We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between 2 and 3 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wangfujing Dawan Hotel
Ranked #232 of 1,434 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed here a few times during my stay (as arranged by my hosts), so saw some different rooms. None of them had fridges, so I'm pretty sure all the booking sites that say there are in room fridges are either out of date or lying - though I'm guessing the former. There's a space where you'd think a fridge would be, but it's empty.

Downsides:
- One room always had a few flies in the bathroom, even after I got rid of them, the next day they'd be back. I could _not_ figure out where they were coming from.
- One bathroom did have a slight sewage smell - not of feces/etc, but more sulfur-y.
- Internet connection was often really slow.
- One of the rooms was facing the main street, and you could hear the constant horn honking through the singlepane windows.
- One of the rooms had wooden floors, and I don't think it gets fully swept all the time.

Upsides:
- One room had two sets of windows; basically a set of double pane windows installed behind the single pane set, making for a good isolation from outside noise.
- Aircon was nice and strong.
- Location is good - across the street from a subway station (with another up the block if you don't want to bother with crossing the street), and a short walk to Wangfujing street.
- Convenience store maybe a hundred meters/yards from the front door

Eh:
- Keys were sometimes flakey. Usually having the front desk re-code them fixed it for a while.
- Towels usually a bit worn, though occasionally get a newer plusher one.
- Beds firm, but most in China are. Get used to it.
- Walls/doors a bit on the thin side

Would I stay here again? It's an option, but I might look elsewhere first to see what other choices are around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoonieGooGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

My colleague and I pre - booked double rooms each for 3 nights starting Wednesday, 13/7. Remembering that they were approx. $AUD40.00 per night, the fact that this place is not 5 Star should not startle anyone!
Upon entry, we discovered that the staff had confused the booking of 2 rooms for 2 TO 1 room for two! They recovered from this when I showed them my printed Confirmation Slip and gave us the 2 rooms we had requested! The rooms were nothing special, but they had air conditioning and were basically comfortable with ready Internet access : very important!
The desk staff's efficiency ranged from reasonably helpful to bordering on incompetent! One of the girls at least had the honesty to "confess" that they did not have the English skills to solve complicated problems, which I could live with! Another though, let out a most audible sigh of discontent when I pressed her about one of the hotel's "claimed" services!
So, the hotel's claim of laundry facilities is a complete myth and plainly fraudulent! After trudging the nearby hutong with one of the hotel staff who had no idea of what to look for or why, a man in the street solved the problem and my laundry was catered for. But, it had NOTHING to do with the hotel whatsoever!
The two features that "saved" it were the food in the restaurant : I thought I was in heaven whilst eating the three different Chinese meals over the three nights there. It was not expensive for me!
Finally, my colleague and I needed to be at the airport for a 7.15am flight to Xi'an on Saturday morning. The ladies at the desk summoned the manager who MOST COMPETENTLY organised personal transport for us, fixed a price which we paid in advance and told us to be in the lobby at 5.00am : a terrible privation, but it all WORKED!!!
Lukewarm about Beijing? Hailing a cab on my own simply did not happen over the 3 days I was there! The ever - present pollution in the air was MOST depressing and I tried to imagine living there day in and day out : I couldn't imagine it! Strangely, the number of people did not faze me even whilst "living" in the city centre! Maybe I would stay at Da Wan again...and maybe not, if I EVER return!!!

Room Tip: No real suggestions about how to procure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mousebender798009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Strong sewerage odour in bathroom
Stingy toilet paper usage. Tiny roll of about 1cm thick per day which is insufficient for daily use.
No fridge/tea bags/mineral water in the room
Sad looking torn towels
TV colour faded, remote control not fully functional
Very close to subway station
Restaurant at underground serves delicious food and value for money. Must order the crispy chicken nut and spicy sour soup
Beware not to stain the towels or you have to wash it off. Otherwise you have to pay for the towel 50 yuen

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeonardKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

I just returned home from a nine night stay in a suite at the Da Wan Hotel. Considering the price of the suite was $62US per night, it was quite a value. The rooms were large and comfortably furnished, although the bed was quite hard. The suite was suitably clean. Front desk staff was pleasant enough but had very limited English. Location of the hotel is excellent with subway entrance directly across the street. I do not recommend the restaurant at the hotel only because there are so many fantastic places to eat nearby that are just better. This is not a five star hotel and is not advertised as such. In my opinion, I got more than I paid for.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opastu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Cheap hotel, and we got what we paid for! Beds were very hard and one had big lumps. There was sometimes a strong odor of sewer gas in the bathroom. Fixtures were corroded. Cleaning people messed with our things, putting them away and zippering the containers. Front desk people tried to charge us for breakfast, which we had paid for. Very slow service but their English was adequate for basic communication. Breakfast maybe OK for Chinese but probably not for most Westerners.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMSChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

A Chinese friend helped me find this place on the internet. I asked his advice since this is such a huge city and I don't know the neighborhoods. Long story short, I was put into an economy room with no shower after they canceled my reservation for arriving 10 minutes too late due to Beijing rush hour traffic. Prostitutes called the room to see if I wanted massage, and the shower wait was sometimes 45 + minutes due to staff at the hotel, who apparently also sleep here, were using the grungy facilities. Keep looking, even if it's pricier.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank SuttersFort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 12, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,621 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,548 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,988 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangfujing Dawan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangfujing Dawan Hotel

Address: No.2A Ganyu Alley, Dongdan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 1,434 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $26 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wangfujing Dawan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beijing Da Wan Hotel, opened in August 2002, is centrally located in Beijing's well known shopping and sightseeing district of downtown Dongdan downtown and the Wangfujing area. The Da Wan Hotel is within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and the China Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wangfujing Dawan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangfujing Da Wan Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing