We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baihe Vegetarian

Baihe Vegetarian
Ranked #63 of 12,493 Restaurants in Beijing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.theveggiebus.org/beijing.htmlhttps://www.google.com/search?q=Baihe+Vegetarian
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
655 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved this restaurant. I am a vegetarian, but my husband is not. However, he ordered some kind of "pork" pancake and he said if he hadn't known it was vegetarian, he would not have guessed. Food was very tasty, lots of choices, including vegetarian versions of many different meats, so a non-veg person would enjoy the food here. We loved it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3RedDoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little vego find - will be going again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Interesting menu - trial and error us the only way. The dumplings were 'stand out', the vanilla pancakes are great (they are not sweet!), dry stir fried shredded beef (actually mushroom) was wonderful... Wouldn't bother with the curry again (not bad but just average).

Great venue - really 'cute'.

The wait staff we're friendly but had almost zero English language.

Well worth finding!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matchew74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamaga, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tranquility in Beijing chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Baihe is a beautiful little restaurant. You are lead through was appears to be a tea house to a quaint little restaurant. The menu is set out very well and includes colour photographs with english descriptions. Not all the staff speak english but they do try very hard to satisfy any requests. We were extremely happy with the service!

We had vegetable seaweed wraps, dumplings, spicy satay noodles and 'hamburgers'. It was all very good. Although the serving sizes are quite small which was ok for us as it meant we could try more things. My 2 year old LOVED the dumplings. He couldn't get enough.

We would definitely return here and I would recommend to any vegan/vegetarian travellers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VeganMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Superb vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Baihe (Lily) is one of my favourite restaurants in Beijing. It's an elegant restful place with attentive service. A class above other vegetarian restaurants like Xi Xiang Zhai (currently number 11 on TA), Baihe is less predicable, more of an adventure. Also the best possible place to detox after too much Beijing duck.

The menu includes some unusual dishes, some of them quite expensive, but there's also a lot of reasonably priced food. Suchang 'sausage' is recommended, also crispy layered panacake with thyme. The plum tea (with crabapples) is wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skakagrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An unexpected find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stumbled across this at the insistance of a friend who had looked for veggie food for me, as I had given up. Beautiful calm ambience hidden away in a very unlikely looking alleyway. Chinese books and herbs in the entrance, and a traditional old feel to the whole place. The food was excellent though some of the descriptions might baffle a vegetarian (vegetarian pigs' intestines was a dish I couldn't bring myself to try!). However, everything we had was superb - easily beating soem five star hotel 'vegetarian' food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baihe Vegetarian also viewed

 

Been to Baihe Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing