones we had in China. Overall I have no complaints about it.
**We did however treat ourselves to massages from the hotel and I must say it was one of the most brutal massages I have ever had, they were very ruff and I ended up with alot of bruising, it was not like any massage I had ever had, so use caution if booking a massage. Out of everyone I know who got one, about 3/4 of us felt it was overly ruff and many of us had bruises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiveAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After all the reviews about the hard beds I was expecting real trouble, but I have definitely slept in harder. In London. I was staying here because it was near a conference I was attending, but would be happy to come back. The hotel is so-so (for 5*) but is very clean APART from the carpet - do they not have vacuum cleaners here? While the outside is a but scruffy, the inside is well kept, and the staff were polite, although did not speak much English. The food is ok, but very expensive compared to eating out. At least the breakfast had reasonable coffee! For the price, it is a reasonable deal - I paid 580 yuan for an executive room with breakfast, comfortable and mostly clean - WAY better value than a London hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our tour group was put up at the Jade Palace. The lobby is nice looking but the beds are terribly hard. Wireless is available only in the Lobby area but there are FEW places to sit down to comfortably use ones PDA. The few chairs there are also very old and worn.

The short beds are no better than sleeping on the floor! I placed the couch pillows under my sheet cover to actually get some sleep. I was told that is the way Chinese like their beds. Trouble is I don't and there were no alternatives. This was a big turn off and we stayed there 4 night! The shower leaks alot on the floor as it isn't fully glassed in on all sides.
There are two English language TV channels.on a fairly old TV. Time for a flat screen and movie channels folks!

The morning buffet is really quite good and plentiful but you need to be quick to find a place to sit down. Occassionally they opened the Korean restaurant side to allow for more seating. Come early as all tour groups leave at 8 ish so the place is CRAZY busy just before.
I liked the made to order eggs station but the one cook was pretty slow to say the least. I had occassionally folks just cut in front of me while I grew roots waiting for my order.

If you want to swim in the lap pool (in the basement) better bring a swimming cap..who wears those these days! There is no shopping or really any signifcant activities around the hotel. Nothing for kids to do here either.

They were doing renovations on the 8th floor and at one point I thought a jack hammer was going to drop through the cieling. Had to call front desk to ask them to stop working as I was trying to sleep after a 14 hour flight. They said the workers should finish up early evening sometime and hung up. Not good!

The place might be a 3 star by western standards but needs to seriously rethink what all goes into making a pleasureable stay for international travelers.

I would strongly suggest searching out a better destination, especially at the high rates the Jade charges!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you have a choice! Rooms facing back look onto old housing. If they have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FamilySpringBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

i came here as part of an organised tour so i didn't pick this hotel by choice. Like other reviews the hotel is self - rated 5 star. similar to the other reviews, the hotel is modern but outdated. The carpet has a musty smell which could use a good steam.
The room is modern and big. There is only LAN internet in the room. wifi is only available in lobby.

cleanliness - not bad for chinese standards. Don't expect too much.

Location - not great, there isn't much around except small eateries and maccas. Walmart is 10 mins by foot and there is also a subway right next to it.

Service - don't speak well english. This hotel is mainly used by tour groups and most of them are mainly chinese. Day staff speak better english than night staff. The tour desk is very helpful with booking our flight and train tickets so if you need help with those it's best to ask the desk. They do a pretty good job and very efficient. He doesn't speak english but he gets the general gist of things from people's body language, like i said he is very efficient and knows what his doing!

Room Tip: some rooms have bad craftsmanship so water from the shower might leak out but it's ok if you let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank skeeto888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We didn't actually choose to stay at the Jade Palace Hotel; it was chosen by our tour. Given the number of choices available in Beijing, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We were told by our tour that this was a 'five star hotel'. Upon arrival, we realized that they likely meant "five out of fifteen stars," because the hotel failed on almost every front.

Do not be fooled by the somewhat impressive foyer. After checking in, our family walked into the elevator and was greeted by a seething pool of vomit. We arrived in our rooms (two doubles), and quickly discovered that the beds were the equivalents of cardboard boxes. It is only marginally better than sleeping on the floor. Already discouraged, we then turned on the light in the bathroom.

Defying perhaps every expectation of chinese efficiency and intelligent design, it was the most awkwardly laid out bathroom I've ever seen. It's extremely cramped; the tiles have been laid in such a way that causes water to pool, and for mould to grow. My sister showered first, and discovered why the (black) mould seemed to be flourishing in the shower. Slow drainage caused the water to pool up past her ankles. The water still had not drained half an hour later when I went in for my shower. Following this, we changed rooms to the ninth floor, where the drainage was only slightly better but the mould was ever present. We made a point of taking off our contacts before showering so our visibility would be slight blurred and adopted the mantra of "Just don't think about it" when preparing ourselves to shower. Make sure you bring flip flops for showering.

(TIP: the hotel is located on a very busy road. Even on the ninth floor, we could hear voices and traffic from the ground quite clearly. If possible, ask for a higher floor. Also, the ninth floor has flat screen televisions. The seventh floor does not).

The hotel staff is mostly indifferent (probably numbed from all of the complaints). They refused to help us call a taxi, and directed us to the road to hail one ourselves. I would discourage anyone from opting into the breakfast (which costs 118 yuan), as our family experienced numerous stomach complications from the oily, salty fare.

There were some redeeming qualities. I'm currently writing this review on the free broadband internet offered in rooms, and there was a wire provided as well. Owners of ipads and iphones, however, need to go down to the lobby to use the wifi. It's pretty fast, though not fast enough to stream TV. The sheets were clean, as were the towels (mostly). There's a kettle in the room, and adjustable air conditioning. We didn't use the pool, after reading reviews that it's mostly a glorified cave, but it's free to use.

Overall, there are better options in Beijing. The location isn't particularly central, so if you're going to stay in a crappy hotel, at least find one that's conveniently located. There was nothing particularly pleasant about our stay at the hotel, but we didn't spend much time there anyway. If anything, the Jade Palace with motivate you to stay out and about in Beijing for as long as possible during your vacation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Of all the beds I slept on while traveling in China, the beds at the Jade Palace were by far the hardest. The beds were so stiff that it bruised both sides of my body. I had to try to keep myself on my back while sleeping on those beds. The room was decently clean, but the bathroom floor was constantly wet due to the configuration of the shower/bath. The service was friendly each time I interacted with somebody. There is free wifi in the lobby area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blsnwbrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Taifu Hotel
#609 of 6,516 in Beijing
4 reviews
Wudaokou
Liaoning International Hotel
Liaoning International Hotel
#229 of 6,516 in Beijing
126 reviews
Asian Games Village
Beijing National Jade Hotel
Beijing National Jade Hotel
#2,333 of 6,516 in Beijing
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madian
Jingyi Hotel Beijing
Jingyi Hotel Beijing
#2,346 of 6,516 in Beijing
139 reviews
Zhongguancun
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Zhongguancun
Beijing Yanshan Hotel
Beijing Yanshan Hotel
#395 of 6,516 in Beijing
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Palace Hotel

Property: Jade Palace Hotel
Address: No.76 Zhichun Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100086, China
Location: China > Beijing > Wudaokou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#254 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Hotel Class:5 star — Jade Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jade Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Palace Beijing
Jade Palace Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing