We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Ranked #90 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not Very Central”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in Mid April. We stayed in a club room which was a nice size room and very comfortable. As the hotel wasn't using air conditioners at all the room was very hot and uncomfortable for sleep. We were not explained to why they were not using it but did deliver a fan when we complained. The hotel itself is nice but very isolated. There is not much around the hotel and to go to points of interest you need a taxi. We did go to dinner at the Youth restaurant down the road which had a large menu (including some unusual items). It was really nice and reasonably priced. The hotel itself is very quiet with not a lot of people appearing to be staying. Breakfast is good with a lot of selections. The Club Lounge is disappointing during happy hour compared to other hotels and with no atmosphere, not a great choice of food, and beer placed one at a time in the drinks area. Pity if two people want a beer at the same time. We gave up going. Other times it was nice for a coffee. A big advantage with the club room was the four free pieces of laundry per room per day. Every one in the Hotel was helpful and had smiles on their faces.. Particularly Carry Wang in reception and Judy our room attendant.. Not all the staff are fluent in English but try and you can always get someone in the reception area who can speak good English. Disappointments in addition to the isolation is the pool which is nothing like the brochure photo and the golf area which doesn't look maintained. Enjoyed our stay but because of location not sure if would stay there again.

Room Tip: The club room was really good value especially with the free laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenandbrianPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear JenandbrianPerthWA,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Central Plaza for your stay at Beijing. We feel it a great pleasure and honor to bring services to you. With regard to the using of air conditioners, we have to explain that we must follow the city government's time schedule of offering cooling. Therefore, at this time, we can only offer a fan or humidifier to you and make all our efforts to cool down the rooms by pulling around curtains or open the windows. Your feedback about Club Lounge has also been shared with the related department and the hotel management for improvement.

Thanks for your review again and still in the hope of welcoming you back next time!

Sincerely yours,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    313
    89
    16
    9
See reviews for
157
204
79
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is well maintained, the rooms are large, clean and hot. The air conditioning could not be turned on until after "Golden week" The staff at reception advised us to open a window. The windows were very small and I was not impressed with this suggestion with all the pollution outside.
The breakfast was excellent.
The location was not really suitable for tourist who want to go out form a walk and pick up some souvenirs or supplies. It is in a poorly lit residential area. I did go out and walked about 5km and felt safe. The residents of the area were out walking their dogs.

I would recommend this hotel if you just want to stick with your tour and not venture out on your own.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MVIC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear MVIC A,

Thanks so much for staying with us during your trip at Beijing. It is our great honor and pleasure to provide services to you. Thanks for showing us your comments about our hotel which will definitely enables us to make improvement.

The hotel is located at the residential area with many small stores and restaurant nearby where you can experience the ture life of Beijingners. Besides, because we are centrally located in the 2nd West and South Ring Road of Beijing, it is convenient to get to many interesting places of Beijing, such as the well-known Tiananmen Square, the Temple of Heaven, Summer Palace; the famous Xidan shopping center, Xuanwumen SOGO, and Wangfujing Street directly by subway or bus conveniently.

Thanks for your feedback again and looking forward to welcoming you back next time! For any suggestions or assistance, please contact our Concierge or service center directly.

Sincerely yours,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Got a cab from beijing airport to the holiday inn central plaza. Takes 50 mins to reach at midnight. Gave hotel name to taxi driver in chinese , but was very difficult to locate. Check in was quick and effecient. Breakfast was good. Metro station far and need to get cab. Good value for bed and breakfast , most time spent sight seeing during day. Lounge and bar good. Visited tiamen square , forbidden city and summer place all in one day using metro. Have an english to chinese translation app on smart phone in case stuck for directions. Next day took bus tour to visit ming tomb and great wall of china. Be careful when tour guide includes free foot massage. More like a fraud . They seem to know all your ailment and translator keen to provide medicine at inflated prices. Best not to request doctor. Had a late night flight and had checked out and left bags with conceirge. Had a hot shower at 2nd floor gym and a change of clothes. Good value for money.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AGM-MARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear AGM-MARTZ,

Thanks so much for your stay at the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing as well as your pertinent and important comments which will motivate us to keep on making improvement and moving forward.

For those visitors who are interested in one-day Beijing tour, our Concierge staff could help to introduce a tour agent for them or might help to organize a tour if possible. Also, it is convenient from our hotel to take subway Line1 at Nanlishi Lu station, Line2 at Changchunjie station and Line4 at Taoranting park station by bus No.56, 10 and 40 or 604 respectively.

Thanks for your stay with us again and would like to welcome you back next time!

Sincerely yours,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed between 15-17 April at then of our holiday in China. The initial experience was pathetic starting from the check in with the reception staff giving really poor service, no bell desk help with the luggage, check in took almost 25 minutes. The 24 hour concierge service was not manned to answer calls. internet is also not free unlike other hotels I have stayed in China.

The staff here speaks really poor english and just cannot understand. Location has no restaurants around it.

After making a compliant about the service with the tour company that made our booking, things started to turn around ... we got fruit in the room, free internet and food.

although the end the experience was decent, but still dont believe it is a 4 star experience.

Holiday Inn needs to review their relationship.... If this is a franchise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKBose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear RKBose,

Thanks for staying with us during your stay at Beijing and sharing with us some unhappy experiences. Firstly, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by our hotel. That is the last thing we want to see. Your feedback has been reported to the hotel management and shared to the related departments for enhancement and improvement.

To bring a comfortable and pleasant stay experience to our guests is our consistent and constant pursuit and goal. Your review show us the places we want to improve. We are bound to make some improvement in the nearest future.

Thanks for your comments again and would like to have another opportunity of welcoming you back next time!

Best regards,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a group tour. The staff were the best, always keen to assist. Paid for an upgrade to the executive level and it really did not justify the cost. The hotel is in a remote part of the city with no close restaurants within walking distance. Its a four star and value for money.

Room Tip: A little shop around the corner sell a good beer for just over $1 as a standard local price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdonaldmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear mrdonaldmac,

It is our great pleasure and honor to provide services to you during your stay at Beijing. Thanks for showing us your experience of staying at our hotel. We are delighted to find that you are satisfied with the attitude of service of our staff, since to bring our guests a comfortable and pleasant experience is our constant and consistent pursue.

We feel sorry to learn that you disagree about the value of our executive room. In fact, this kind of room includes quite a few of benefits from Food& Beverage, Business & Leisure Facilities to Club Lounge Services like express check-in and check-out, complimentary use of private computer room, complimentary four pieces of laundry for free per day, up to six cans complimentary soft drinks in mini bar per day, complimentary broadband internet in room and Club Lounge, complimentary snacks and evening cocktail, coffee, tea and soft drinks throughtout the day etc.

Besides, our hotel is located within the 2nd Ring Road of Beijing western and south areas. It is convenient to take Beiing subways at Lane 1st Nanlishi Lu Station, Lane 2nd Changchunjie Station, and 4th Taoranting station which will take you to many places of interests directly. In additon, there are some Chinese resturants nearby, like Youth Resturant, Shuxiang Renjia, KFC, etc within walking distance. Also, apart from a little shop around the hotel, there is also a medium-sized supermarket which is 10 mins walk away from the hotel. For all these question, our Concierge staff would like to answer you or give you some suggestions.

Thanks for staying with us during the 3 nights. We would very much to welcome you back next time.

Sincerely yours,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO AE
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed here on a group trip so it was not booked by myself. The hotel was clean, great breakfast, awesome gym and large rooms. I found the staff less helpful and most were not aware of any local places to eat in the area. There is a KFC about 2 blocks from the hotel, but nothing else. The hotel does offer a bar and a menu if you get in late. The food was tasty and affordable.
Would have rated 5 stars if the staff were educated on things in the area. One was not even able to point me in the direction of the subway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina3043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear katrina3043,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing!

Thank you for staying with us during your trip at Beijing and sharing with us your comments about the hotel. We feel it a great honor and pleasure to offer services to you. Thanks for your appreciation for our room cleanliness, breakfast quality, fitness center and also lobby bar.

Besides, we are so sorry about the failure of our staff to offer adequate suggestion and effective help to you during your stay which deviates from our purpose of offering comfortable and pleasant services to our guests in order for them to feel at home.

Thanks for your feedback about our hotel which shows us the places we need to improve in the near future, like staff's common sense about the hotel from nearby restaurants and places of interests to how to get the nearest subways and other places that guests could interest. Meanwhile, we need to improve staff's oral English ability unremittingly.

There are still some places we need to improve in the near furture. Your feedback is highly valued and appreciated! Thanks for your review again and look forward to seeing you next time.

Best regards,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I started here on a 3 month travel throughout Asia. We were here for 4 nights. Breakfast was great each morning. The place was better than we expected. We used it as a base for seeing the great wall and all the other sites around Beijing. The gym and fitness area was also more than expected and worked well for us each day to use while there. Overall, it was an very good hotel for the money paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Brady N,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing during your travel in Aisa. It is our great pleasure and honor to stay with your wife and you and meanwhile bring our services to you during the five days.

The hotel is located within the 2nd Ring Road of Beijing south and west areas, which means it is convenient for guests to go to the main tourist attractions of Beijing such as Beijing Grand View Garden, Qianmen Street, Tiananmen Square, the Imperial Palace, Summer Palace, Great Wall etc. in additon, there are some bus stations nearby for you to go directly to some shopping centers like Xidan and Wangfujing Street shopping street. Besides, it is within 3km from the hotel to the nearest railway station, making your trip more convenient and less costly.

Thanks for your satisfaction with our breakfast and gym. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Sincerely yours,
Distribution Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#125 of 6,520 in Beijing
415 reviews
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#70 of 6,520 in Beijing
230 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#111 of 6,520 in Beijing
349 reviews
Wanshou Road
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Central Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Central Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Address: No.1 Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#119 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Central Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing, an Award-Winning hotel, is conveniently located in Guanganmen commercial and civic area, adjacent to the new Municipal Government Office Building and is within a stone's throw from Beijing's Financial Street. The hotel is close to tourist and shopping attractions such as Wangfujing, Oriental Plaza and the Forbidden City. It is 10 minutes drive from the West and South Train Station and 45 minutes from the Capital Airport.The hotel has 322 contemporary guest rooms, including suites and two floors of Executive Club rooms, all equipped with wired and wireless broadband internet, speaker telephone and multi-language voice mail. With a 640 square meter, pillar-free ballroom and 8 other function rooms ranging from 35 to 176 square meters, the hotel is an ideal venue for business meetings and social functions alike. All the meeting rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual facilities, built-in work station, wireless broadband connection and video conference facilities. The hotel's professional meeting team will ensure every event a success.The hotel also provides other facilities like business center ticketing and tour desk, kiosk, car rental, concierge taxi and limousine service, baby sitting service, karaoke as well as a Mini Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Central Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing