We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in Beijing- Sunworld Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Ranked #81 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in Beijing- Sunworld Hotel”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found this hotel after looking at many hotels on Trip Advisor funny enough. The hotel is very centrally situated in Beijing and has a nice reception area. The staff speak very little english as we were told, but everything was booked by our travel agent and after paying a deposit fee, which is refunded when you leave, we went up to our room on the 7th floor. Not a bad room. The room was clean and we had requested a non-smoking room which it was. This hotel is close to everything in the center of Beijing and has a seven 11 supermarket directly across the road from the hotel. You could buy all sorts of nice goodies from there and prices were not too bad. Also down the street a bit going right from the hotel is a lovely bakery with all sorts of cakes , bread and tasty goodies. A bit further on is a McDonald's which is open late and the prices are very good. The hotel has a breakfast in the morning which is also good, but as we were told beforehand, the guy that makes the eggs is one person and you have to wait in line, but it's not too bad if you are not in a rush. We found the spread to be fine. The hotel is almost around the corner from the famous Wangfujing street, which has upmarket shops and you must walk further on up the street until you come to the famous night market. A must see! We actually went downtown during the day and what an experience. All these stalls offering scorpions on a stick and numerous other ghastly goodies, with some others having nice goodies, worth going to see!! This hotel is close to The Forbidden City, Tiananman Square, and other attractions within walking distance. There is also a big underground supermarket over the road from the hotel where you can buy most anything. Also the MRT is close by, so give that a go just to see what there underground trains are like. Overall this hotel suited us as to the location and we enjoyed our stay. The other Trip Advisors were right, it is a nice hotel and served our purpose very much. I would stay there again if i went back to Beijing and i would recommend it to anyone, but don't expect too much. Treat it as an adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room, if you smoke you can always just go outside the hotel and have a smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    281
    116
    21
    13
See reviews for
102
164
44
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was there for the year end 2012 and early 2013 - a hotel that served my purpose. booked into a Deluxe Room which was a comfortable size. fairly clean overall - room & property.

only one restaurant which seem to open only for breakfast. staff are not friendly but i suspect it is because of the language barrier. breakfast spread is neither good nor bad. selection quite limited and the same everyday - seemed that way to me anyway.

the best part about this property is its location - very much in the Wung Fu Jing - which is a major retail area - high end to middle - did not see any 'bazaar' outlets. many high end brand houses ie. Gucci, Prada, Coach, Tods... list is endless. also Zara, Gap and the like. in the evenings there is a food night market - little stalls of various food - savoury & sweet.

quite happy with the hotel and would recommend it to anyone not expecting too much!!!

Room Tip: would go for the Deluxe as the Standard room is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was recomended by the person who booked our tours around Beijing. If you are not fussy about where you lay your head at night, you would be satisfied with this hotel. We booked 2 rooms for us and our teenage boys, the trouble started when we tried to open our rooms with the key cards, it did not work, now in order to get some help you have to get hold of housekeeping, who then phones reception, gives the phone to you, you have to then give all your details, give the phone back, and then only will it be opened, also keep in mind that in Bejing nobody understands English.This happend at least twice a day. The ceilings in the hotel corridors are so low that I could put my hand up and touch the ceiling, I am 1.72m! Inside the rooms the ceiling is a bit higher. Breakfast buffet consists of chinese cuisine,and a english breakfast, eggs, toast, something that looks like bacon, and baked beans, but having 2 boys it did not took us long to find the McDonalds about 100m from the hotel. I can not stress enough that the language barrier is really a big problem, so either learn Mandarin, or take a HUGE dictionary with, because the front desk will ignore you if they don't understand you. We left Bejing and China with the saying:" If you don't understand my language, you don't need to be rude about it"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Domo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Frontdesk and housekeeping staff are well trained and efficient. Very conveniently located at main shopping street, easy accessibilty to food, mrt n shopping mall. Almost all attractions can be reached via mrt, along the way to mrt, there are supermarket, bakery and fashion shops. It will be better if hotel can provide some brochure on attractions and maps.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionCity2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Rated 4* but in my opinion worthy another half a star even if not a full one. Rooms are clean, serivce is good compared to other hotels throughout my 12 days trip round China. Location is excellent and yet very quiet. We were allocated rooms on the 11th floor as per our request for higher quiet rooms. Rooms are clean and housekeeping service was excellent. Beds were comfortable with temperature control. Wi-fi was slow but ethernet cable provided which I did not use as I did not bring my laptop. Wi-fi at lobby was decent enough. Staff were friendly and helpful, perhaps being chinese speaking help a bit. There were buses and trams right outside the front door and the nearest subway station within walking distance. The famous Wangfujing street is just a short stroll away. There are also plenty of hutongs around the area where one can find cheap food.

Room Tip: Asked for rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beijing has tons of hotels to choose from- expensive & luxurious to cheap & dirty. The SunWorld Hotel was a great value for budget travelling. Located just around the corner from the famous Wangfujing shopping street and walking distance from many great shops, restaurants and conveniences. We had all the luxuries of location without the price tag.

The SunWorld is an average hotel by Chinese standards, equivalent to a Hilton here in the USA. Not fantastic like a Waldorf, and not crummy like a RedRoof Inn... I love to shop for great bargains, and this was one of them!!! We paid about USD$80/night for the King Deluxe. The room was spacious, clean, included mini-bar, safe, window that opened, internet, cable, robes, slippers, complimentary water, clean bathroom, ironing board, iron, blow-dryer, etc... It had a "sitting area" that was built like a cubby room offset from the main room. It even had a live plant!!! (that was healthy)

Overall, we were very pleased and would definitely return.

Just two short blocks away are St. Josephs Catholic Church and the Post Office. The first is great for sight-seeing, the second for shipping home your purchases.
Two malls are within walking distance- one just North of the Post Office, another 3 blocks south. All are within 15 minutes walking distance from Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden city.

Basically said, enjoy Rodeo Drive without the price tag!

Room Tip: ask for the King Deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cromocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was there for one night to start my tour in China (Sunworld was the hotel selected for our tour operator) the hotel is in a good location, close to many restaurants and stores; My room was on the 6th floor, a little bit small but clean, the beds were a bit hard, but looks like that is common in China on 3 stars hotels or below. I had some communications problems, most of the staff didn't speak English, but there was a front desk agent that spoke English very well. The Buffet breakfast was good with some Chinese and western cuisine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuigiLagunesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#77 of 6,474 in Beijing
496 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#69 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#108 of 6,474 in Beijing
451 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,380 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#59 of 6,474 in Beijing
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunworld Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunworld Hotel Beijing

Property: Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Address: No.88 Dengshikou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#71 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunworld Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunworld Hotel Beijing is located in the “Golden” center of downtown Beijing at the corner of Wangfujing and Dengshikou streets, its convenient location and transportation have made the place an ideal choice for business elites and urban travelers. Within 10 minutes walking distance you can get to subway line 1 and line 5, famous office buildings such as Oriental Plaza, various large international shopping malls, the famous Wangfujing Night Market and authentic Beijing restaurants. It is half an hour walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tian’anmen Square. It is 2km to Chang'an Avenue, approximately 5km to Central Business District (CBD), 6km to Beijing Financial Street, only 3km to Beijing Railway Station and about 26km to Beijing Capital International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunworld Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Sunworld Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing