We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Ranked #83 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean but a bit old. English is a bit limited but friendly staff in general. Stayed here in winter, room is heated and can be too hot. We stayed on level 10, so we open the window for some fresh air. Can ask them for a fan if required.

It is walking distant from Wangfujing street and is about 30 minutes away from the airport by taxi.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jasey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 576 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel which is a 5-8 minute walk from Dengshikou subway station, and probably a 12-15 minute walk from Wang Fu Jing subway station (at the other end of the shopping street). We went from Dengshikou subway station on the first day and was kind of lost for a while, remember to note down the address and location in advance. We asked a few locals but they didn't know where it was.

Attractions wise, it was close to Tian An Men, Wang Fu Jing Shopping Street and St Joseph's Cathedral. Though walkable, take 1 or 2 stops down from Wang Fu Jing subway station if you want to get to Tian An Men. 7-11, Macdonalds and several eateries are just right across the road of the hotel.

Room wise, it was quite spacious. Didn't have a good view of the city but the housekeeping staff was polite and friendly. The room had free Wifi but we were staying on the 10th floor and the wifi was weak. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Sunworld.

P.S: You may also book short tours at the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamboring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Comfortable hotel. Location good for the shopping district.

Rooms are fine and breakfast buffet is really good.

Good option as a base for exploring Beijing and the surrounding area. We were collected each day by car by our guide.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very nice hotel. Really close to one of the main shopping streets in Beijing. It stays at walking distance from Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City.

Breakfast is also really good, with both Chinese and Western options.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cesar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The location is great and easy to find. Maybe just a 5 minute walk to the nearest subway station (Dengshikou Station on Line 5), and even closer to the Wangfujing shopping district. The room (a "Superior Room") was a reasonable size. Queen sized bed with night stand, desk, two chairs and a small table near the window, TV, aircon/heater, etc. Certainly enough room for two people, luggage and too many souveniers. The room was generally clean, but dusty. I think that's just something you learn to live with in Beijing though. Bathroom also clean, but the one complaint about that was that the toilet didn't suck all the water in the bowl down when you flushed, so it took 2-4 flushes to clear everything out. Quite annoying. The bed was a little hard, but we didn't seem to have too much problem with it. Pretty decent view from the 10th floor (at least on a day with less smog).

The service at the hotel was about average for what we encountered at other places in China. No one seemed particularly eager to offer help. This was very frustrating to me because I expect a slightly higher level of service when staying at a 4-star hotel. The front desk and the concierge desk liked to point at each other as the proper place to go for information. Apparently neither one of them wanted to help us out. The language barrier wasn't the problem either because most of the staff spoke English at least at a passable level and my boyfriend and I can get by on Mandarin in any event. It wasn't until the night before we left that the service took a dramatic turn for the better. A screw had come loose and fallen out of the handle of one of our suitcases and we asked the assistant manager if they had any spare screws. The woman genuinely looked interested in helping us out and called one of the hotel repairmen over to take a look at it for us. The repairman couldn't find the right screw in the pile he brought with him, so he went back to his workship and found a screw of the right width and then cut it down so that it was a perfect fit into the handle. Really made our night. I would have given the hotel only 4 stars because of the (in my opinion) sub-par service if not for their help that night.

We didn't use the gym, but we tried to use the "sauna" one night. I was expecting a jaccuzi pool, but there was only a steam room, barely bigger than a closet. We went in after letting it heat up for about 25 minutes, but even after sitting in there for another 20 minutes the room was barely warm. The problem was that the room wasn't sealed, and I could feel drafts of cold air even while just sitting there with the door closed. There are some saunas and massage places near by the hotel though, so if you really wanted you could just slip out to one of those places probably for cheap.

I booked the hotel online about a month in advance for around USD 60-70/night. I think the hotel was well worth that cost, but the normal price of the room was something like USD 120/night and that I think is way too high for this hotel.

Room Tip: 10th floor and above, facing the CCTV building, had good views. If you go during Lunar New Year, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very good location and clean, good size room. Being on business, the iron was useful. The room temperature was comfortable despite minus temperatures outside in January. Decent buffet breakfast spread included western and Chinese. However, there was a poor choice of TV channels in English and the WiFi might as well have not been there in my room on the 10th floor. This might be quite a general thing in Beijing as it was poor to non existent in other places too. Three stars might be a little harsh.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertoIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice big clean room.

Hard to find for taxi driver even written in chinese, but not sure if it's maybe more a problem coming from the taxi driver !

Wifi is bad in the room… just worked in the bathroom.

Front desk helpful to book trips for a decent price

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zosianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#64 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,548 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#69 of 6,599 in Beijing
996 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#77 of 6,599 in Beijing
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#75 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,059 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#56 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,201 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunworld Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunworld Hotel Beijing

Address: No.88 Dengshikou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#74 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $72 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunworld Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunworld Hotel Beijing is located in the “Golden” center of downtown Beijing at the corner of Wangfujing and Dengshikou streets, its convenient location and transportation have made the place an ideal choice for business elites and urban travelers. Within 10 minutes walking distance you can get to subway line 1 and line 5, famous office buildings such as Oriental Plaza, various large international shopping malls, the famous Wangfujing Night Market and authentic Beijing restaurants. It is half an hour walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tian’anmen Square. It is 2km to Chang'an Avenue, approximately 5km to Central Business District (CBD), 6km to Beijing Financial Street, only 3km to Beijing Railway Station and about 26km to Beijing Capital International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunworld Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Sunworld Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing