We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Storm is the man!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Ranked #84 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
San Carlos Sonora
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Storm is the man!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

We booked the Holiday Inn based upon a previous review that recommended Storm the concierge at the hotel. We stayed here on a post cruise stop. We were in Beijing for only 2 full days. I located Storm and he provided us a tour with another couple that was the highlight of our Asian trip. We went to a remote section of the Great Wall since I do not walk steps very well. This section was easily reached with no steps to climb. It was a horrible day since it was cold and raining pretty hard.

The highlight was after when Storm arranged for us to visit a farmer friend of his for lunch. The food was amazing and the woman who was 53 years old had met 10 foreigners her entire life. We we 4 of the 10. Storm provided all the translation and some very nice heated rice wine. My wife toured the house ane the farmer set off fireworks to celebrate our visit.

We also went to the Ming Tombs which were very nice. I did accomplish my goal to stand on the Great Wall.

The hotel is very first class. The breakfast that can be included is very good. The staff does speak some english but communication can be difficult with bell hops. I would recommend this hotel and Storm to everyone for a visit and tour in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    311
    89
    16
    9
See reviews for
156
204
78
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

My procrastination leads me to write this a few months late but it is worth it to note a few things. My family and I chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor's rating and the comments regarding Storm. I have to say, he surpassed all expectations and really did our family a great service. I emailed him in advance to let him know what we wanted to see and do. This was recommended here and it is a great idea ashe had an idea of how to arrange our sightseeing in the short time we had and he also had a van waiting at the airport for us. Upon arrival he called our driver to talk to me to see if all was going well. Good start.

When we set out on our first day, he had a day tour planned for us by rickshaw through the hutongs (my favorite part) and other smaller tourist sites. We stopped at the Temple of Heaven and eventually ended up at Tienenman Square. A full day but we were only there for 4 days. Storm provided us with metro cards and a cell phone at no charge and even called during the day to check up on us. During the tour, we had stopped at a tea house that was a nice experience but we seemed to pay quite a bit for the tea. Later that night, as Storm reserved us a table for an amazing peking duck meal at a local restaurant, my mom made a comparison to the value of our meal versus the price of the tea. When Storm found out that we had been overcharged at the tea house, he immediately apologized and told us that we would not have to pay the over charge. He eventually spoke to the tea house owner and told them he was displeased at the occurence and that they were very sorry. This is an example of his above and beyond service. He did not have to do it but was very embarrased and upset by the whole incident.

The next day Storm had planned a day trip to a remote area of the Great Wall. It was his day off and he joined us, which was a nice surprise. We started at the Ming Tombs and then headed to the first section of the wall for the day. After a quick stop at the first section we had arrived at a local farmer's residence for a home cooked meal. It was truly amazing, I don't know how else to put it. After the meal, we had a small fireworks show in our honor and headed out to the second part of the wall. This portion was the waterfall part and it was a wonderful hike to the top. I think we only saw two other people the whole time and once to the top, the challenging hike was well worth it. I've never seen anything so incomparable in my life. After our hike down we made one last stop at another farm house for snacks and a beer. This was definitely the extreme opposite of a commercial tour and would highly recommend this day trip. Storm was the reason for this day being one of the most unforgettable of my life.

The rest of the trip Storm of course took care of us, directing us to the Summer Palace and Olympic sites. We made another trip back to the Forbidden City as we didn't finish seeing everything the first time and missed the park to the north all together. A good portion of a day would be recommended there.

Overall, I have been to my fair share of nice hotels and remember the differences between them remotely. When deciding where to stay, I would definitely recommend this place as Storm is a true difference maker. My family and I were sad to go but gained a new friend over our time in Beijing. It is true that this hotel is far from the square and that you could see things on your own if you wanted to, but to have the peace of mind that Storm gave us was well worth our money. I can't thank him enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandPinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

This place is amazing. Great rooms with great service. Full workout rooms with a pool but no hot tub. They have an open bar for free on the 16th floor from 6-8pm everynight with snacks to!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adabne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

We spent two nights here at the end of a cruise,using trip advisor as a guide, we couldnt believe how cheap it was - the hotel was lovely, the staff extremely helpful, our room was excellent, very modern, and stylish, and the food at breakfast was excellent- the hotel bar is also very relaxing, the downside is that relaxation comes with exorbitant drinks charges. the hotel is a little away from the centre but with a taxi to tianamen square, and wufanjng -costing about £2.50 -it was no problem, -and as all the key sights in beijing are so spread out -your always going to be a little away from everywhere.were i to return to beijing, i would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueboy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

Was in Beijing for 5 days and stayed in the Holiday inn.. the hotel is fantastic, service is very good. Cleand and quite.. room is very nice.. Breakfast is HUDGE.. went swimming as well.. pool and service perfect! racommended!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italianbitirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Spent 6 days here with our family including 13 and 8 year old kids. Rooms are nice and will accommodate 4 to a room with ease and no cot needed - a feature not common in Asia. Service was good including making up for mistakes (complained about a meal and they gave us our next meal free - for the entire party of 5).
We did not use the wonderful Storm's services as we hired a private tour elsewhere (I highly recommend a private tour guide - makes everything much easier). We did meet him and he was certainly eager to serve. This was true of most staff.
A few minor complaints...
- Pool was freezing cold. Even my kids wouldn't stay in it. No way were they running the heat.
- Nothing is near by so you are looking at a taxi ride even for simple stuff like restaurants unless you use the hotel (Good food but pricey)
Overall an easy place to recommend given the prices, quality of rooms and service minded attitude. Just keep in mind the location issue if you were looking to walk about at night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

Only thing I didn't like about this hotel is its location. Especially if you're in a city where only 2% of the tazi drivers speak english, you will have a hard time going here. Unless you call the hotel to instruct your driver where to go..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#57 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#119 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Central Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Central Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Address: No.1 Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#97 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Central Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing, an Award-Winning hotel, is conveniently located in Guanganmen commercial and civic area, adjacent to the new Municipal Government Office Building and is within a stone's throw from Beijing's Financial Street. The hotel is close to tourist and shopping attractions such as Wangfujing, Oriental Plaza and the Forbidden City. It is 10 minutes drive from the West and South Train Station and 45 minutes from the Capital Airport.The hotel has 322 contemporary guest rooms, including suites and two floors of Executive Club rooms, all equipped with wired and wireless broadband internet, speaker telephone and multi-language voice mail. With a 640 square meter, pillar-free ballroom and 8 other function rooms ranging from 35 to 176 square meters, the hotel is an ideal venue for business meetings and social functions alike. All the meeting rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual facilities, built-in work station, wireless broadband connection and video conference facilities. The hotel's professional meeting team will ensure every event a success.The hotel also provides other facilities like business center ticketing and tour desk, kiosk, car rental, concierge taxi and limousine service, baby sitting service, karaoke as well as a Mini Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Central Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing