We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hongdu Shijia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 960 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was the last place we stayed in Beijing, it was a great location, right around the corner from their downtown. The staff was nice and friendly, we were able to book our great wall tour with them, which turned out to be wonderful! We booked a private room with private bathroom which was pretty spacious and comfortable. The common room was fun and comfortable, we ordered food a couple times here and it was ok, be aware that you cannot order food after 10pm which is kinda a bummer, but they do have large beers for cheap!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primate1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 87 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2010

This hostel is a contradiction. First, the pros. The location is great- it's about 15 minute walk from Dengshikou station. In Beijing, once you get to a train station, you can go anywhere. It's also situated at a hutong area- that'll give you a lot of cultural experience. What I liked most was the staff- they spoke very good English (which is important in a country that doesn't speak much English), extremely helpful, fun, and friendly. In fact, the staff is the biggest plus point.

The cons. Someone needs to lecture the housekeepers. On the first day, there was hair all over the room and on the bed. There were also some stains on the bed sheet- I dread to think what they were. In fact, the sheets were not even changed, and it was just pulled over. I informed the housekeeper but was told that they only change the sheets once in three days. Three days later, they still have not changed it. In fact, the only housekeeping done was to replace the toilet rolls. The towels and the dustbins were left as they were for 5 days. The room was also dusty, and the toilet flooded. I urge the management to please train the housekeepers well. It's unfortunate that a great place like this is ruined by such simple but important matters.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tengkygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

There's not much to say - I only stayed there for two nights.
But rooms are clean, staff is very friendly and speak good English (and will book you tours and give you all the information you need) and considering the great and charming location the price is real cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sunntigschind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

BEWARE!!!
We had booked a room at Saga by email and had received two confirmation emails from them. Yet, when we arrived there (after 14 hour in a plane) we were told that the room had been given away because we said we'd be there at 10 am and it was now 11 am. We had indeed said that, but the plane had been delayed. Please note this was 10 AM, in the morning!!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank samirkanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

This place makes you feel like in Beijing!
Located in the historical area in Beijing. This hostel is better than the Western standard for hostels. It feels more like a 2-star hotel. You can rent bikes and cruise around the historical Hutong area. Tiananmen square is 15 minute walk away. You can go to the Great Wall with their orgaznied tours. But avoid Badaling Great Wall. There are always too many tourists. Go to Jinshanling Great Wall instead.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank myu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We booked a double room with private bathroom staying for 2 weeks via hostelworld.com. The room was about 12 English Pounds per night, so it was very cheap. The hostel is in a traditional hutong. Location is a bit out the way. 15 min walk to Wan Fu Jing and 30 mins walk to Tianenmen Square. Taxis are cheap though, and the receptionists help to write destinations in Chinese.

Our room on first floor, ended up as a twin but it was very spacious with an extra sitting room area - good for leaving suitcases and to shut off corridor noise. The room was generally quiet though. The standard of the room was adequate and very basic. They provide bedlinen and disposable slippers, no towels. The large wardrobe only had 3 hangers so not much use. There is a tv with one English channel. The floors were wood, they had radiators and air conditioning. Beds bit hard but ok. Bathroom shower was oddly positioned with no curtain or partition next to a radiator and the toilet, so you end up getting the whole room wet.

Overall the room and bathroom was a bit unclean. The worst was in a corner where the paint had peeled away and the mouldy curtain that hung off the rail needed changing. In the 2 weeks, the room was never cleaned, bed linen never changed, loo rolls never replaced - you had to keep asking. Somehow mosquitoes kept getting into the room so we'd wake up with bites. The maids only emptied the bins - though not always the bathroom bin, which wasn't very hygienic, considering you can't flush toilet paper down the toilet - it has to go in the bin. Beijing doesn't have a modern sewer system so it's like that everywhere. We saw the dorms which are modern and cleaner. The communal showers and loos are also very clean.

Internet was fairly priced but only 4 computers and always busy. The good thing was the cheap laundry - free washing powder and only 10 yuan per load. You can hang it to dry outside in the nice courtyard. Breakfast downstairs in the cafe area was ok, you could get American and continental style breakfasts but service is a bit slow. Receptionists speak English and are friendly and helpful. The general vibe is young, backpackers, but the communal area was too smokey with everyone smoking, so you'd choke during breakfast. Not ideal for families. The area was safe as it was next to a police station. We left our belongings locked in our suitcases in our room and nothing was taken. They also have safeboxes in reception.

For the price though, can't be beaten. There were also v nice hostels further down the same road you could check out but are pricier.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank couplelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2006

We stayed in the Saga hostel for 6 nights. We had a private room with bathroom on the ground floor, at the back, which was fine and quiet.
The hostel is nice and friendly. The room was very big, twin for 180 Yuan. Freshly painted, they had just changed the curtains (literally in front of us!), the only negative point was the bathroom, decent size but in need of renovation.
They have internet access, but expensive compared to the 2 yuan an hour shops we found 5 minutes walk away.
They also have a good travel desk that we used to go to the Great Wall.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,547 in Beijing
2,948 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#133 of 6,547 in Beijing
310 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#35 of 6,547 in Beijing
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#34 of 6,547 in Beijing
557 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#116 of 6,547 in Beijing
188 reviews
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 960 in Beijing
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongdu Shijia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongdu Shijia Hotel

Address: No.9 Shijia Hutong, Chaonei Nanxiao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 960 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: $11 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hongdu Shijia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hongdu Shijia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing