We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Beijing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Ranked #80 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Average quality hotel with a decent sized room (compared to Hong Kong average!) and OK cleanliness. The restaurant staff couldn't speak English and seemed baffled by my sign language when pointing to the menu pictures when we asked for dinner on our first night. But they were young and inexperienced and seemed frightened of foreigners, so I didn't blame them. But a truly international standard 4* hotel would not have had these problems. We couldn't find many restaurants nearby though and the hotel's map of the area was unreadable and misleading. Still, on our second night the restaurant next door proved good once you'd navigated the hawkers on the door who wanted you to see their "art exhibition" upstairs - just say no firmly - and make your way through to the rear of the building for excellent and cheap food. Breakfast was busy and noisy but there was plenty of Chinese and Western food on offer so no complaints. Don't pay extra for an 'American' breakfast - nobody checks how much you eat. All in all OK but I bet there are better places to stay in Beijing. We booked this through China Highlights.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stevev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Sunworld Hotel Beijing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 549 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location: a couple of minutes walk from famous Wangfujing Street, opposite China Construction Bank, close to good restaurants and within a short taxi ride of attractions like Forbidden City, Summer Palace and Mao's Mausoleum. A short walk from the hotel will lead you to small streets and alleys filled with local Chinese shopping, eating and living: a great way to see daily life in a new country.

I found the room spotless and the staff friendly (for China). Breakfast was standard hotel fare with a variety of Asian and western options. Wifi was not very good in my room (I found that it only worked in my shower recess) but was great in the foyer.

The hotel is a good option for a clean bed, hearty breakfast and a base to explore Beijing. A word of caution though: as Beijing taxi drivers are not the sharpest we met, it's important to take a hotel business card with you if you want to get back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ViajesyVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Wow what a dump! Thought corridor was bad enough, but total horror when we opened the bedroom door.
if totally out of date was bad enough, the room was poky, carpet disgusting, bed linen did not look fresh, black marks all over radiator and up bedroom wall, hole in wall, plaster hanging off, loose wires hanging in bathroom. this was my sixthy birthday and had asked for nice room. complained bitterly and was told only had one room left, take it or leave it. as we had show booked we did not really have chance to find somewhere else. second room marginally netter but still awful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights over the National Day holiday. Our rooms was a decent size & had all the amenities we needed & would expect from a 4* hotel. Bathroom tiles were a little worn & old looking, but the bathroom was clean & shower was good. We had a non-smoking room & couldn't smell any stale smoke either in the rooms or on the corridor as mentioned by previous reviewers. The mini bar was expensive but there is a 7-11 over the road to stock up on drinks & snacks. Breakfast was very good - lots of choice of both Chinese and western items. Omlettes / eggs made freshly to order.

The staff were not particularly friendly or forthcoming but they dealt with any requests efficiently. We didn't feel the concierge was very good - he gave us wrong information on 2 occassions.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - 2 mins walk to Wangfujing Street, 5 mins walk to the nearest subway station. It is in a great location for exploring downtown Beijing with a multitude of shops, restaurants & sites on your doorstep. Overall, a very positive experience. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louloulau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We are very satisfied with service and place.
The staff are very caring and kind.
Quality of breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliShahnazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This hotel is good and centrally located. We arrived late and no one helped us to our room...understandable. Breakfast OK not great. Only thing that this hotel needs is to have smiling staff....among all the staff the only one that smiled was the door woman. What a chnage to see a happy face.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julianq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

location of the hotel is great.. very near shopping areas and restaurants. anytime you can stroll around. hotel staff although they cant speak english are warm and accomodating. will recommend it to my friends and relatives. thanks for the nice stay and experience...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babymPasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#82 of 6,531 in Beijing
513 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,469 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#69 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,042 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#59 of 6,531 in Beijing
946 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#107 of 6,531 in Beijing
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunworld Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunworld Hotel Beijing

Address: No.88 Dengshikou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#71 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $71 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunworld Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunworld Hotel Beijing is located in the “Golden” center of downtown Beijing at the corner of Wangfujing and Dengshikou streets, its convenient location and transportation have made the place an ideal choice for business elites and urban travelers. Within 10 minutes walking distance you can get to subway line 1 and line 5, famous office buildings such as Oriental Plaza, various large international shopping malls, the famous Wangfujing Night Market and authentic Beijing restaurants. It is half an hour walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tian’anmen Square. It is 2km to Chang'an Avenue, approximately 5km to Central Business District (CBD), 6km to Beijing Financial Street, only 3km to Beijing Railway Station and about 26km to Beijing Capital International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunworld Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Sunworld Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing