We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
202
71
15
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
71
15
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel yanyue hutong forbidden city dongsi station shower water hutong area walking distance western style wonderful stay wonderful hotel stayed nights comfortable rooms convenient location taxi china english alley
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 299 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

This is by far one of the best hotel that I have stayed throughout my stay in China. Room was clean and decent. Beds was comfy and basic toiletries were provided. Staff was exceptionally hospitable and caring, went all out to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. Apart from the commendable service, hotel staff has good command in English so there wasn't any communication barrier. Hot tea was offered upon arrival.

The hotel is situated in the heart of Beijing and easy to locate. Directions to the hotel are clearly stated on the hotel website. 6 minuted walk to the nearest subway station and a mere 15 minutes walk to the famous Wangfujing shopping district.

The set breakfast was decent. Guests are able to choose between western or oriental.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay at this hotel and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Beijing.

Keep up the good work guys! :)

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank GaryTehps91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer51410379039, manager at Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2019

Dear Gary,

Thank you very much for your review, we are so much moved by it that no words can express how much we appreciate it.

Your valuable review is so helpful for the travellers who are going to stay in our hotel, and the detailed description will save a lot of time for people who needs information. We do not know how can we express our thankfulness for your review, it gives us so much encouragement that we will try harder to do better. Hope there will be another chance to have here.

Please accept our most sincere good wishes!

Take care!

Tina from 161 Hulu Courtyard Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile

This place was exactly what we wanted from our trip. Towels were big and fluffy, beds were very comfy and they gave me an extra pillow! The in floor heating in the room and bathroom was a nice touch! Nice warm and cozy place to come back to after a day of exploring. Yes it’s hard to find. We walked by the hutong many times before finding it. We took the subway to Dongsi and it was less than a 5 min walk. The subway is one of the easiest we have ever used and Dongsi easily connects to take you anywhere in the city you would like to go. I imagined the “hutong area” as being small and quaint... wrong it’s huge absolutely huge! No walking to sites from here but lots are 1-3 stops away. Easy peasy. The station is across from a Wu-Mart, very cool to us westerners. Bought cheap winter gear as it was freezing! Unfortunately google maps had it wrong as far as location,I do remember the alley we needed was close to 2 cellular stores side by side. The state commission office (huge grey building) is across the street from the Yanyue Hutong ( where the hotel is). Also there is a store called sybel across the street from the entrance. Hope that helps you to find it! Staff was pleasant and tried to help although they didn’t always understand what we were after. Very happy with our choice.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Amadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer51410379039, manager at Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so so much for your recommending!

Your recommending is so valuable for us and all the other travellers. Your "introduction" will be very useful for the guests who are going to stay in our hotel. We truly appreciate your review, and are very happy that you really enjoyed your stay here.

We are sorry for the “communication” obstacles you met, and will strengthen the English skills training for the new staff here.Thank you very much for your patience and understanding!

Hope we will meet again in this charming hutong area:)

All the best!

Tina from 161 Hulu Courtyard Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

I stayed here over Thanksgiving with my boyfriend, and we absolutely loved it. The hotel is located in a hutong very close to the Forbidden City. Ideally located, it is also in-between 2 subway stops (Dongsi Subway stop being the subway station we used religiously).

The room was clean, modern, and had a large bathroom - perfect for 2 people. When we arrived, the staff let us in and quickly checked us in. All of the staff spoke near perfect English and gave us so many recommendations (especially on restaurants) and activities to do. We wanted to see an acrobat show so the staff called and asked about where it was located, how to purchase tickets, etc. The service was impeccable, and they even helped us call a taxi when we left. One of the staff stood on the street with us to make sure the driver knew which airport terminal to drop us off at.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, and I will definitely be back. 100% recommend this place.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer51410379039, manager at Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Dear Janet,

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate it heartily.

We were so glad having you here, and are so happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay. Your support being the motivation for us, will make us work harder for improvement. Hope there will be another chance for us to host you.

Thank you again for recommending us !

Best regards!

Tina from 161 Hulu Courtyard Hotel

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my two daughters for eight nights and couldn’t have picked a better hotel. Arrived late for check-in and was greeted by by friendly staff with warm tea(cha). Then put our luggage into the very clean already warmed up room . Being hungry from the trip to the hotel we were given easy directions to a great dumpling place right down the alley(Hutong). We had got the room with the breakfast included and were NOT disappointed both Chinese and western style were great! The friendly staff would help us with directions and booking tours and made it very fun and easy for us to really enjoy our short visit to Beijing.

Can’t wait to return

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank djweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer51410379039, manager at Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Dear Dennis,

It is so glad to see your review, thank you so much!

We miss all the daily talking with you, your adventures, the new food your tried, the photoes you taking with all the strangers, you planning for coming back... It became our routine to talk with you everyday also...

Hulu is your home in Beijing , welcome back anytime!

Enjoy everyday!

Tina from 161 Hulu Courtyard Hotel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2018

We stayed at this property for four days during our trip to Beijing. The front desk is VERY HELPFUL. They made sure that we were comfortable during out stay. The rooms are clean but can be a bit cold during the evening hours. Even with the heater on. The front door leaks a little bit of cold air into the room but we remedied it by putting a towel in between the door and the door frame and the floor. We got breakfast on our last day and it was excellent.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C4661AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer51410379039, manager at Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your support and recommending, we truly appreciate it.

We were so sorry about the leak of the cold air from the front door, and remedied right after we saw your review. Now all the rooms have this underground heating on ,and we can also add one more heater and covers if anyone feels cold.

We apologize for not making your stay more comfortable and your encouragement will make us work harder.
Hope there will be another chance for us to give you a more satisfying experience!

Thank you again for staying us!

Best regards!

Tina from 161 Hulu Courtyard Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews