We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where do you start ?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chairman Mao Memorial Hall (Maozhuxi Jiniantang)

Chairman Mao Memorial Hall (Maozhuxi Jiniantang)
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Private Day Tour: Tian'anmen Square, Forbidden City and Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #70 of 1,603 things to do in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The remains of one of China’s most famous rulers, Chairman Mao, rest in this simple mausoleum, which features 44 granite columns and glazed yellow trim.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where do you start ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

First of all if you are gullible, unsuspecting and have previous for falling hook line and sinker for some communist propaganda then you should probably disregard this review.

After the palaver of storing bags in lockers across the street and going through airport style security we were ushered towards the memorial hall via a stall selling flowers 3CNY. After respectfully laying flowers in the first room of the memorial hall everyone was heralded into the second room in single file to view the body of Chairman Mao lying in state. This 'body' of Chairman Mao who has been dead for nearly 40 years appeared to have more life in it than my myself. I'm not sure what it was I was looking at (you only get 15 seconds or so to make your mind up) but it certainly was not the body of a man who has been dead nearly 40 years. From my quick view it looked like a waxwork with it's head lit up with Christmas lights - however I have seen better efforts in Madame Tussauds.

If I had paid a penny for or had queued for more than 5 minutes I would have felt completely mugged off. However, I am going to give this attraction 2/5 just for the comedy value it provided and for being a completely surreal experience !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    119
    68
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quite the experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is free to enter & quite quick to move through. We found this absolutely amazing probably for all the wrong reasons. The local people were extremely reverent upon seeing Mao, it was like they were worshipping him as a God. The security is tight, no stopping, no bags or cameras allowed. Mao himself looks like a wax figure. I guess Westerners don't quite see him in the same light as the Chinese do!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jaquic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Short, but worth doing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The speed was the surprise here. I was warned about queues but came out of Metro at 8.02am & was back out in the sunshine at 8.22, having seen Mao's body.
Mostly Chinese people in queue & first hall has a huge table for flowers. Almost full after about 15 mins. Not sure how they handle that through the day.
The body is slightly eerie as there is a light directly on the face, but it looks as if he could have died the day before.
The queue is kept moving at reasonable speed, so there is no option to stop and stare. However, the efficiency makes it a worthwhile experience anyway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go for the cultural compass”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

By that I mean: go and observe! As others have said, the line (though intimidating) takes only a half an hour at most from the point of getting in line to the minute you exit the memorial hall. The most interesting part of the experience of visiting Mao lying in state is the reverence you will see being paid to him: flowers, bowing, crying (maybe even wailing). Draw your own conclusions!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveliz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Go for the experience, not the Great Man himself”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

As others have pointed out, you'll only spend a few seconds shuffling past the Chairman. But the experience is surreal enough to say, yes, if you've got a spare half hour and you happen to be in Tiananmen. The queue looks terrible, but it moves really quickly - we started alongside the sign that points you towards the storage lockers. We were out the other side 25 minutes later. Didn't need to show a passport. Seeing all the locals who come from all over the country makes it worth the experience. Sure, there's a bit of pushing and shoving, but best advice is to give as good as you get. Nobody will be offended and you will not lose your place in the queue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chairman Mao Memorial Hall (Maozhuxi Jiniantang) also viewed

 

Been to Chairman Mao Memorial Hall (Maozhuxi Jiniantang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing